We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff, great location”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a great room, that had a view over the harbour. The staff at Astoria was very warm and friendly, always a smile and a helping hand. Our room was a bit dated, if this hotel was to be renovated it would be a real luxury hotel. Cleaning was good, breakfast was rather standard.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with seaview, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    148
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
95
313
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked two rooms and stayed two nights and had by far the best service ever experienced in Italy. All staff at the hotel smile, greet you and try hard to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Of the many trips to Italy over the years we were surprised to receive such warm and hospitable service. Would highly recommend the hotel to people who appreciate top class service and recommend other hotels to look to this hotel as a benchmark for service. They put people first and deserve a high ranking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Symbio_almada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 9th June 2013 and could not fault it. Rapallo is one of the most charming villages and the hotel was exceptional. It was a pleasure to be looked after by such friendly and hospitable staff. This was our home for 3 magical days and because of its position we were able to visit many other beautiful spots including Portofino and the Cinque Terre. We asked for hiking advice and were given great detailed information, tips and ideas and also maps to assist. The reception area was also a great place to relax and have coffee and soak up the ambience and converse with the knowledgable staff. The breakfast room was very light and airy and, once again, the staff member was very hospitable - and the food was first class.
To be honest I could not fault this hotel and I am happy to recommend to anyone that is thinking of visiting this area. During our holiday in Italy we stayed in 4 other hotels - all of which were acceptable but none compared with Hotel Astoria in Rapllo. Thank you for the experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

There was six of us that checked in to three separate rooms in late May, 2013. From the very beginning, the staff there made us feel so welcome. My room was recently renovated, and it was very nice and roomy. The shower had one of those new Rain type nozzles which was amazing. There was a nice lobby and a great breakfast spread. We brought our own wine and they were nice enough to provide glasses and some snacks....They provided good dinner suggestions for both nights we were there - da o batti in nearby Portofino and Neptunes Pizza on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quackrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I recently stayed 3 nights at this charming hotel. Hotel Astoria is perfectly situated if you are looking to visit Portofino, Santa Margherita & Camogi. The staff is so very pleasant & helpful. The rooms are lovely and well maintained. They have a nice breakfast room and comfortable, clean public space. It is a close walk to the old town and many great places to eat. I highly recommend Hotel Astoria and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek,
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved our stay here in Rappalo - this is a gem of a hotel! This intimate hotel (20 or 22 rooms) run by Sara and her husband Alessandro is excellent. Sara, Allessandro and Paolo were so hospitable and accomodating. They were alway so friendly and will go out of their way to take care of anything you may need. The hotel is in a great location on the waterfront with beautiful views. You can walk to a plethora of restaurants and attractions from the Hotel Astoria. We arrived from Genoa via train and it was an easy 10 minute walk. Rappalo is a charming town to enjoy with a Mediterranean atmosphere. We used this as our home base for 3 nights to explore Rappalo, Santa Margherita, Camogli and Portofino-all easy to access via train, bus or boat. It was always such a joy to return back to our little oasis at the Hotel Astoria each evening and wake up here. The hotel is beautiful with recently remodeled rooms with stunning views over the waterfront. We loved opening our windows and standing out on the small balcony to take it all in. Rooms are a good size for Italy as are the bathrooms-all with modern amenities. Complimentary wi-fi is included with no problem accessing. The lobby is really nice as well-a few times we relaxed in the soft furniture just for the ambiance. Breakfast was delicious. Sara, Allesandro and Paolo made us feel like family during our stay-between their warmth and hospitality as well as the perfect accomodations at Hotel Astoria, our stay in Rappalo will always have a special place in my memories of Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaveCreekCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We really loved this hotel good location nd fantastastic staff Which always helpful nd giving to right suggestion an additional They have smile face.Thnxs for everything you made oure holidays great.My son get on well with staff ...i loved set by the window nd seen all harbour nd boats..it was great feeling taking tp breath mediterranen fresh air nd watching Blue sky

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDIdimli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#7 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 4, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing