We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, bathroom a little dated perhaps, but good service and a fantastic meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We ended up at the Excelsior Palace due to a bad experience at another hotel which resulted in our having to find something else immediately. We took a suite as we find it a more comfortable way to share a room with our small son. The room was spacious and had a fantastic sea view and comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little dated but nice and clean. We were surprised there were no bathrobes supplied with the room. We ate at the less formal sea view restaurant and had one of the ligurian meals - one of the best of the holiday. Our son really enjoyed the infinity pool - we couldn't get him out of it in fact.

This is not a trendy boutique style hotel - but is a good solid upmarket seaside town kind of place. If you drive as we did, they also have secure underground parking although the drive up to the hotel is challenging in the late evening with the sun in your eyes.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissNomad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay appreciating your room, our Eden Roc restaurant with romantic terrace on the sea and our infinity pool.
We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were looking for a relaxing week to spend by the sea, sunbathing with a variety of restaurants in walking distance, the Excelsior fitted this very well !
The Front desk staff were very helpful and although it gets busy at the weekend the beach club staff always found a sunbed !
The Breakfast buffet is excellent (although for some reason no toaster !) a delightful way to start he day. Lunch overlooking the sea watching the boats come and go into the Marina was also excellent.
At night a short stroll down to town/harbour provided many restaurants (we ate in a different one each night and enjoyed all of them).
Hotel is probably better suited to couples than those with younger children and the rooms are not huge; although we managed to get a room with a balcony which made a big difference.
It's also not the cheapest place you'll find but it is an elegant hotel.
All in all we really enjoyed it and would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac_mackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to read that you had a relaxing week at the Excelsior. First of all we thank you for your comments about our staff, who is really an important resource for us, and about our Eden Roc restaurant with the terrace on the sea, we are delighted to read that you defined excellent your lunch overlooking the sea watching the boats come and go into the Marina.
We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back sooner at the Excelsior and we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Good things: conceirge was excellent, great views of the sea and port, good breakfast buffet, overall service and staff were excellent
Not so good: expensive for what you get, small rooms that were a little dated, pool is far too small for the number of guests at the hotel - securing a chair can be challenging, bathroom and amenities were definitely not at the 5 star level

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Promontory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2010

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments written on TripAdvisor on the occasion of your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you have appreciated our Service and our Staff, the position of the property and the view on the Portofino Coast and on the Rapallo Bay.
We regret to hear that you did not find confortable your room and you did not enjoy the indoor pool area, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.
We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.
Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We were very disappointed with the overall experience. We had a suite with a very large balcony and a great view. The balcony was the high point of our stay. Room was ok, but not great for the price. We went down to the pool the first day and were expecting poolside service for drinks / water, but there was no one attending to the pool guests. This is not what we expect from a luxury hotel. We didn't get great help from the front desk either. After 2 nights, we checked out and moved to the Splendido Hotel. It was more expensive but worth the big upgrade in room and service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2010

Dear Guest,
Following your review read on TripAdvisor, we are awfully sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed the experience of being our Guest and you moved during the third day of stay. Reading your remarks, we understand that your disappointment was above all about the service in the pool area. Furthermore, could you please be so kind to write us at the email address marketing.excelsior@thi.it in which occasions our front desk was not of great help?
At least, we thank you for your comments concerning your accomodation and the great view on the Rapallo Bay and on the Portofino Coast from the terrace.
Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.
Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

just returned from my honeymoon staying at the excelsior palace, Rapallo.
It is a elegant ,beautiful hotel in a stunning location but i feel it is not quite 5 star . it needs an update and interiors need to be brought up todate. ie the beauty salon , was so dated it was not relaxing at all . there was parts of the hotelthat simply needed just a lick of paint .
i agree it is not the place for a crawling baby so i take that into appreciation. Our room was adequate but not special... dirty patio floor ( cleaned when asked) , dated furniture and no luxury extras. however a beautiful champagne n cakes on arrival .
the pool was gorgeous but very tight and no room either side of your sunbed .... defo no room for a baby to move around.
the service was excellent all round .. especially in the eden roc restaurant and the yachtying bar staff . food good but not spectular.... our previous hotel on our honeymoon was also 5 star and was amazing all round.
i think it is ahotel for couples of any age and more grown up families . however we had a fantastic holiday and the little issues did not stop us having a great time ... its just feedback

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annienalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Just returned from 10 nights on the French and Italian Riviera's, spending the last 4 nights at the Excelsior. The Excelsior is a lovely hotel with many fine features to offer. The staff is great, very friendly and knowledgable with great recommendations. They recommended 2 greats restaurants, the Vecchio Rapallo and Ugiancu. We also liked the included buffet breakfast at their restaurant the Lord Byran complete with an omlette station. Their beach club located directly across the street is also very nice with numerous levels on the cliffs and an overabundance of chairs as well as an infinity pool. On the downside our room although a little above average in size was in need of updating. It really looked tired and was not consistent with the rest of the hotel. The mattress on the bed was also lacking, Coming from the majestic in Cannes which had a mattress you could sleep for a week straight in this was average at best. The room did have a nice balcony with a great view and a large flat screen TV. Overall I would definately recommend this hotel and the area of Rapallo, Santa Margherita and Portofino

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spotter1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Huge but boring. It has awarded itself a basket of stars, but deserves four, no more. Its very comfortable, we loved our room and balcony high above Rapallo marina but there is SFA to do here except swim off the rocks (great fun) or in the pool (too small and crowded). The whole pool area is disappointing. Jewelled toe nails twinkle money, time and no taste. No tennis, no golf, no catamarans, nothing is laid on. Not for anyone, young or old. Even the World Cup final failed to excite management enough to find a big TV. Shame!
On the plus side, the service is friendly (pool boys & reception, Angelo, Virginia), but, with the exception of the yumtious buffet breakfast, which even caters for fussy non glutens (thanks Lily), the food and beverage department needs an urgent refresh - in the Pool Bar tired lettuce (not even rocket), supermarket cheese and sweating processed turkey slices with a fancy name and price will not fool people long. Plus I sighted a deep frozen chicken breast in the Eden Roc restaurant. At €60 (£50) upwards for two people, its not acceptable.
Were this a business hotel in a city centre I would not fault it, everything works, but its not. It’s a RESORT and that is where they fail. The Excelsior Palace is an Ark aground on Ararat. The crew have given up hope of rescue till October and the gloomy passengers are killing time till they can Ryan Air home. It would not take much, just management flair to get it going again.

A word of warning: Do NOT take local taxis, or face a real shock (€28 for 5 km). Take the bus to Portofino and Santa Margarita. Both towns are far prettier with better shops than Rapallo which has gone to seed. Finding good food locally is difficult as it all tastes the same, looks the same and is the same ... pesto sauce over pasta or tomato sauce with anchovies over (yet another fish) - but I can recommend the Altro Eden in Santa Margarita harbour as the BCBG exception and well worth a €2 bus ride. The Slendido Mare in PF is charming, and their vegetable gnocchi unsurpassed. It is wildly expensive but you would not go there if it wasn’t.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradBourne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Dear Guest,
Following your comments written on TripAdvisor, we are awfully sorry to read that your holiday expectations were not met by our property.
In order to reply to your remarks, we inform you, first of all, that we are not a Resort, on our website and on every other T.O. websites or on OTA sites, the Excelsior is described as a luxury hotel which devotes special attention to lovers of relaxation. Within 2 km from the hotel, sports lovers, young and old, tennis, golf in a 18 holes golf club, riding, diving, water-skiing are available. We fear you may not be familiar with our destination, as we are not the Resort which you can find in the Mediterranean area like in Turkey.
Concerning the food and beverage quality at the Pool Bar, the Sporting Bar, as well as at the Eden Roc restaurant, we inform you that we mostly use local cheese which you can not find in the supermarkets, fresh products like salads, tomatoes and mozzarella. Furthermore, fresh chicken is always cooked at the moment of the request, it is not frozen.
Regarding the local taxis costs, we inform you that they are well exhibited in the hall, in order to avoid any complaints from our Clients, rates are arranged by local Authorities, for instance to reach Santa Margherita Ligure it costs € 20.
Finally, we are at least delighted that you found your room comfortable and that you loved the view on the Rapallo marina from your balcony.
Thanking for your kind attention, we send you our warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
814 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 28 in Rapallo
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: $130 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing