We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian hospitality at it's best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Italian hospitality at it's best.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a great three nights here. Fantastic location with great views of the Rapallo marina and stunning mountainous background. The service and friendliness from the staff is second to none. In my opinion, the Italians are hard to beat when it comes to service and hospitality and they certainly excel themselves at the Excelsior. Small rooms, nice pools and spa. My only complaints are that the temperature is too high throughout the hotel and cannot be adjusted in your room and the €22 per day charge for Wi-Fi is slightly excessive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your 3 night stays at the Excelsior last month of April.
We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your holiday appreciating the location from where you can have a fantastic sea view on the Portofino Coast and also on the Rapallo Bay.
We thank you also for your compliments regarding the service of our Staff as well as about our Beach Club, the Health & Fitness Center and the Spa.
Furthermore, we would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.
Finally, regarding your remarks about the cost of the WI-FI, we inform you that starting from the beginning of the year the WI-FI connection is free of charge in the lobby area and for Guests who book a room from exclusive category. For stays in classic, superior and deluxe rooms the WI/FI cost is now euro 5.50 per day instead of euro 22 per day.

Thanking you again for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    401
    101
    41
    20
See reviews for
211
785
31
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a surprise. We stayed there because Portofino was too expensive, and we ended up in this 5 star hotel, great price, super clean, super nice staff and an increadible view of Rapallo.

Rapallo is a small but really nice town, with a 10 min walk from the hotel you can get on a boat to sta Margherita and Portofino, i beleive it was 12 euros a two way ticket. You can also rent scooters on the hotel. Do not miss the view from the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FKR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay at the hotel appreciating above all the view from the rooms and the ocean view from our outdoor infinity pool at the Beach Club.

We are also pleased that you loved the Rapallo city center which is really very closed to the hotel and not at all far from Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino reachable by bus/taxi, by train or by ferry boat, this last choice is recommended.

Thanking you again for your preference and looking forward to welcoming you at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a few days break in Rapallo. We found the Excelsior Palace very good - we had a superior room on the 5th floor which afforded spectacular views straight out to sea with the marina to the left. Just wonderful. We ate dinner twice in The Lord Byron restaurant, together with breakfast each morning, and everything we had was very nice. We especially found the bar staff really friendly, although generally nothing seemed too much trouble for all the staff there. Thanks to all for making our stay so memorable, and we would hope to return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayneyb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank your for your comments written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are very pleased to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guest appreciating above all your superior room with the beautiful view on the marina and on Rapallo town as well as our Staff courtesy.
Furthermore, we are very delighted that you had a lovely experience dining at our Lord Byron Restaurant during two evenings and for this reason we kindly ask you to write your impressions on the page expressly dedicated to the Lord Byron Restaurant in this website.

We thank you again for your comments and we really hope to welcoming you again at the Excelsior.

With kindest regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

What a great spot, overlooking the italian riviera from the infinity pool was awesome. Beautiful setting and gardens, nice beach, and close to the centre of town Rapallo. Beautiful town!!! The only downside was the outdated rooms, slightly disapointing when you consider the cost per night and all the other great things about this hotel. Heaps of potential!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior last August.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay appreciating above all the property location and the Beach Club with the infinity outdoor pool.
We wish to inform you that, regarding our acconodations, in this last year we had lots of works to our rooms painting them and adding new refurrnishment, ancient woods, mirrors and ancient pictures.
We did lots of works also in the lobby, we completely renoveted the lunetta area in the hall, we have new sofas and armchairs.

We hope to have the honour of welcoming you again in the future in order to feel the new atmosphere of the Excelsior Palace.

Best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We selected the Excelsior Place and Rapallo as it seemed to be centrally located for our sightseeing in the Liguria area (Cinque Terre, Portifino, etc.). Turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is on a perfect piece of land right on the bay and is beautifully landscaped. Service is prompt and friendly. But, the real stunner was the view from our fifth floor room. Just incredible.
The room itself was very well appointed and the bed was comfortable but was, in reality two mattresses pushed together. So, if you like to cuddle in the middle of the bed, one of you is going to fall into the crack ;)
Breakfast is a cut above the normal free breakfast fare in other European hotels and is served in a beautiful room with a fine view.
The other surprise is how nice Rapallo was. The promenade is very walkable from the hotel. There is also good parking. Restaurant choices are plentiful enough and there is a great wine and cheese store just a few steps off the street.

Room Tip: spend the money on the water view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the location of the property, very closed to the main attractions as Portofino and the fabulous Cinque Terre.
Regarding the property, we thank you for your compliments about the view from the hotel as well as concerning the room booked and the service received by our Staff.
Finally, we thank you for your congratulations regarding Rapallo, we are pleased that you like the town with its promenade on the sea and its centre with Restaurants and wine shops.

Thanking you again for your choice and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We moved to this hotel at the last minute (after finding our original hotel so bad that we left after one night) and this one was just gorgeous. Our room was luxurious. Spacious, beautifully decorated, very well appointed with all the usual things (telephones, fridge, safe, writing desk etc) and with some nice extras like the umbrella in the wardrobe, an inflatable bath pillow and loofah mitt, and a strong paper carrier bag for your own shopping needs. Two robes and slippers were provided. Bed extremely comfortable, plenty of chairs and writing surfaces. Quiet and peaceful.

Staff were almost all extremely attentive, polite, and immensely helpful. The one exception was when I arrived for breakfast by myself and it took ages for someone to take my drinks order - I had to practically stand up and wave to get noticed - but it may be their policy to wait until both people are seated. I don't know.

The hotel and grounds are extraordinarily beautiful and in pristine condition. The pool is a marvel, overlooking the open sea, with an invisible rim so you almost feel you could swim to the horizon. Rapallo itself has a very pretty seafront with picture postcard views from the front of the hotel.

Breakfast was extremely good. Great selection of breads, meats, cheeses and fruit. Yoghurt, cereals, croissants, cakes, jams/honey, fruit juice and hot food were also provided in the buffet.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite right at the front of the hotel. I have to say, that gorgeous view makes it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guest appreciating above all the property common areas as well as the rooms and their position.
Regarding your remarks about the service at the Buffet Breakfast, we reconfirm you that, as per our policy, we wait until all the people are setaed at the same table and we are sorry if you had to wait, but we are delighted that you appreciated the selection and the quality of the Buffet Breakfast.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location, a very pleasant walk through a small park and across a pretty bridge brings you to the promenade at Rapallo. The hotel is beautifully furnished and our room was a good size, as was the bathroom, and the balcony was big enough to sit and take in the beautiful views. The staff are excellent, from reception to restaurant, always a smile and friendly chat. There were a few niggles that prevented 5 stars here though. Breakfast although perfectly adequate and tasty did not vary the whole week we were there. I think when staying at a 5 star hotel - and for the price paid - that you should not have to pay extra for an omlette or porridge, I have never come across this before in a 5 star hotel. We ate once in the evening at the hotel and it was fabulous but at 150 euros it should be. The restaurant itself is beautiful with far reaching views. The bar prices are very high, a gin and tonic was 16 euros and the bar was empty each night, at those prices I am not surprised. Afternoon tea at 9 euros though was lovely with warm scones, clotted cream and jam and a pot of tea, beautifully served. The final niggle was the turn down service, why leave one small bottle of water when the room was occupied by two people, just seemed a bit penny pinching. Eating in Rapallo was expensive in most restaurants but the area is just lovely and I suspect you are paying a premium for that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugsysnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,



We are pleased you found the hotel lovely and the location great. Moreover, we are delighted to hear that our Staff are excellent.

Concerning your remark about the lack of variety of our Breakfast, we would like to specify that on a very limited number of days in low season our Buffet Breakfast was arranged at the Yachting Bar instead of the Lord Byron Restaurant. While all the usual items were offered, there was less space available to display them. However, as per a very recent review by a Guest from your own Country, our Buffet Breakfast is really very rich offering a wide selection of breads, croissants, cakes, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, jams, meats, cheeses and hot food together with a great choice of drinks. So, we would like to know what else you would have expected since that will help us to improve our service.

Finally, in regard to the bar prices we inform you that they have been unchanged for at least three years and are in line with other 5 star hotels around the world.

We thank you for choosing us and send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing