We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel overlooking rapallo and towards portofino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grand hotel overlooking rapallo and towards portofino”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Everything you'd expect from a 5 star inc the prices for food and drink. However room was good value if a little small. We were surprised to be refused entry to outside pool when on room only rate - although a gentle complaint sorted that out. Short stroll into town, or you can rent the electric bikes! Good restaurant recommendations from front desk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we would like to remind you the conditions about the room only rate, well specificied by the hotel and online.
The room only rate does not include the Buffet Breakfast, the access to the Helth and Fitness Centre and to the Beach Club, for sure we did an exception only beacuse the summer season is officialy closed from the end of September.Now the Beach Club area is not equipped with sundecks and umbrellas everywhere on the terraces and near the pool and there's no lifeguards to control the Beach Club

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portodino Coast.

Aldo Werdin.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    409
    102
    42
    20
See reviews for
218
803
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The situation of the hotel is very goods with an amazing view on the sea. Beach club is amazing. Sad that they don't have a protection for jellyfish. Rooms are very nice and well decorated. But the rest of the hotel is a bit tired and true that it doesn't have the elegance that it once had in the past as I imagine. As for the restaurant, it is very pricey and even if we loved the view we had someone singing into our hears for the whole dinner which made it unbearable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Palmiterro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the Beach Club area, we kindly ask you what do you mean with protection for jellyfish as we have both products both the floating pool at sea with a special net against jellyfish.
Regarding the elegance of the hotel, recently we did lots of renovation works: in the lobby, changing all the sofas and chairs, we added also ancient pictures of the XVI-XVII and XVIII century, we also completely changed the last part of the lobby, the lunetta, with new chairs and sofas and parquet floor. We also refurnished our Junior Suite and Suite with ancient wood furniture in order to give a touch of luxury to the Excelsior.
Finally, regarding your note about the music at the Restaurant, we inform you that at the Eden Roc Lounge & Restaurant last summer we had live music or Dj several evenings, we are sorry that you did not enjoy them and for the future we suggest you to advise immediately the Restaurant Manager in order to change the table position far from the music.

Thanking you again for your attention, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excelsior agreed to a rate for a 2-night stay and then proceeded to charge us a rate that was 30% higher. While the view was superb, the A/C did not work and the highway in front was too noisy to sleep with the windows open. There are better options.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Further to your comments regarding the rate applied by the hotel, please be so kind to note that the property received the reservations by the Global Distribution System at the rate we charged you on the invoice. Please be so kind to note that we are available to send you by email a copy of the online reservations with the price details received and honoured. Unfortunately we can not be aware about what happened between you and your travel agency.
We are so sorry about this negative review, we could solve this misunderstanding without coming to publish it, as the same day you publish it you also sent us an email asking for the invoice, never mentioning about the problem with the price. Furthermore, at the check-out we printed you the proforma invoice for a check before the settlement and you did not complaint about the price.

Regarding the AC in room, please note that it worked non-stop also during the night, only at the beginning of this week we decided to switch it on from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Do not hesitate to contact us also by email for further information, best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Excelsior Palace while in Rapallo. This is a first class hotel! Every one of the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The room was immaculate with an awesome view of the Mediteranean,large bathroom with shower and tub, and a full in room bar. The hotel restaurant is as good as any in town, and the spa is wonderful. There is an infinity pool overlooking the Mediteranean that is as beautiful as it is quiet and relaxing. Recommend highly to anyone staying in Liguria

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breausky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating above allour Staff as well as the room with its view and the Lord Byron Restaurant.
We are also delighted to hear that you loved the Beach Club area with the infinity pool and the Spa for relaxing and pamper yourselves.

Thanking you again for your kind attention and hoping to welcoming you back again sooner, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was my second visit to Rapallo and the first for my wife - so I wanted it to be special for her. The Excelsior is a beautiful hotel with commanding views of Rapallo and the surrounding area. Our room had a beautiful view of the town and the harbor - we didn't want to leave the room because the views were spectacular. The room itself was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. It is an easy walk down to either Rapallo or Santa Margarita and my nice places to eat and drink there.

We had great service our entire visit. Our original plan was to stay only a couple of days then head to Venice. However, the hotel was so nice and the staff was so professional that we decided to stay there all five nights that we were in Italy. I had stayed at one of the comparable star rated hotel in Santa Margarita on my last visit and the staff and hotel of the Excelsior was so much nicer. Rapallo is also a great place to stay and drive to surrounding areas (Genoa, Pisa, Lucca, etc.).

I would definitely go back. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool club, but it was very nice.

Room Tip: The views from the front of hotel were spectacular. We stayed on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your 5 night stays appreciating above all your room with the spectacular sea view as well as the service and the property location.

Furthermore, as you rightly write, Rapallo is located in a strategic position, so very closed to Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino but also to Genoa, Pisa and Lucca.

Hoping to welcoming you back sooner at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for business after staying in Genoa the night prior. This is an amazing hotel with great staff who were very helpful. Food was very good and the scenery was great. Bedroom was fantastic with the most comfortable bed I've ever been in. View from the room was fantastic and loved every moment of this stay...

Room Tip: Room 530 was amazing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristofd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review witten on the occasion of your recent business stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated our property and particularly enjoying the view from the room as well as the food and the staff service.

Thanking you again for choosing the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Excelsior is absolutely gorgeous! They have an infinity pool that looks right over the water. This is by no means a 'cheap; hotel, so if budget is an issue, I would suggest not eating and drinking there. Going into town is considerably cheaper! Drinks are expensive as well as food. When we arrived (there were 4 of us) we ate at the restaurant hotel Eden Roc. Amazing views! We had 2 rounds of drinks (beer and wine) and split 2 pizzas and 2 salads and the bill was over $150 euros! The rooms was gorgeous and had great views over looking the water and marina and small balcony to sit out on. Pure Heaven! Wifi is iffy at best. We could only access it in the main lobby. Hotel is just a five minute walk to town. However! It is at the top of a hill and the town is at the bottom, about a five minute walk. However, if you have small kids, or have someone less steady on their feet, or walks with cane, this might not be the place for you. While you can get a taxi to the city easily, getting home after dinner is nearly impossible! We found out that the taxi's are no regulated in the city so basically after 8pm, there might only be 1 or 2 on and its nearly impossible to get them. I was shocked that the hotel did not have some sort of shuttle to the center of the town for their guests since this was a known issue and there are guests of literally all ages. Besides that the hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Angelo Cipollina even went out of his way to give us restaurant recommendations at our next stop in Como!

Room Tip: South side rooms are very sunny and it is definitely worth asking for a room that overlooks the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are more than delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the hotel as well as the sea view from the rooms.
We are also pleased to hear that you loved our Beach Club with the infinity pool as well as the Eden Roc Lounge & Restaurant for your lunch the first day of your stay.
Your bill was expensive due to the fact the, as you wrote, you ordered twice beer and wine, as the cost of a pizza and a salad is not so expensive.
Regarding the Wifi connection, as just replied to other Guests, from the beginning of the year we offer this service with no cost in the lobby as well as at the Lord Byron Restaurant and at the Yachting Bar, it's free of charge also from the exclusive room category. In standard rooms is payable at Euro 5.50 per day instead of Euro 22 per day, which was the old rate.
Finally, we carefully read your comments about taxi service and we thank you for your notes as unfortunately we are aware about this old problem we are fighting for. It's real that after the peak season, taxi, above all during the evening, are only a few. We hope that Rapallo will solve this problem sooner in order to give a better service to its tourists.
Thanking you again for your attention and preference in choosing our property, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
609 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing