We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,901)
Filter reviews
1,901 results
Traveler rating
1,169
517
134
55
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,169
517
134
55
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club infinity pool five star hotel sea view old world cinque terre sun loungers amazing views santa margherita and portofino fantastic location terrace concierge coast bay boats europe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 1,901 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Stunning surroundings, nice rooms (the beds are big and very comfortable) and spot on but understated service. I would definitely recommend staying here. This was our second visit and will not be our last.
Although the beach area was undergoing some construction the staff could not have been more helpful, sorting some loungers so that we could take full advantage of the view and the late afternoon sun.

Room tip: Have stayed in both a Superior room and a Junior Suite, both were good with glorious sea views
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us already twice!

We are happy you were able to enjoy our heated outdoor pool and the pleasant afternoon sun.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of your third visit and wish you a very happy Easter.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2017

From start to finish this hotel offers pure luxury. Absolutely stunning decor, staff friendly and efficient and it couldn't get any better! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys the good things in life. Can't wait to return.

Room tip: view of the sea
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank timsonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your stay with will be even better!

With warm wishes,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017

Excellent long weekend, free parking, free internet, free upgrade to Balcony seaview. What more could one ask for. Then free drink as it was my wifes birthday. Outdoor swimming pool was heated to 28°C, nice sunny terrace. Breakfast was excellent, and they even helped me dismantle a Picture frame so it would fit in my car....Exceptional service with a smile.

Room tip: Superior rooms with a balcony are worth the extra money
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank allan6164
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to receive your review and to know that you did appreciate our care and attention.

We like the way you describe our service, "... Exceptional service with a smile", very much!

Looking forward to hopefully a future visit of yours, we remain at your disposal if there is anything we can assist you with.

Kind regards,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

Like several reviewers, I agree that the hotel is dated and needs some refurbishment, especially in the public areas on the floor of the breakfast room and the floor that leads to the bridge to the wellness centre across the road. The drinks in the hotel bar are really overpriced so we didn't patronize it. The atmosphere in the deserted wellness center was dreary, with the outdoor swimming pool closed when we were there, and the gym is miserably small. The many steps up slope to reach the hotel entrance makes the hotel a bad choice for older guests and those with mobility issues; we dreaded the climb up each time we returned to the hotel after a tiring day. The winding and busy road in front of the hotel also makes driving in and out challenging.

On the flip side, the fact that the hotel is situated on a slope means that you get the best sea view for any hotel in Rapallo, and the main reason I give it 4 stars instead of 3. I really enjoyed sitting on my room balcony (room 410) gazing out at the marvelous sea view and nearby marina., especially at sunset, and waking up to the blue sea and sky. The low price we paid for the rooms also compensated for any shortcomings. Service at front desk was good; they were patient in guiding us on how to get to Cinque Terre by train and to Portofino by our car. The concierge responded to my email for restaurant recommendations within a day, weeks before we arrived. We were able to park our car for free over 3 days at the lots in front of the hotel (no prior reservation allowed). The freshly baked bread at breakfast was one of the best we've had. My room was spacious and comfortable, mattress good, and shower pressure strong.

As for Rapallo itself, it's pretty run down, unremarkable except for the seaside location, and much less charming than other Italian cities/towns I've been to. While still a good base for exploring Cinque Terre and Portofino, I think Santa Margherita Ligure (for Portofino) or Sestri Levante (for Cinque Terre) would be a better choice.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank UWA_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding the time to write such a long review.

Sometimes the style of our public areas may seem dated while actually they stand out for paintings, prints and furniture which all are authentic antiques.

Concerning the drinks at the Yachting Bar, please note that they correspond to those of any other luxury hotel bars.

With regard to the wellness centre, it may happen to find it deserted in low season and, as previously mentioned, all this area will undergo a complete restyling.

However we are glad you found positive things about the Hotel as well.

Best regards,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017

Charming, luxury Hotel. Great sea view. Luxury hall. Tasty breakfast. Good service.
Rooms are little "worn out", but you can get a special choice of diner for your cat or dog delivered to your room. Parking available.

Room tip: sea view are always the best.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Strnnik93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for your review and are happy you loved both our great location with sea views and the luxury atmosphere of the Hotel.

Thank you for noting the attentions we have for our Guests' cats and dogs as well.

With best wishes,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews