We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel with a WoW factor! Beautiful property with glorious sea views and 5star trimmings - you need nothing more . .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Hotel with a WoW factor! Beautiful property with glorious sea views and 5star trimmings - you need nothing more . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel and location experience we had over our entire 5 week Europe trip! This year we travelled China 3 weeks and now recently 5 weeks various parts of Europe; Spain, Sweden,France & Italy. We were lucky to have had a couple of nights at this beautiful hotel property along our travels, with its true antique decor throughout the hotel and its prime location on top of the hill overlooking the port and Mediterranean sea - the views everywhere are just superb on the eye day and night. To top it all, this great hotel is supported by a wonderful team of attentive and helpful staff to every aspect of a guests needs whilst having a relaxing holiday. Day trips to other nearby places like Portifino is a lovely way to spend a couple of hours out for a drive. Wonderful holiday experience: Great place in a Great spot - would love to go back and stay again someday soon. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dds777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really thank you for your review starting from the title!
We are so delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Excelsior last October and you consider it the best hotel during your 5 weeks Europe trip!
We are pleased to hear that you fully appreciated the hotel and its location, from where you can enjoy a superb view. We thank you also for your positive comments regarding our team , very appreciated.
Rapallo is really in a strategic position as very close to the well known Portofino, to Santa Margherita and to the wonderful five lands.

Thanking you again for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    378
    99
    40
    20
See reviews for
196
737
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great view, great location and excellent staff.
Only negative point I was able to note was the extremelly high cost of breakfast (25 Euros per person), that wasn`t included in my booking thru Booking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuliRickli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review published on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.

We are glad to read that the you enjoyed the experience of being our Guest appreciating the hotel location and its view. We thank you also for your compliments to our staff.

Regarding your remark about the high cost of the Buffet Breakfast, as you booked a Room Only rate at a very competitive condition, any extra are at charge, like the Buffet Breakfast which offers a great choice of products. On Booking you can clearly read the extra costs before booking a room only rate.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Prestigious first class property on the bay near Portofino. Great views and rooms are clean, spacious and nicely appointed. Buffet breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. Patios outside bar and restaurant have killer views. Found a great rate through a travel site that included upgraded room, view and breakfast.

Room Tip: Do not take the bus from the train station to the hotel. The hotel entrance is on a hill a long way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennyinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review published on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior last month.
We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed the property with its views from the rooms as well as from the Yachting Bar and the Lord Byron Restaurant terraces appreciating also the Buffet Breakfast.
We are also delighted to hear that you appreciated the upgrade in a room with sea view, we always try to satisfy our Guests if at their arrival we have availability, normally in a period of low season like some days in October.

Thanking you again for your interest in choosing our property, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Excelsior Palace Rapallo Italy is sensational. For my 70th birthday and 50th wedding anniversary we picked one of the best hotels in the world. Rapallo itself is beautiful. Absolutely fantastic and very picturesque romantic with lights gleaming on the sea from the houses in the hills in the evening. The hotel itself is pure magic. We had a balcony room which overlooked the sea as an upgrade from what we had booked and the staff provided us with champagne and strawberries on arrival. Throughout our whole stay, it was a wonderful experience, great food and wonderful views. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and courteous, provided us with every attention whilst there. The only criticism is that steps to the hotel, 100 in all, is quite a feat after a couple of wines in the evening down in the beautiful town of Rapallo!

Room Tip: A room with balcony is very much worth the extra supplement as there is nothing better than to sit w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for your precious review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior to celebrate two special occasions as your 70th birthday and your 50th wedding anniversary.
We are more than delighted that you and your wife loved Rapallo and you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guest, appreciating your room with balcony and the sea view as well as the welcome gift for your special celebrations.
We also thank you for the compliments about the Restaurant and the staff.

Hoping to welcoming you back sooner at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a lovely, gracious old hotel in the old style. If you want grace and ceremony, liveried waiters and extremely comfortable rooms, it will be worth the price tag to you. It is spotlessly clean (room cleaning is done efficiently and discreetly by unfailingly polite staff) and you will find the usual nice touches you would expect from a hotel of this quality.

Our Junior Suite included bathrobes, slippers, Wi-Fi access, whirlpool bath, large carrier for shopping, loan of a large umbrella (hanging in the wardrobe) and a complimentary bottle of Limoncello, among other things. Tons of space, comfortable furniture, and a beautiful large bath/shower room equipped with all you might need.

Breakfast is one of the best I've had anywhere in Italy. Food ordered from the bar arrived piping hot, nicely presented with a charming smile, and it was as good as we had in many a trattoria.

Nice to find windows that open, air conditioning that works, and staff that do their best to help. The only thing that marred our visit was the horrible pillows - but I am allergic to feathers so the good ones were taken away. The synthetic ones are hard and unyielding and give me a headache for the next day.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the sea are well worth the extra cost. The view is stunning, and wide. Absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review written on the occasion of your very recent stay at the Excelsior.

We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay, we are pleased to read that you loved the hotel as well as your Junior Suite with the bow window on the Portofino Coast view.
We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Buffet Breakfast at the Lord Byron Restaurant appreciating also your meal at the Yachting Bar.
We are so sorry about the misunderstanding with the pillow menu, as we have a good choice of anallergic pillows.

Thanking you again for your precious comments and hoping to welcoming you back again sooner at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My partner and I arrived home yesterday from a 4 night stay at the Excelsior Palace Hotel. We stayed in room 419 and the view was amazing, and we had a balcony! A perfect view of the sea, enabling us to see Portofino and the cruise liners that stayed over night words cannot describe the view.

The service in the Excelsior Palace Hotel was impeccable, as it was my partner's birthday and our anniversary, they had arranged for an extra special surprise in our room out of good will, which added to the experience.

The room was clean and well kept, and re-stocked twice a day. Turn down was great, they left a small bottle of water in the room each night, the only thing I would say, as there was 2 of us, it would have been handy to have 2 bottles of water, but this is just me being picky! The bed is very comfortable, the room was hot, but there was 2 balcony doors that opened or air conditioning.

On the first night, I requested another pillow, which was delivered quickly. The pool wasn't open (and we didn't pay for beach club) but we were able to sit on the infinity pool deck and look across the sea which was great.

Rapallo itself is nice, enough to keep you occupied for a few days. We ate frequently in 'Moby Dick' and the pizzas are huge! At only 6 Euros, this was a bargain! We did not eat at the hotel. We also did a boat trip to Portofino for the day, that leaves every hour and returns every hour (last return is at 5pm), this cost 2 people 22 Euros return (for both of us), Portofino is very pretty, very expensive, but worth it!

All in all, the Excelsior Palace Hotel is a great place to stay. 5 star luxury, and I would have no hesitation in staying again for a short, relaxing break. The staff are great, the view is great, the hotel is fantastic.

Thank you Excelsior Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 419, had a great view of the sea etc and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clodagh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent 4 night stays at the Excelsior on the occasion of your partner's birthday and your wedding anniversary.
We are honoured that you chose our property for these special occasions and we are pleased to read that you appreciated the bottle of Italian sparkling wine as welcome gift.
We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the superior room with balcony and the stunning Portofino Coast view, as we kindly upgraded you from the classic room booked on room only rate, we always try to satisfy all our Guests depending on the room availability the day on the arrival and the period, as now it's low season for our area.
Furthermore, we thank you about your comments regarding the Beach Club area, of course you had a free access as the official summer season is from June to September. If the days are sunny, during the month of October Guests can stay on a few deckchairs (if still available) also to suntan.
Finally, Rapallo town is in a very strategic position as you can reach easily Portofino, the Cinque Terre and also Genoa city.

Thanking you again for your kind review and hoping to welcoming you for your next anniversary, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Exclesior Palace for 3 nights. The view is beautiful and the breakfast is delicious. We also enjoyed using the beach club. Unfortunately, I did not feel like we got what we paid for. The property seemed a bit dated and simple things (like wi-fi) required an additional charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior at the end of August for a wedding celebration.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your 3 night stays appreciating the hotel location and its view on the Rapallo Bay as well as on the Portofino Coast, the Buffet Breakfast at the Lord Byron Restaurant and the Beach Club area.
Regarding your complaint about the price, we kindly inform you that you spend your holiday during our high season, your rate included the Buffet Breakfast, the access to the Health & Fitness area with sauna, Turkish bath, indoor pool with whirlpool, the sea view gymnasium and the access to the Beach Club with the infinity outdoor panoramic pool, two Jacuzzi, terraces to suntan and a floating pool at sea.
Regarding the wifi, as just explained in other occasion, is free of charge in the lobby area, so also at the Lord Byron Restaurant and at the Yachting Bar as well as from the exclusive room category. You booked a standard classic room, we were fully booked during the three last nights of August, we could not upgrade you in an upper room category.

Finally, we are surprised about your strict judgment which is due to the price paid, but we know that you could choose also a 4 star property in Rapallo proposed by the married couple.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing