We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely hotel with staff to match.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior Palace Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel with staff to match.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have just got back today after a weeks stay from 7th Sept, I booked through Citalia, Our room was 118 not huge but everything you want with a fantastic view, nice size private balcony, I have stayed in 17 different Italian hotels ( yes I love Italy and the Italians ) :-) this was the best in that the hotel for 5 stars which it was worthy off, the breakfast was the best I have ever had in Italy, I really looked forward to breakfast lots of English cereals, an abundance of fresh fruit, along with fresh fruit salad, simply the best yogurts, I did not eat bacon, sausage, egg, plenty did, lots of cappuccino and toast nice marmalade all lovely, the staff from reception, cleaners, bell boys,waiters were happy, polite, really helpful and were so obliging, every night a complimentary bottle of water left after they turn your bed down, along with a weather report for the next day, I thought that was really nice, also at the Hotel they had bicycles to use I am not sure what the rate was also about 6 scooters, I think a lot of thought has gone into making your stay as nice as possible, now the pool is over the other side of the road, but this is not a problem as they have an enclosed bridge to take you there, and it is a very nice area, the indoor pool was 28 degrees so just nice that's the pool I used, I saw three life guards so its very safe for children too, and you get clean pool towels daily, also in your room all our bedding and towels were changed daily, I love getting into clean sheets but everyday Mmm nice, There is a steepish drive up to the hotel, so if you don't want to walk you can get a Taxi from the town for 13 Euros, but once you have done it twice it is easy believe me, We got the first Taxi from airport which was 100 euros, but on the way back we booked Gino for 90 euros he drove a VW Sharan white he was great could not speak much English but he made us laugh on way to airport talking to us in Italian all the way. I think I have covered most things, I did not eat in the evening so can't help you there, but what I will say to anyone who says its expensive, you are staying at a 5 star Hotel it will not be cheap.We went to Portofino 3 times those super yachts are fantastic anyway a return trip on the ferry tickets bought together 22 euros or 30 if you buy either way, to go by bus if you buy tickets in advance its 3 euros you get a blue bus from Rapallo change at Santa Margarita then the orange bus takes you to Portofino either trip takes about 35 mins, I hope you have found this information helpful.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must not all have balcony,s so ask for a balcony too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your week stays at the Excelsior at the beginning of September.
We are so pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your holiday appreciating your room with sea view as well as the Buffet Breakfast with great choice of different products, home made too.
We also thank you for your compliments to all our Staff mentioned from the different areas, we are also pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the Beach Club near the infinity panoramic pool.
Finally, let us also thank you for your precious suggestions and notes about our scooters and bicycles service rental as well as the transfers details from/to airport and from/to Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino.

Hoping to welcoming you back again sooner at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    379
    99
    40
    20
See reviews for
197
737
29
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Excelsior Hotel in Rapallo on August 2013.
If you like classic style hotels with charms, and enjoy a private beach meditarranean style, this Hotel is a must. It is a 5 star well kept facility with good service and family oriented.
It can also be a romantic place, however we found few people enjoyed the late evenings with live music at the bar near the beach. Rapallo´s view is not as Portofino but is an option if you like the wonderful riviera scenery. The beach is not sandy and it has a sea ladder attached to the rocky
entrance, but water is clear and safe, except for samll medusas if you are bitten by an unluccky fortune. The hotel is walking distance to downtown and price is mid - high, but acceptable for one of the most luxurious resorts in the Liguria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petermongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the classic style of the hotel as well as our Beach Club with pools and Jacuzzi on the terrace.
We are pleased also to hear that you fully enjoyed the atmosphere of the new Eden Roc Lounge & Restaurant late in the evening with live music.

We thank you again for your attention and we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Let me just start off by saying that we enjoyed our stay.
The positives; The location was fabulous. Views spectacular. Gluten free options on the menu. Breakfast was lovely and varied. There were English TV channels.
However, the hotel restaurant prices were excessive in extreme. Cheaper and better quality in Cannes. The hotel clearly lives of the Portofino name and like Portofino, they have unreasonable food prices. The menu was somewhat unsuccessfully pretentious.
A few other niggles too.
No free WiFi in the hotel room. WiFi reception in the lobby was terrible.
Not worth the final bill.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SeductiveNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review also written about our property, as you just wrote about our Eden Roc Restaurant.
We are pleased to read that you appreciated the location as well as the view from the hotel and the Buffet Breaskfast at the Lord Byron Restaurant.

Furthermore, we noted that you spoke again about our Eden Roc Lounge & Restaurant. We can grant you that our Restaurant is not more expensive than Cannes Restaurants, obviously meaning Restaurants on the same level. Personally, before studying prices for the season, I compared them with some of the most important and expensive Hotel Restaurants in Cannes. The Eden Roc is an high quality Restaurant situated in an unique and private location, pieds dans l'eau and with live music on the evening.

Finally, regarding the WIFI connection, we inform you that it's free of charge in room starting from the exclusive one, Guests who book classic, superior or deluxe room pay 5.5 euro per day (we cut off the price from 22 euro) with 7 MBP speed connection.
We are aware that the WIFI connection is recently the amenity more requested from Guests and from a survey only the 80% of the hotel offer, sometimes also payable, less than 6 MBP speed connection.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in this fantastic hotel for 8 days. The view from our room was breathtaking. The room is well equiped, the staff is friendly and helpful. The food is excellent.
The hotel is about 10 minuteswalk from Rapallo, but be careful, it is on the top of a low hill.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with view to the see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davys66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your long stay at the Excelsior last July.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guest appreciating above all the view from your room as well as our Restaurants and the staff.

We thank you again for your preference in choosing our property hoping to welcoming you back again sooner.

Best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We only were able to stay for one night during our honeymoon tour of Europe, but as a stop over goes this was a lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly, and the hotel overall was very classy and luxurious in feel and style. The room we had was of a good size, and the champagne provided to us as a honeymoon gift was most welcome. The view out to the bay was delightful especially at sunrise. Cleanliness and room presentation was very good.

We dined in the restaurant for dinner, and the food was to a good standard if a little pricey. As it was low season when we stayed, the main restaurant was closed and all diners were asked to eat in a section of the bar area, however this was done well and it didn't feel like we were shoved in a back corner. Service in the restaurant was also good.

Notable was that this is one of the few hotels we stayed at in Europe which had a cost for WiFi (which was quite a bit) however other than this, we enjoyed our time at Excelsior.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let us thank you for your review written on the occasion of your short stay with us during your honeymoon around Europe.
We thank you for your comments about our Staff as well as the room assigned and the gift found at your arrival.
Furthermore, we wish to thank you for your comments about your dinner at the Yachting Bar Veranda, as sometimes during the low season we decide to close the Lord Byron Restaurant when we have only a few rooms occupied.
Finally, we wish to inform you that from the beginning of this year we completely changed our wifi policy as now the wifi connection is free of charge in the common area like looby, main restaurant and main bar and for Guests who book an exclusive room or Junior Suite or Suites.
For Guests who book a classic, superior or deluxe room the cost was cut down to € 5.5 per day.

We thank you again for your comments and we send you our warmest regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a lovely week at this hotel. It is well situated as it is just a five minute walk from Rapallo. Service is excellent and the hotel is clean and well run. We were able to get information readily which meant we were able to get out and about easily. Marina was excellent and went out of her was to make sure we were well informed. My only criticism is that the food and drink are very over priced. This means that there aren't many people in the bar in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be small and most have a balcony. Some balconies are very small especially on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane268_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your week of holiday at the Excelsior last July.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay appreciating above all the position of the hotel as well as our service

Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs

Thanking you again for your preference and hoping to welcoming back at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Absolutely the best choice of location and accommodation! Perfect service (special thanks to Antonio and Marina for preparing my wife's b-day surprise cake, flowers and breakfast with prosecco!)! Beach club, fitness, breakfast, lobby bar, Eden Roc lunch, parking - all went perfectly alright! Many thanks again for great attention! Strongly recommended for couples and families! Mille grazie! For joggers: try marina port and slopes to Santa Margherita ;) For eaters: Luca and Rapallo Vecchio :) enjoy...

Room Tip: Sea view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ildarushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice review written on the occasion of your recent holiday at the Excelsior with your family.
We are very pleased to read your satisfaction about the surprises prepared for your wife's birthday, enjoying your stay and appreciating our Beach Club as well as the Health & Fitness Centre.
We also thank you for your comments about the Lord Byron Restaurant for the Buffet Breakfast, the Yachting Bar in the lobby and the Eden Roc & Lounge Restaurant for your lunch.

Finally, we thank you also for your precious suggestions to joggers and eat lovers.

Thanking you again for your attention and hoping to welcoming you sooner again at the Excelsior, we send you our warmest regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing