We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great view:)”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great view:)”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The rooms are perfect clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and kind. And it is very close to the Rapallo city center, so you can walk to good restaurants in a couple of minutes. But the prices are a bit high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelastoriarapallo, Owner at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Astoria and sharing your holiday's experience.
We really appreciated your nice comments about us: our clients' satisfatìction is always our best reward. We have just finished to make some important renewals, so we strongly hope to have the chance to have you here again and show our improvments.

Best regards from Rapallo!

Alessandro Magnasco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    152
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
96
329
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect position for all things in Rapallo. The main round about in town is right at the front and its a 2 minute walk to get to the shops and restaurants and a beautiful boardwalk by the sea. The four days we were there it was festa della Madonna di Montallegro and there were fireworks going of in the morning and at night so it was a very festive atmosphere with lots of processions and celebrations.Just added to the special place that is Rapallo.

We were 3 couples and our rooms were all a bit different but each with their own special things.
Our room 203, was small but enough room to move around,it had a TV, small bar fridge it also had a glass sliding door closet with hangers, a tiny but functional bathroom with great water pressure in the shower which we appreciated, if you have been to Italy they are not known for their strong water pressure.
It had a wonderful balcony that was good for looking out to the street and the bay in front and just to get some fresh air. We never had any trouble with noise outside even tho we faced the street, the doors are very well insulated and kept it very quiet. Great aircon kept the room very cool and the beds were firm which is also very normal for Italy but we slept fine, nothing fancy in the room but you only shower and sleep there it was certainly comfortable enough for all of us.

Rooms are accessed by either stairs that are very easy to climb or a lift which we only used once, it was quicker to take the stairs as there are only a few levels.

Breakfast was fantastic there was cereal yoghurt eggs pastries juice and breads to toast there was plenty to keep everyone happy, it was probably one the better breakfasts we had on our 7 week trip.

Staff were amazing always happy to help us with anything from getting around to tourist advice they would print of maps and give great recommendations to restaurants. this seems to be a family run business and we were very impressed with all staff.

The area is great we walked to Santa Margherita which is about 2.5 km and then to Portafino which is about another 5 km. Fantastic walk you will see some amazing little beaches that are so tiny but fit an amazing amount of people out for the day by the sea.

Rapallo has some fantastic shopping and a lot of the streets are car free so you can just wonder around looking at all that the shops have to offer, as well as markets selling anything and everything that you never knew you needed :)

Hotel Astoria was a definitely the right choice for us we all agreed that no where else would have been as good as staying here, for position, value and service this hotel ticks all the right boxes.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street have amazing views and are quiet.Room 203 has balcony Room 202 is larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SONYIA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Spent a few beautiful days in an atmospheric and extremely friendly surrounding. Excellent and Superb service in an lively but still comfortable beachenvironment. I highly recommend The hotel and Price/quality ratio. The personel were very welcoming and helpful. Top Of The pops:-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pecastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a small hotel about 20 rooms located opposite the sea. The sea view room we had on the top floor was small. We had a bed, desk & chair & wardrobe with small TV. The bathroom was
also small. It is not luxurious but adequate and clean. The foyer and breakfast room were
quite pleasant. Breakfast was adequate. Cereal, juice,cold cuts, cheese, bread, fruit salad,
coffee & tea & pastries. There is no dining restaurant but lots close by. It is in a great
situation close to everything. The staff were very helpful. Parking at a price is a great necessity as there is no where to park. It is a very busy and lively place. It is easy to catch the train or ferry to all the nearby villages although the hotel tells you nothing. You have to discover it yourself. Great shopping for food and clothing, etc. We preferred it to all the other nearby villages. It was better in every way. The wi-fi kept dropping out after a few minutes.

Room Tip: They have double glazing so all rooms are quiet but the top floor rooms are hotter as the air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is a family run business, very friendly and willing to help you with anything. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had a situation with the bathroom which was dirty but once we complained they attended our request inmediately. The location is very good, seaview, a lot of restaurants, shopping area, pier and also banks and ATM's. We arrived there by car and to our surprise they have parking spots just in front of the complex. A parking fee is charged daily but worth it. Overall was a very good stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alik06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

we stayed 4 days at Astoria hotel Rapallo it was mostly perfect the location the service and cleanliness the reception staff is very helpful and we reserved a parking spot which was paid but discounted... the wifi was a bit annoying since they have only one username and password for each room and we were 3 so we had to log off each time to let the other connect...
so all in all if i had to get back to Rapallo i'll choose Astoria hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmd-build
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable nine night stay at the Astoria. The hotel is in a great location, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and our room was comfortable, with excellent, and much needed, air conditioning. Breakfast was fine - not the best we've had, but perfectly adequate. I tended to sit on the bed to read since the chair on my side wasn't very comfortable, but this is probably nit-picking. The flat screen tv was small, but we didn't really want to watch it anyway. As I imply above, the staff couldn't have done more to make our stay pleasant and we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
953 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Antonio Gramsci 4, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Rapallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing