We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just returned from a few days break in Rapallo. We found the Excelsior Palace very good - we had a superior room on the 5th floor which afforded spectacular views straight out to sea with the marina to the left. Just wonderful. We ate dinner twice in The Lord Byron restaurant, together with breakfast each morning, and everything we had was very nice. We especially found the bar staff really friendly, although generally nothing seemed too much trouble for all the staff there. Thanks to all for making our stay so memorable, and we would hope to return.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jayneyb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank your for your comments written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are very pleased to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guest appreciating above all your superior room with the beautiful view on the marina and on Rapallo town as well as our Staff courtesy.
Furthermore, we are very delighted that you had a lovely experience dining at our Lord Byron Restaurant during two evenings and for this reason we kindly ask you to write your impressions on the page expressly dedicated to the Lord Byron Restaurant in this website.

We thank you again for your comments and we really hope to welcoming you again at the Excelsior.

With kindest regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

What a great spot, overlooking the italian riviera from the infinity pool was awesome. Beautiful setting and gardens, nice beach, and close to the centre of town Rapallo. Beautiful town!!! The only downside was the outdated rooms, slightly disapointing when you consider the cost per night and all the other great things about this hotel. Heaps of potential!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior last August.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay appreciating above all the property location and the Beach Club with the infinity outdoor pool.
We wish to inform you that, regarding our acconodations, in this last year we had lots of works to our rooms painting them and adding new refurrnishment, ancient woods, mirrors and ancient pictures.
We did lots of works also in the lobby, we completely renoveted the lunetta area in the hall, we have new sofas and armchairs.

We hope to have the honour of welcoming you again in the future in order to feel the new atmosphere of the Excelsior Palace.

Best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We selected the Excelsior Place and Rapallo as it seemed to be centrally located for our sightseeing in the Liguria area (Cinque Terre, Portifino, etc.). Turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is on a perfect piece of land right on the bay and is beautifully landscaped. Service is prompt and friendly. But, the real stunner was the view from our fifth floor room. Just incredible.
The room itself was very well appointed and the bed was comfortable but was, in reality two mattresses pushed together. So, if you like to cuddle in the middle of the bed, one of you is going to fall into the crack ;)
Breakfast is a cut above the normal free breakfast fare in other European hotels and is served in a beautiful room with a fine view.
The other surprise is how nice Rapallo was. The promenade is very walkable from the hotel. There is also good parking. Restaurant choices are plentiful enough and there is a great wine and cheese store just a few steps off the street.

Room Tip: spend the money on the water view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated the location of the property, very closed to the main attractions as Portofino and the fabulous Cinque Terre.
Regarding the property, we thank you for your compliments about the view from the hotel as well as concerning the room booked and the service received by our Staff.
Finally, we thank you for your congratulations regarding Rapallo, we are pleased that you like the town with its promenade on the sea and its centre with Restaurants and wine shops.

Thanking you again for your choice and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We moved to this hotel at the last minute (after finding our original hotel so bad that we left after one night) and this one was just gorgeous. Our room was luxurious. Spacious, beautifully decorated, very well appointed with all the usual things (telephones, fridge, safe, writing desk etc) and with some nice extras like the umbrella in the wardrobe, an inflatable bath pillow and loofah mitt, and a strong paper carrier bag for your own shopping needs. Two robes and slippers were provided. Bed extremely comfortable, plenty of chairs and writing surfaces. Quiet and peaceful.

Staff were almost all extremely attentive, polite, and immensely helpful. The one exception was when I arrived for breakfast by myself and it took ages for someone to take my drinks order - I had to practically stand up and wave to get noticed - but it may be their policy to wait until both people are seated. I don't know.

The hotel and grounds are extraordinarily beautiful and in pristine condition. The pool is a marvel, overlooking the open sea, with an invisible rim so you almost feel you could swim to the horizon. Rapallo itself has a very pretty seafront with picture postcard views from the front of the hotel.

Breakfast was extremely good. Great selection of breads, meats, cheeses and fruit. Yoghurt, cereals, croissants, cakes, jams/honey, fruit juice and hot food were also provided in the buffet.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite right at the front of the hotel. I have to say, that gorgeous view makes it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed the experience of being our Guest appreciating above all the property common areas as well as the rooms and their position.
Regarding your remarks about the service at the Buffet Breakfast, we reconfirm you that, as per our policy, we wait until all the people are setaed at the same table and we are sorry if you had to wait, but we are delighted that you appreciated the selection and the quality of the Buffet Breakfast.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location, a very pleasant walk through a small park and across a pretty bridge brings you to the promenade at Rapallo. The hotel is beautifully furnished and our room was a good size, as was the bathroom, and the balcony was big enough to sit and take in the beautiful views. The staff are excellent, from reception to restaurant, always a smile and friendly chat. There were a few niggles that prevented 5 stars here though. Breakfast although perfectly adequate and tasty did not vary the whole week we were there. I think when staying at a 5 star hotel - and for the price paid - that you should not have to pay extra for an omlette or porridge, I have never come across this before in a 5 star hotel. We ate once in the evening at the hotel and it was fabulous but at 150 euros it should be. The restaurant itself is beautiful with far reaching views. The bar prices are very high, a gin and tonic was 16 euros and the bar was empty each night, at those prices I am not surprised. Afternoon tea at 9 euros though was lovely with warm scones, clotted cream and jam and a pot of tea, beautifully served. The final niggle was the turn down service, why leave one small bottle of water when the room was occupied by two people, just seemed a bit penny pinching. Eating in Rapallo was expensive in most restaurants but the area is just lovely and I suspect you are paying a premium for that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugsysnanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Guest,



We are pleased you found the hotel lovely and the location great. Moreover, we are delighted to hear that our Staff are excellent.

Concerning your remark about the lack of variety of our Breakfast, we would like to specify that on a very limited number of days in low season our Buffet Breakfast was arranged at the Yachting Bar instead of the Lord Byron Restaurant. While all the usual items were offered, there was less space available to display them. However, as per a very recent review by a Guest from your own Country, our Buffet Breakfast is really very rich offering a wide selection of breads, croissants, cakes, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, jams, meats, cheeses and hot food together with a great choice of drinks. So, we would like to know what else you would have expected since that will help us to improve our service.

Finally, in regard to the bar prices we inform you that they have been unchanged for at least three years and are in line with other 5 star hotels around the world.

We thank you for choosing us and send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the Easter holidays. The staff were very attentive and helped anyway possible.

The public areas, bars and restaurants offered much variety and great ambience. Being slightly up a hill, the hotel offers wonderful seclusion, yet is easy to walk into town and takes mere minutes. The views are breathtaking.

The room was a great size overlooking the ocean. The only downside was the fitness centre. There were minimal machines and no free weights, which was a real shame.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear thay you spent great Easter holydays with us. We are happy that first of all you so positively evaluated our Staff and service and that you appreciated the hotel's position and views.

We have also taken note of your remark about the lack of weights at our Fitness Centre, which is available free of charge and, apart from the gym, offers sauna, steam bath, an indoor heated pool with whirpool as well.

We thank you for definitely recommending our property and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With bes wishes,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It is very expensive but we had the chance to stay there since it was off season and there was enough free rooms.
Breakfast is excellent! Like real 5 starts hotel.
Service is amazing except one man which we didn’t like at all.
Rooms are very nice and the location is 5 min by walk and if you have a car you can drive 10 min to Santa Margarita and Portofino.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayelet5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our property and particularly appreciating our Buffet Breakfast as well as the service and the room.
We thank you also for your comments regarding the position of the hotel, very closed to the town center ad to Santa Margherita and Portofino.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#8 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#7 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: $119 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing