We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Europa(Rapallo)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Astoria(Rapallo)
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Canali(Rapallo)
$201
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stella(Rapallo)
$171
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
L'Approdo(Rapallo)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cavour(Rapallo)
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,616)
Filter reviews
1,616 results
Traveler rating
977
459
116
43
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
977
459
116
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubinfinity poolbyron restaurantstar hotelbeautiful hotellord byroneden rocksea viewcinque terreold world charmitalian rivieraligurian seaour honeymoonspectacular viewssanta margaritabuffet breakfastsuperb location
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 1,616 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not a 5* at all, maybe 4. Room quality terrible, linen (.......) bathrom clean. Food quality average. Building old style and needs restiling. SPA terrible. It s kind of flashback reality in the 80s.... No beach, just solarium area....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefy031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Further to your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior Palace Hotel, we are awfully sorry to read that you don’t consider the Excelsior a 5 star lucury hotel.
We inform you that we obtained this classification reflecting the high standard of quality required for a 5 star luxury hotel regarding the service, the position, the quality of rooms as well as quality and choice of Restaurants and Bars in addition to the Health & Fitness Club and the Beach Club.
We also inform you that during this last year we are continuously doing works of renovation to make our property more and more luxurious. Last year we renovated our Lunetta, situated at the end of the lobby area, we enriched our lobby with ancient pictures and new sofas.
We also furnished all our Junior Suite and Suite with ancient furniture and we created the last floor of the hotel, the seventh floor, as an ALL FLOOR SUITE with a Presidential Suite with 2 bathrooms which can be converted in a Penthouse Suite with 3 bedrooms and a new Relax Suite with private Sauna and Jacuzzi on the terrace.
Finally, also the Beach Club will be involved with renovation works, the Eden Roc Restaurant with its beautiful terrace on the sea will be open this summer from noon to midnight for lunch, aperitifs, dinner and after dinner with live music.

Furthermore, the hotel will refurbish the jetty at the Beach Club in order to propose both to our Guests excursions by boat to Portofino, S. Fruttuoso, the Cinque Terre and to our Clients with private boat to dock directly our hotel and to use our services such as the Restaurants, the Beach Club and the Spa. Secondly, a brand new floating pool (25 sqm) will be available.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is well situated right before Portofino, great view, excellent service, with very short drive to Portofino through pictures sites, villages, cafe's and bars. The staff was extremely kind and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K0bi_H_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind review written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior last year.
We are delighted to read that you keep a good memory of your holiday appreciating the great view on the Portofino Coast from the hotel as well as our service and the staff.

We hope we will have the honour of welcoming you again this year at the Excelsior and we take the occasion to send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful weekend at this gorgeous hotel. The service was immaculate from the time we checked in through to when we left. I could not fault one member of staff - everyone went out of their way to be helpful and attentive. The girl who checked us in, was one of the most helpful people I have ever encountered at a hotel check in.

The view from our room was spectacular even though the weather was not brilliant. The advantage to travelling in winter was that we had Rapallo, Santa Margerita and the stunning Portofino all to ourselves.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a base to explore this wonderful area. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noscreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time you dedicated in writing your review about the Excelsior Palace.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your weekend at the Excelsior appreciating above all the service, the check-in procedures as well as the stunning view from your room.

As you wrote, even if the weather conditions were not so brilliant, you had the advantage to discover Rapallo, Santa Margherita and Portofino in peace and quite.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner also during next spring or summer in order to take advantage of our Beach Club open from June to September with outdoor infinity pool and terraces to suntan, but also tasting our Sporting Bar and summer Eden Roc Restaurant.

Thanking you again for your attention and preference, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been at Excelsior several times. The last was when we got married in July 2012. We booked a Junior Suite for two nights. Service has been impeccable, the Junior Suite was a dream....with a wonderful, large bow window on the Tigullio Gulf. The staff has been very supportive and kind during the tense days before the wedding. The breakfast on the outside terrace has been wonderful: good quality food, staff smiling, quick service, sun. Beautiful.

A plus is the access to a private rocky beach.

In my little experience, this is the best luxury hotel you can get on the cost in general and mostly for its value-for-money, in an area of Italy where many structures are old, expensive without offering the promised quality, and small.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with view of the Gulf: big, fantastic value
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your last stay at the Excelsior last July during your wedding celebration.
We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your stay in Junior Suite with the bow window overlooking the Portofino Coast appreciating also our service, the Staff as well as the quality of our cuisine and our Beach Club area.

We thank you again for your precious comments and, looking forward to welcoming you sooner at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The staff was very friendly and efficient. We were a family of three adults, and the extra bed was comfortable – something that is often hard to obtain even in good hotels. We had a memorable dinner at the hotel's seaside restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiFranco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive review written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior last August.
We are delighted to read that you appreciated above all the accomodation and the dinner at our seaside summer Eden Roc Restaurant with sea view on the Portofino Coast.

Thanking you again for your attention and hoping to welcoming you again, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews