We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Absolutely recommended! Excellent location, very clean and great hotel staff! Breakfast was great specially sitting on terrace with mind-blowing views. Little pricy, but worth it anyway. Rapallo and all Ligurian coast is unforgettable and for my taste preferred over pricier and more famous French riviera...

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank primozhoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive comments written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are honoured to read that you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating the Hotel location as well as the rich Buffet Breakfast sitting on the sea view terrace of the Lord Byron Restaurant.

Thanking you again for your attention and hoping to welcoming you sooner back again, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Expensive hotel and area. But the staff were charming and the views amazing. We went at Easter and the hotel opened the outdoor pool, but not the bar. No garden to speak of - but in summer the beach club across the road is open. Our 8 year old was bouncing off the walls after too much gelato and unfortunately the walls were a little thin, so we had a bit of angry knocking. I think the standard of hotels in the area is not great - and it is probably the best hotel in Rapallo. We had some wonderful day trips on the boats that take you to Portofino, Santa Margharita Ligure, and San Fruttuosa. Breakfast was OK to good. The bar was cosy with some good cocktails and bar snacks. We all had massages in the spa. Reception staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Always get a balcony room overlooking the sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowergirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for your review written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior during the Easter period.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the Beach Club (officially open from June 1st to September 30th every year), the Spa and the Yachting Bar for good aperitifs.
The Sporting Bar at the Beach Club was open the Easter day, on Sunday, from 10.30 a.m. to 17.30 p.m. and than it is officially open from May 1st for the summer season.

We are so sorry to hear about what happened to your son, Italian ice cream is so delicious that one is not enough!
We agree with you regarding Rapallo strategic position, very closed to Santa Margherita Ligure, Portofino, San Fruttuoso and the Cinque Terre. We are delighted you enjoyed your day trips on the boat, which is the best way to visit these hidden gems.

Thanking you again for your preference and hoping we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the sunny Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 5 days in an ocean view room with balcony. Drinking wine at the balcony, watching sunset and listening to the ocean weaves were special moments. Hotel staff were very helpful, especially Angelo who gave us very good tips and informations what we can do in and around Rapallo. It was a very convenient location to visit world heritage sites including Cinque Terre and Strada Nuova.

Hotel has a heated pool but it was rather small. Steam and dry saunas were basic. Breakfast Room and reception area were welcoming and relaxing.

Overall, we had a very nice and relaxing stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We definitely recommend rooms with ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tora05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior Palace.
We are very pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your room with balcony for a romantic watching sunset and listening to the weaves. We thank you also for your compliments to our staff as well as the Buffet Breakfast at the Lord Byron Restaurant and the lobby.
We take the occasion to inform you that during next year we are planning some renovation works at our Spa including steam bath and sauna area and indoor pool.
We agreed with you regarding Rapallo strategic position, closed to Portofino, Cinque Terre and Genoa.

Thanking you again for your attention and hoping to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed at the Excelsior Palace Hotel in early November. Our room was lovely with a beatiful view of the water and with very nice amenities. We found the food to be extremely over priced 18 euro ($25.00usd) for a bowl of vegetable soup (the soup was very good but really 25.00) The person I was traveling with went to the front desk to get help with hiring a car service for a few hours and she would not go back until he was not working because he was not very nice. I have stayed at other 5 star hotels and found this one just a little stuffy for my taste.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athomeinpositano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written in reference to your stay of last November.
We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your room with the sea view.
Regarding your notes about the food over priced, we wish to remind you that our meals are always made with fresh ingredients, home made and prepared at moment depending on Clients requests, respecting high standard of quality and service as a 5 star luxury property.

We are awfully sorry to read about the problem had with the Front Desk staff for the car hiring, it is not possible for us to verify who you speak with as it happened last November, but our Guest Relations Manager and our Concierge are always at Guests' disposal for any assistance.

However, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you for your kind attention, we assure you of our personal assistance at all times and we send you our warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I believe that it is one of the best hotel around. Very nice, it has a spa, swimming poll overviewing the sea. Rooms with a seaview are very nice. It is a little bit outdated but it doesn't stop you to enjoy the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Myrmidones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of you stay at the Excelsior last month.
We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your holiday appreciating the hotel as well as the Spa with the indoor pool with the view on the Rapallo marina and your sea view room.
Regarding your comments about the hotel, we inform you that the hotel building is dated from 1901, the interior common areas as lobby, main Restaurant and Bar as well as most of the rooms were recently renovated with ancient wood furniture, pictures from the XVI and XVII century, new seating and curtains, to reflect the classic style of the Excelsior.

Thanking you again for your kind attention and looking forward to welcoming you again, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

There were three Russian (or similar) channels on TV and a marina with yachts next door. I felt like a Russian oligarch! The view from our 07 room was spectacular at all hours. Our room was lovely. Everything worked very well, except the broken lid of the Bain-Marie in the dining room (I laughed when I saw this mentioned in a review from Nov 13 but seriously, the hotel should have fixed it by now). The dining room service was too formal for my American taste but it was certainly not a shortcoming. The food was good but not great. The price - well, my wallet was a little lighter than a Russian oligarch's.

Room Tip: The 07 room has a wide panorama of the gulf and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for your review published on the occasion of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guests and we thank you for your compliments about the room assigned at the last floor with a panoramic view on the Rapallo marina.

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is an outstanding alternative to the overpriced hotels in Portofino, which is not far away. Very comfortable, presents extremely well with excellent friendly and attentive service. Many of the rooms have gorgeous ocean views. The pool area is stunning for relaxing. The only disappointment was the restaurant. The outlook was so romantic but the food very disappointing.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frozzie-deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written in reference to your stay at the Excelsior of last September.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Excelsior particularly appreciating the location as well as service, rooms with sea view and the Beach Club.
On the other hand, we are so sorry about your note regarding the Restaurant and we kindly ask you to let us know which one you chose and the reason why you were disappointed with the food. However, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you for your kind attention, we assure you of our personal assistance at all times and we send you our warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.


Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
932 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 28 in Rapallo
688 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
705 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#4 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: $118 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing