We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the loveliest hotels on the Portofino Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the loveliest hotels on the Portofino Coast”
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Excelsior Palace for 3 nights in mid-April. We were so warmly greeted upon our arrival by Camilla and shown to our beautiful rooms. The view from our balcony took my breath away - north towards Portofino, south across the marina and on toward Cinque Terre. This hotel is so professionally managed - service was impeccable from top to bottom. The rooms are very well-maintained and extremely comfortable. Bathrooms are beautiful and supplied with top notch toiletries and robes. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous. The facilities at the hotel are also excellent. The pool area is just lovely. Although we did not enjoy the best weather, I can only imagine how idyllic is is to be there or on the hotel's terrace on a warm, sunny day.

Angelo, the head concierge, is quite possibly the best and most professional concierge I've ever met. He was a wealth of knowledge about touring and dining possibilities.

About the only thing I would do to improve this hotel is to find a way to have an elevator at street level up to the hotel......it's not an easy walk up those stairs. But that's just me with my post-surgical knee complaining. It probably doesn't bother most people.

Rapallo makes a nice place to base yourself for a visit to this area. A 15 minute drive brings you to Santa Margherita and Portofino. The train gets you easily to Riomaggiore to start the north-bound hike of Cinque Terre. After visiting all 5 of these towns, we decided that, although charming, it would be too isolated in any of those (with the possible exception of Monterosso) for a stay of 3 or 4 nights.

This hotel enjoys the most ideal location in town - close enough to walk to the center, restaurants, and rail station, but situated in the perfect spot to take advantage of the incredible views. What makes it really special is the warm and professional service. We look forward to a return visit some day.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Sales & Marketing Department at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2009
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay appreciating the room, the service and the beach club.
Furthermore we took note of your suggestions concerning an elevator at street level up to the hotel and we would like to remind you that your suggestions are always very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.
Finally, we wish to let you know that our Concierge and our Guest Relation Manager have already been informed about your kind "thank-you note".
We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.
Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    409
    102
    42
    20
See reviews for
218
803
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We had a very bad experience with this hotel. We booked a Junior Suite in this historical hotel of the Riviera Ligure. The weather was certainly not helping since we had heavy rain and strong wind but the room windows were not well isolated and we had wind coming in. Moreover, we could hear every noise coming from our neighbours. The hotel is definitely too expensive for the rooms and service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurafls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Sales & Marketing Department at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2009
Dear Guest,

We are very upset to read your comment regarding the discomfort the wind has created in the room you stayed. But unfortunately the weather conditions during the weekend, and particularly the wind, have created various inconveniences. Although this certain problem is not in our fault, we are always trying to find the best solution for our Guests according to their requests.
Thank you very much for your kind attention and best regards from the Portofino Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I stayed at the Excelsior Palace hotel along with a large group of people. With me in my room were my fiancé and then 7 month old son.
The surroundings are stunning and the seaside views from our room were great. It would have been nice to be able to see the town better but that´s only possible from one end of the hotel.
Access to the hotel is a bit awkward on foot. The steep hill and busy road are possibly something that might deter people from staying here.
The rooms appeared to be quite mixed in size and shape so consistency is probably not to be expected. Ours was fairly large with a nice bathroom and a balcony.
The staff was pleasant and showed my family a whole lot of attention. My son was soon a favourite with the breakfast staff that always had a high chair ready for him and cooed him while taking coffee orders.
Speaking of breakfast, the buffet was marvelous with what seemed and endless selection of cheese, pastries, cereals, cakes and what have you.
A word of warning: The prices at the bar and minibar are outrageous. An espresso costs ten times that in town and a beer bottle was 10€. Not that most of the well heeled guests seemed to mind though.
The beach club is nice. No use in complaining about lack of sandy beaches, they are few in these rocky parts of the Riviera. My favourite was sitting by the infinity pool with the bar on hand. There´s a restaurant on the lower deck that´s worth a visit. As with anything at the Excelsior palace it´s not cheap but the spaghetti al vongole and trofie al pesto were well worth it.
If you like to experience the old world charm and don´t mind spending a bit of Euros this is a good choice

  • Liked — Views and atmosphere
  • Disliked — Location and bar prices
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamo2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Sales & Marketing Department at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2009
Dear Guest,
First of all let us thank you for your comments about our property.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience of being our Guest during your stay with your fiancé and your 7 month old son. We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again repeating the experience of sitting by our infinity swimming pool. The Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.
Best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Excelsior Palace Hotel
Sales & Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodnon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I spent a week at the Excelsior Palace in August and had a mixed time. We booked with CITALIA and our sea view room was more of a partial harbour view. Citalia were really unhelpful!
The hotel is grand and served wonderful food. you can sunbathe on terraces over the sea - BUT there is the busiest main road running behind the hotel! You can hear the whine of mopeds most of the time. If this doesn't bother you - then the hotel is great. For me - the traffice noise ruined it.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank autumnzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
excelsiorRapallo, Sales & Marketing Department at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2009
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments about our property. We are awfully sorry that you have not been informed by the tour operator that your room had not a full sea view.

Concerning the busy road, is the only road to reach Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino, so, depending on the period of the day, it could be a busy road.

We hope that in the future you’ll do us the honour of being among our valued Guests again wishing your next stay will be a more enjoyable one.

Best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

One of the most beautiful hotels in one of the prettiest surroundings we have ever seen.

Great "infinity" swimmingpool. Full and georgeous breakfast buffet. We did not use the restaurants other than the pool bar for meals, inter alia because they were too expensive for our liking.

Service was sometimes less than great. We were, more than once treated as work in progress rather than guests.

On the date of departure I got very angry when the pool attendents notified us that we had to pay EUR 27.50 per stretcher/towel if we wanted to stay beyond noon. It took a scrumble with the reception desk to make them understand that I was not going to pay that amount.

All in all however: great place and we will probably go back there.

Nathan family Leidschendam, Netherlands.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank lowtax49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I just returned from a week at the Excelsior Palace with my family of five, including two teenagers and one younger child. Overall, it was a lovely stay.

Among the positives: the hotel is situated on the sea - the main building is across the street and the beach club is directly on the sea, connected by a covered walkway at the western edge of the town of Rapallo, making for an easy walk into town or a quick drive to Santa Margherita and Portofino. Rapallo is a charming little town with lots of restaurants, shops and narrow alleyways to explore. In August, bands and singers entertain almost every evening along the lido.

We had several meals at the hotel and the food is generally excellent and one of the best reasons to stay at the Excelsior. The buffet breakfast is very nice, but not quite as extensive as other large hotels in Italy; it became somewhat redundant after a week, but it was still very enjoyable. There were multiple options for the children at every meal and if something was not on the menu, such as a simple pasta pomodoro, they would make it for them.

The beach club is very large and encompasses not just the pool, but even better, the uneven, craggy shoreline, making for a fantastic view and somewhat challenging swimming. The pool is adequate and is mostly used by very young children - lots of swim diapers and my children would not use it. However, they found swimming to the two anchored floating rafts fun. To be clear, there is no "beach" - not even a rocky beach, just a rocky shoreline. The people watching around the pool/seaside area is quite remarkable - from elderly, sun-scorched women in bikinis to beautiful people.

The concierge staff was highly professional and helpful. They made reservations for almost all of our dinners out and the choices were not only excellent, but also offered us a nice array of experiences - rustic, contemporary, seaside, etc. They also had a good general knowledge of the area and could offer good advice about any local activities.

The rooms are well cleaned, decently appointed and they do offer twice daily maid service by a very nice and efficient housekeeping staff. Some of the upholstered furniture in the lobby and in the rooms is a bit worn and grimy - which is unfortunate because most of the non-upholstered furniture is attractive and in good condition.

Among the negatives: I believe the hotel is non-smoking or at least my floor was non-smoking, however several people were obviously smoking and the hallways smelled of smoke much of the time. Many of the lifeguards at the beach club also smoke constantly giving them a look of boredom and unprofessionalism.

This is probably not a five-star luxury property, as the hotel advertises (although Tripadvisor lists it as a four-star). The grounds are not maintained as well as could be and there is a lack of amenities such as fresh flowers, ultra-fine towels and linens, and before bed treats that is typical in most Italian five-stars. The exterior of the hotel is a somewhat unattractive hodgepodge of add-ons from certain angles. However, the prices are reasonable and this is still probably the finest hotel on the Italian Riviera, where there is a general lack of truly luxury hotels. All said, it is a good choice to explore this part of Italy and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Fantastic food
  • Disliked — Not super-luxurious
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravellodreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Our stay was very enjoyable and we very much appreciated the Manager's kind gesture of a bottle of sparkling wine and olive oil on our arrival in celebration of our 20th Wedding Anniversary. The room was fabulous with a wonderful view and our daughter particularly liked the chocolates at reception! Our only negative comments, on what was an otherwise perfect experience, were the shower enclosure (ie curtain) was not appropriate for a 5 star hotel. Also the road crossing from the hotel to the centre of Rapallo was extremely dangerous and some thought should be given to using the bridge from the hotel in some way.

The pool is fabulous in it's setting (although not heated) and all round the facilities are of a high standard albeit quite expensive.

  • Liked — Beautiful Room with fabulous view
  • Disliked — The shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing