We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book with the hotel for clarity.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2010

My partner and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Excelsior Palace in Rapallo (Late April 2010), our second visit in two years.

Our first visit to the hotel was a one night stop-over booked through Expedia. Prices are advertised on Expedia, and elsewhere, as room-only with an extra 50€ payable for breakfast and more € again for access to the 'Beach Club'. However, on our second visit to the hotel we booked directly with the hotel and received a detailed email to include a price for room, breakfast and access to the beach club. Having read previous reviews I wonder if the hotel has changed its policy with regards to extra costs for access to the Beach Club or whether these charges are only enforced in high season.
Either way I would suggest that visitors contact and book with the hotel directly for clarity.

My partner and I are both in the Hotel/Tourism industry in the French Alpes and find this hotel a perfect setting to unwind after the winter. The hotel is peaceful, we were under the impression that it was not very busy at all. However sneaking a look at the breakfast list revealed that 20-30 rooms were listed as present for breakfast.

The breakfast is of a very high quality offering everything you would want for breakfast, as well as perhaps a few things you wouldn't. 5 stars.

Service in the hotel is impeccable as you would expect from a 5 star hotel - but the staff here genuinely invest themselves in your satisfaction. Simone, the yachting bar tender, is a very nice chap and good company for an aperitif with plenty of suggestions for day-trips as well as interesting local alcohol.

We hired a scooter (125c) for an afternoon and zipped down to portofino, notoriously bad for parking a car, and had a really enjoyable journey, visit and shop. The Vespa scooters are 80€ for 5 hours to include all insurance, fuel and helmets.

The beach club offers an indoor pool with views overlooking the harbour, an outdoor infinity-style pool with views of the coast and sea, a small gym, solarium, jacuzzi, sauna etc, sports bar, plenty of tanning areas 'terraced' down to the sea. All very clean, modern and comfortable - well worth a few extra euros if not included in the room price!

We booked a classic double room during our first visit and a superior double for the second, three night stay, and to be completely honest we could not tell the difference between classic and superior in size or feature. The rooms are slightly old fashioned but comfortable and obviously finished to a high original specification. Bathrooms are nice too if not a little tight for space.
The views of the coast towards Portofino and also to the east are beautiful and can be enjoyed from seating on the superior room balcony (no seats on the classic room balcony is the only really noticeable difference).

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but can recommend 'Marios' fish restaurant in Rapallo.

In summary, a very nice hotel with excellent staff, facilities and atmosphere. Ideally located with great views from comfortable rooms. Oh and they have Simone in the bar to make you laugh too!

We are planning to return soon - to try a Junior Suite!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezBearLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Direttore at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2010

Dear Guest,
Please let us thank your comments in the occasion of your recent stay last April at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience of being our Guest for the second time appreciating our service, our Staff, our interiors such as the Yachting Bar and the Beach Club. We would like to remind you that your comments and suggestions are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs. Furthermore, concerning the rate you have booked last year throughout Expedia, please be informed that you had also the possibility to book a room in bed & breakfast basis, our policy has never changed. Please do not hesitate to write us at the address marketing.excelsior@thi.it if you need further information concerning our next visit and we hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner in Junior Suite next time!
Thanking you for your attention, we send you our warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.

Mr. Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed there for a special birthday occasion and the welcome was excellent. The hotel is grandiose in some way but due to the time of the year we stayed it had a rather dead atmosphere and yet has beautiful aspects. Great reception hall and nice bar to enjoy spectacular views of the bay. Service was impeccable and our room had seaview all over the bay of PORTOFINO. The hotel had 2 great swimming pools and gym facilities and we could enjoy the indoor pool, sauna and turkish bath at this time of year.
It has a slight old fashion look but room was spacious and the bathroom was certainly very spacious too. Service was discreet but well intentioned.
We did not test the restaurant in the evening as there was so few people in the hotel.
We certainly like to stay there again in better time of the year to enjoy it at its best.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Direttore Generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Dear Guest,
Please let us thank you for your comments on the occasion of your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the experience of being our Guest last February during your birtday occasion, appreciating our property, the room and our service.We would like to remind you that your comments and suggestions are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs. We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again maybe during the coming Spring/Summer season where you will take advantage of the Beach Club and also of the second Restaurant, The Eden Roc, open from June, a romantic terrace facing the gulf of Rapallo and the Portofino Coast.
Assuring you our assistance at all times, we send you our warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.
Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Friendly service, excellent breakfast buffet and great view from my room but having paid extra for the superior room at a 5 star hotel, I expect perfection and a wow factor. The room was not particularly big (balcony doors wouldn't open fully without hitting the bed), there was one electrical socket which was not in a useful place, the bathroom wasn't 100% clean, and there was a corner broken off the bathroom sink surround. Also, I expect extra's in a top hotel to be expensive but the internet here was truly extortionate. All minor points, if it had been a four star, I would have been perfectly happy with a lovely hotel and a fantastic weekend away but 5 stars raise expectations that weren't quite met.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

Our stay at your hotel was a very enjoyable experience and we would not hesitate to patronise the establishment when next we travelled. The staff ere most obliging and helpful when our only language was english

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandajb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2009

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience of being our Guest during your stay and we would like to remind you that your comments and suggestions are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.
We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.
Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,
Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This is a great hotel - I would really suggest you stay here in the summer.
The hotel is grand, ornate and traditional. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are immaculate, tiled and very clean. Breakfast was very good, lots of european and american choices. The service from all of the food & beverage staff was superb. The bar was lovely too. We didn't eat dinner here.
The best part about this hotel is the outdoor beach club and pool. The pool is very nice but then there are several terraces surrounding the ocean and pool with chaise lounges. There are several ladders that you can climb down and get right into the ocean and its not too deep. The ocean here was absolutely wonderful and clean. I would definitely go here again. If you go make sure you take a taxi from the train station... the hotel is up a very steep driveway.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njenk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This hotel is the best alternative to Splendido in Portofino, Easy to find, beautiful town and only 7 kms. from Portofino. The rates are better , the rooms are better and the service is better. Why stay at"Splendido" (in my opinion overrated) when you can stay here at a better rate and better service. Visit Portofino and then go and relax in Rapallo.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jsalvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our family of 5 recently stayed at the Excelsior Palace Hotel. We originally booked 2 rooms as our experience had been that the hotel rooms in Italy are tiny. When we arrived, they were not able to give us adjoining rooms so we cancelled one and had plenty of room for all of us to stay in a single room (the kids are 2, 7 and 9). The rooms are big, but could use a bit of updating. The staff was lovely. The pool and sea were exquisite.

The location was great, a slight walk into town, but we loved it after all the delicious pasta. We were able to take the train into Cinque Terra for the most fabulous day.

One night we were walking though Rapallo and happened on a fabulous concert right in the middle of town playing Led Zepplin. What a treat.

We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melanieprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: $131 - $789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing