We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only 5 star hotel in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Volgograd, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The only 5 star hotel in the area”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to everybody visiting this area. Very nice, clean, great service and location. Easy access to all other towns (Portofino by boat, Cinque Terre by train). Hotels restaurant even has the vegetarian menu.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvetlanaGordienko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of you stay at the Excelsior.
We are more than pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating the service as well as the property location. We are also delighted to hear that you loved our Lord Byron Restaurant, of course we have vegetarian Menu, but also special dishes for vegans and celiac people.

Thanking you again and hoping to welcoming you sooner again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    401
    101
    41
    20
See reviews for
211
785
31
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Everything you'd expect from a 5 star inc the prices for food and drink. However room was good value if a little small. We were surprised to be refused entry to outside pool when on room only rate - although a gentle complaint sorted that out. Short stroll into town, or you can rent the electric bikes! Good restaurant recommendations from front desk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we would like to remind you the conditions about the room only rate, well specificied by the hotel and online.
The room only rate does not include the Buffet Breakfast, the access to the Helth and Fitness Centre and to the Beach Club, for sure we did an exception only beacuse the summer season is officialy closed from the end of September.Now the Beach Club area is not equipped with sundecks and umbrellas everywhere on the terraces and near the pool and there's no lifeguards to control the Beach Club

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portodino Coast.

Aldo Werdin.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The situation of the hotel is very goods with an amazing view on the sea. Beach club is amazing. Sad that they don't have a protection for jellyfish. Rooms are very nice and well decorated. But the rest of the hotel is a bit tired and true that it doesn't have the elegance that it once had in the past as I imagine. As for the restaurant, it is very pricey and even if we loved the view we had someone singing into our hears for the whole dinner which made it unbearable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Palmiterro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Beach Club area, we kindly ask you what do you mean with protection for jellyfish as we have both products both the floating pool at sea with a special net against jellyfish.
Regarding the elegance of the hotel, recently we did lots of renovation works: in the lobby, changing all the sofas and chairs, we added also ancient pictures of the XVI-XVII and XVIII century, we also completely changed the last part of the lobby, the lunetta, with new chairs and sofas and parquet floor. We also refurnished our Junior Suite and Suite with ancient wood furniture in order to give a touch of luxury to the Excelsior.
Finally, regarding your note about the music at the Restaurant, we inform you that at the Eden Roc Lounge & Restaurant last summer we had live music or Dj several evenings, we are sorry that you did not enjoy them and for the future we suggest you to advise immediately the Restaurant Manager in order to change the table position far from the music.

Thanking you again for your attention, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excelsior agreed to a rate for a 2-night stay and then proceeded to charge us a rate that was 30% higher. While the view was superb, the A/C did not work and the highway in front was too noisy to sleep with the windows open. There are better options.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your comments regarding the rate applied by the hotel, please be so kind to note that the property received the reservations by the Global Distribution System at the rate we charged you on the invoice. Please be so kind to note that we are available to send you by email a copy of the online reservations with the price details received and honoured. Unfortunately we can not be aware about what happened between you and your travel agency.
We are so sorry about this negative review, we could solve this misunderstanding without coming to publish it, as the same day you publish it you also sent us an email asking for the invoice, never mentioning about the problem with the price. Furthermore, at the check-out we printed you the proforma invoice for a check before the settlement and you did not complaint about the price.

Regarding the AC in room, please note that it worked non-stop also during the night, only at the beginning of this week we decided to switch it on from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Do not hesitate to contact us also by email for further information, best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Excelsior Palace while in Rapallo. This is a first class hotel! Every one of the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room was immaculate with an awesome view of the Mediteranean,large bathroom with shower and tub, and a full in room bar. The hotel restaurant is as good as any in town, and the spa is wonderful. There is an infinity pool overlooking the Mediteranean that is as beautiful as it is quiet and relaxing. Recommend highly to anyone staying in Liguria

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breausky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating above allour Staff as well as the room with its view and the Lord Byron Restaurant.
We are also delighted to hear that you loved the Beach Club area with the infinity pool and the Spa for relaxing and pamper yourselves.

Thanking you again for your kind attention and hoping to welcoming you back again sooner, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was my second visit to Rapallo and the first for my wife - so I wanted it to be special for her. The Excelsior is a beautiful hotel with commanding views of Rapallo and the surrounding area. Our room had a beautiful view of the town and the harbor - we didn't want to leave the room because the views were spectacular. The room itself was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. It is an easy walk down to either Rapallo or Santa Margarita and my nice places to eat and drink there.

We had great service our entire visit. Our original plan was to stay only a couple of days then head to Venice. However, the hotel was so nice and the staff was so professional that we decided to stay there all five nights that we were in Italy. I had stayed at one of the comparable star rated hotel in Santa Margarita on my last visit and the staff and hotel of the Excelsior was so much nicer. Rapallo is also a great place to stay and drive to surrounding areas (Genoa, Pisa, Lucca, etc.).

I would definitely go back. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool club, but it was very nice.

Room Tip: The views from the front of hotel were spectacular. We stayed on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your 5 night stays appreciating above all your room with the spectacular sea view as well as the service and the property location.

Furthermore, as you rightly write, Rapallo is located in a strategic position, so very closed to Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino but also to Genoa, Pisa and Lucca.

Hoping to welcoming you back sooner at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for business after staying in Genoa the night prior. This is an amazing hotel with great staff who were very helpful. Food was very good and the scenery was great. Bedroom was fantastic with the most comfortable bed I've ever been in. View from the room was fantastic and loved every moment of this stay...

Room Tip: Room 530 was amazing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristofd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review witten on the occasion of your recent business stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated our property and particularly enjoying the view from the room as well as the food and the staff service.

Thanking you again for choosing the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing