We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Etrip
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Preferred Hotels
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,901)
Filter reviews
1,901 results
Traveler rating
1,169
517
134
55
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,169
517
134
55
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club infinity pool five star hotel sea view old world cinque terre sun loungers amazing views santa margherita and portofino fantastic location terrace concierge coast bay boats europe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 1,901 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2017

A really good high standard Five Star Hotel.
Excellent facilities and outstanding food.
Excellent staff.
ONE PROBLEM was that there were many small children, mostly Italian, who were allowed to scream and RUN AROUND THE DINING ROOM AT DINNER; Often this was quite late. This should not be happening in a top class hotel and the management made NO attempt to control it. It seemed that there were young families who had gained access to the Five Star hotel on cheap 'special deals' which was very unfair to those more discerning full paying guests. We paid £3K for our week and could have experienced similar bad behaviour in a 2 Star hotel.

Room tip: Choose front with balcony. Rooms are quiet, Dining Room should be, but is often not.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank bangus956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Our property is not an adults only hotel, however we are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to the presence of small children mostly in the dining room.

We are happy that you found the Hotel to be a good high standard five Star Hotel and that you consider both our Staff and facilities as excellent.

With best wishes,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

We got the executive rooms and it is an absolutely superb hotel.
The service is amazing and even though the weather is crappy outside we are happy just enjoying the hotel.
Make sure you try the cheese burger at the bar downstairs

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Slickaz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are happy you did enjoy the Hotel and the service in spite of the weather and thank you for mentioning our Sporting Bar, the poolside Bar at the Beach Club.

With best wishes,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

We stayed 1 night here on the way to Tuscany, hotel made good impression, nice room, tasty breakfast, big spa zone with warm outside pool. The most important was amazing panorama view from each part of the hotel. Everything was nice except wifi, it worked well only in lobby. Our room was on the fifth floor and there was no chance to connect to internet.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank olgam242
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Mrs. Olga,

Thank you for your comments, mostly the one about the wifi service which in the period of your stay seemed to work only partially as shown by another review. Such remarks are precious to us since they help us improve what does not work properly yet.

We are happy that all the rest was nice and thank you for the time spent to review the experience of being our Guest.

With best wishes,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight in this hotel with my girlfriend, and really enjoyed great views and pretty big room, but almost couldn't connect our devices through the wifi. Which is quit important in our days.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank teddykgbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry that during the limited time spent with us you experienced a bad wifi connection in spite of the investment we made to improve the service and guarantee it in the whole property.

On the other hand we are happy that at least you did enjoy the spacious room and the great views one can enjoy from everywhere within the Hotel.

Thanks a lot for your review and kindest regards,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

We've been visiting this hotel around Easter. The position of the hotel is really good: direct sea view, the wellness and the spa center and swimming area are separated by the coastal road, but there's a dedicated bridge of the hotel which allows you to go with all comforts from one side to the other.
Hotel style is a bit old fashioned but it's part of the hotel heritage. Reception of guests and service are aligned with hotel stars.
Hotel room was really wide, well organized and very clean: as we were on the sixth floor the sea view was fantastic and no annoyance from the road traffic was disturbing.
The breakfast was good but nothing extraordinary, the best of it is the view from the tables.
The swimming pool area is really the added value, infinity pool with warm water makes it possible to bath nearly in all weather conditions, additionally you can benefit from a 4 seat jacuzzi again sea view.
We visited the hotel with my wife and we're looking forward to visit it again if possible, though it's not a favorite place to bring in kids due to the hotel style and layout.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank davidecA898UF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review.

We are delighted to hear that you spent such a pleasant stay around Easter and really hope you will be visiting us again, maybe in season when the entire Beach Club area with its wide choice of services is in operation.

With best wishes,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews