We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Comfortable rooms (not the largest but everything you need) with Sky TV, lovely lobby areas and good bar and restaurant. The hotel has a wonderful large terrace with views toward Portofino. Extremely good value for a 5 star in this area, would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are glad to read that you fully enjoyed your holiday appreciating above all your room, the lobby, our Yachting Bar and Lord Byron Restaurant as well as the lobby terrace from where you have a full view on the Portofino Coast and on the Rapallo Bay.

We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you sooner back again and all the Excelsior Staff assure you of their personal assistance at all times.

Warmest regards from the Portofino Coast,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,462)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

A lovely hotel with Italian flair and decor. Fantastic breakfast in a perfect setting. Not inexpensive, but no surprizes. The infinity pool overlooking the Med is stunning. Lovely, Italian and 1st class

Room Tip: The rooms with the view are worth the extra.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DP R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind comments written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior.

We are glad to read that you appreciated our property and particularly our Buffet Breakfast and the infinity pool at the Beach Club.

Thanking you for your kind attention, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived and were told we had been upgraded after booking a superior king room. We got to the room and it seemed like an average sized hotel room to me, certainly nothing deluxe about it. I tried inquiring about the upgrade but was told it was an upgrade? Rooms are small but ok. We had a room with a balcony, the views are fantastic which was somewhat dampered by the fact that it's above the street so you can hear trucks/scooters going by all day/night. The real problems started the first night when we could not get the room cool. The temperature never went down. They even sent a technician up and was told it takes 20min to 1hour to cool down. The temperature never read below 24C even at high intensity. All night we were hot and this was in October! Would hate to be here in the summer. We even asked for a fan which they didn't have. The other issues were all customer service related. We inquired about a boat in/around Cinque Terre and scuba diving in the Portofino Marine Park. They told us there were no ferries after September in Cinque Terre so you can imagine our surprise when we saw several 'Cinque Terre' ferries in all the towns when were hiking through them. They also told us that there was no scuba diving and that it was closed for the season. Luckily I sent an e-mail to Portofino divers anyway and was told diving would be great the next day and that they were open. If I was to do the trip again I'd rather pay more and have better service. It's not like this was a cheap hotel either but after coming from the St. Regis in Florence the service here paled in comparison.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wests2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Further to your comments written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior between the end of September and the beginning of October, please find here below our considerations.
At your arrival, we were more than delighted to upgrade you from a superior room you booked assigning you a deluxe room with balcony and sea view on the Portofino Coast. We appreciate you enjoyed the view from the room and its balcony, otherwise regarding its position, we inform you that our rooms have two views: on the Rapallo harbour and on the Portofino Coast. Rooms with the Portofino Coast view face the street to Santa Margherita Ligure and Portofino, it’s the main and only existing street, but being not high season, the traffic should have been not so heavy and mainly concentrated in certain hours of the day. Please also note that the third floor you stayed can be considered as a fifth floor as the lobby is situated roughly two floors above the main road.
Furthermore, we are awfully sorry regarding the problem with the air conditioning, after changing the temperature level and telling you we had not a fan, the Reception Desk Staff received no other calls from you and that’s why they understood that the temperature went finally down after 20/30 minutes. Furthermore, as you spent 2 nights at the Excelsior, you did not complain about this problem for the second night, so we may understand that the problem was definitely solved.
We are surprised also to note that you wrote your review on October 1st when you were still spending your holidays at the Excelsior and you left the hotel the days after 2nd October, normally Guests write a review after leaving their holiday location. We also noted that you did not fill the guest comments questionnaire which we put in every Guest room chosing to write immediately your remarks on TripAdvisor during the first day of your stay.
Regarding the excursion to the Cinque Terre, we reconfirm you that starting from the 1st of October there are no ferries which go to the Cinque Terre from Rapallo, for sure you saw some ferries which went from one of the five villages to another, but, as our Receptionist told you, they were running locally in the Cinque Terre area.
Finally, we are sorry if we did not welcome your request of diving, but scuba diving in the Portofino area normally closes at the end of September and unfortunately we were not informed that the local scuba diving centre was still open and we are glad that exceptionally you had your scuba diving the day after your call.

We also take note about your personal opinion regarding our property compared to the five star St Regis Hotel in Florence, we think that the two products can not be compared, as the St. Regis is located in an art city and the Excelsior is a leisure property with its strength points.
In Tripadvisor we are the third hotel in Rapallo in a list of 27, we received positive reviews during all the season, unfortunately now your review change our score…

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here 9/14-9/18/12 booked through the travel agent of the couple we were traveling with. I checked out the reviews prior to coming and was a little concerned from some of the negative reviews but I must say that of the 3 hotels in Italy we stayed(Milan and Lake Como) this by far was the best. It is beautifully decorated and well maintained.

Yes the wi- fi sucks as it works one minute and the next it doesn't. The prices are crazy expensive but I am glad to read that they will no longer be a fee for them in 2013. This was frustrating but unless its a complete must for your stay I think you will find this hotel very nice. Its the nicest hotel in the area that we could see and very centrally located. We did the ferrry to Portofino which we recommend. Its a 10 minute walk to town and and the train station. Great exercise walking up the hill back to the hotel! :)

The breakfast- now I don't know what most people expect for a continental breakfast but this one is better than most we get in the States. It has eggs, Prosecco, juices, pastries, meats, cheeses and several bread selections. There also was fruit, yogurt, cereals,etc. Yes, some things taste differently but I think that comes with traveling in other countries.

The staff was wonderful- the Beach Club Bar people were very warm and freindly and made attempts to give suggestions for things in town to do or eat at. The pool was too cold to swim in- it doesnt appear to be heated, if it were heated I would have used it. It was actually warmer in the sea than the pool, but its lovely and looks right into the sea.

The one area that needs serious attention is the Spa. I had a 50 minute massage that was lovely, but having had several spa experiences they need to do something about the treatment rooms. They are small, not pleasing to the eyes at all. If you want a good message you will get that, but if you are looking for that overall beautiful spa experience this is not it. The prices are reasonable, but I would suggest the staff to go online and look at the spa's in Vegas to see pictures of what a real spa looks like. Check out the Bellagio, Wynn or any other major hotel and you will get ideas. This is the only area of the hotel that needs improvement on its appearance.

We also drank in the bar and had a great experience. Again the staff was wonderful, and the little nibbles they would bring with our drinks were a nice touch and very much appreciated.

The rooms were lovely and had a nice view of the water. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone- just know that the spa is needing attention and the wi-fi an issue( that is being resolved in 2013)

While you are here make sure you go to "Rocco's K2" for dinner - He is very charming and makes you feel like family. We miss him already. We went to dinner twice there in our 4 day visist because he was so great.

We also did a day trip to Comogli and found it to be like Portofino but not touristy. Just a 10 minute train ride.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleSunSeeker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for deciding to book your holidays not considering the personal negative remarks of some Clients.

We are delighted to read your detailed comments and that you appreciated above all the property, the Buffet Breakfast well assorted as well as the Staff of the property.

We also thank you for your comments regarding your Aperitif in our Bar and about the room view sea view.

Furthermore, as your rightly wrote as read in another review, we reconfirm you that from 2013 the wifi service will be free of charge.

Thanking you again for your kind attention, we send you our best regards from Rapallo.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel exceded all expectations... Marvellous. Entering by car our first impressions were Wow, are we really staying here. The staff were extremely helpfull, the language barrier non-exsistant and although the hotel was 5 star it did not have that "stuffy" feel to it, everything was relaxed.
Yes, the rooms are on the small side and the bathroom deserved a proper shower cubicle rather than a shower curtain but one doesn't stay to spend all their time in the shower !
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and the terrace........ bliss
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandgirl1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive comments written on the occasion of your stay at the Excelsior last September.

We are pleased to read that our hotel exceded your expectations, appreciating the hotel as well as our services like Buffet Breakfast with its terrace sea view.

We also thank you for your comments regarding our Staff, well appreciated. We greatly delighted your image published on the occasion of your meal at the Eden Roc Restaurant on the terrace facing the Portofino Coast.

Hoping to welcoming you again very soon at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.


Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had booked for three nights in September 2012 but checked out early. Prior to arriving at this hotel we had stayed at Hotel Luna in Capri, Ill Pellicano in Tuscany and Hotel Lungarno in Florence. The wi fi costs in at Hotel Luna in Capri were only a few dollars a day and the other two hotels were free. We were shocked to find Hotel Excelsior charged us 22 euros, per device, per day! Thank goodness we did not have our teenage children with us. Overall the hotel was fine, the breakfast was ok. It's a good base to see the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endlesssummer018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are awfully sorry to read your disappointment regarding the Wifi payable at our hotel.

We wish to inform you that our contract with the current provider company will expire at the beginning of next year, so we officially inform all our Guests that the Wifi at the Excelsior will be completely free of charge starting from 2013.

Finally, we wish to let you know that we are surprised that overall you given us a so negative opinion for a specific service which, not only at the Excelsior, but also in other properties, by now is payable.

Thanking you for your attention, we send you our kind regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel fulfilled all of my expectaions. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms very quiet and comfortable, and the location perfect.The breakfast was very good, but i don't think they should charge 6 euros for a fried egg (scrambled was on offer free of charge) A lovely stroll into Rapallo, through the park and along the promenade. The bus stop is just a few yards away, and buses are very frequent. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: High room was very quiet and had a wonderul view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your stay last July.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday in Rapallo appreciating your room as well as the Buffet Breakfast at our Lord Byron Restaurant and also the courtesy of our Staff.

Thanking you for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you back at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#8 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imperiale Palace Hotel
Imperiale Palace Hotel
#6 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range: $133 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing