We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five stars of style and tradition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Torino
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Five stars of style and tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Excelsior Palace is probably in the best possible position in this part of the coast, slightly up the hill, out of the plebeian crowds of Rapallo, with a breathtaking view towards Portofino. It is an ancient building composed of several parts, probably often refurbished through the ages, but still keeping the sophisticated look of a belle-epoque-grand-hotel of the Mediterranean Riviera. Nowadays, the hotel has almost everything you could expect from a 5 stars establishment in Italy, the lounges, restaurant, bar and terraces are beautifully furnished, probably the average rooms could be considered rather small, due to the age of the structure, but the view from windows and balconies forgives everything. The lack of a proper beach (common to most of this part of the coast) is obviated equipping the underlying cliff with some facilities such as a scenic suspended swimming pool, platforms and stairs for easy access to the sea. The “beach club”, with its bar and restaurant is reached directly from the hotel through some corridors and elevators.
The “Byron” main restaurant serves a good choice of mainly local cuisine, the quality is as expected for a good hotel restaurant, the service is quick and careful.
The personnel are overall friendly and accustomed to deal with foreigners, who are by far the majority of the patrons.
In my opinion, there are however some little notes deserving attention:
1) The seaside facilities open at 9 am, that is rather late for early morning sea lovers;
2) The small rooms without balcony should probably have a much interesting price;
3) Obviously, this is not a cheap Hotel, there are plenty of less expensive accommodations around. This is not the place to discuss about cost to benefit ratio, but charging € 3.50 for a small bottle of still mineral water seems to be a slight lack of panache.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for your positive remarks written after your recent stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay appreciating the position and the view from our hotel as well as from your room with balcony.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Beach Club as well as your meal at the Byron Restaurant.

Furthermore, regarding your remarks on the Beach Club opening time, we inform you that we are thinking about to anticipate it at 8.30 a.m. and regarding the price of our standard rooms, we inform you that, accordingly to the availability and the period, we decide to propose lower rates, maybe from the second half of October you will find more competitive rates regarding our property.

We would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

We thank you again for your attention and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior.

Best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    391
    99
    41
    20
See reviews for
202
756
30
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

A three night stay at this brilliant resort is heavenly. Magnificent old worlde charm with modern facilities. Fantastic pool/beach club over the ocean with bar and snacks, superb dining room with views over the bay while eating an abundant breakfast and in the evening lovely setting for a fine dinner. Offers wellness, spa, sauna and gym. The views from the rooms is peaceful and calming by day and the night sparkles with the lights of Rapallo. The ferry service is nearby for travel to Portofino and Saint Margeruite . Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankChris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your positive comments written on the occasion of your 3 night stays at the Excelsior.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful holiday with us appreciating above all our Beach Club with infinity pool as well as the Health & Fitness Centre, our Sporting Bar open for snacks, our Lord Byron Restaurant with its terrace open for the Buffet Breakfast and for dinner.

Furthermore, we thank you also for your suggestion regarding the visit to Santa Margherita Liure and the well known Portofino.

Thanking you again for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you sooner again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from a sunny Rapallo.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Top notch in all aspects. Easily one of the best hotels I have visited. Too bad it was only for one night. Very nice seaside beach club with attentive staff eager to help out. Absolutely outstanding views! The hardest thing to do was the drive to Portofino. My French Peugeot was too big for these Italian roads I guess. I will know better next time and rent a smaller car....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEBXRAYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your short holiday and we hope you could come back sooner for a longer stay in order to take advantage of all our services.

Thanking you again for your attention, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite slight rain, sitting facing an unobstructed view of the bay of Rapallo, sipping a glass of prosecco I feel like Lord Byron who stayed here and gave his name to the elegant restaurant on the ground floor.
Our expectations are somewhat special: we live on the French Riviera and go into hiding each summer during the tourist season. The beaches are swamped with people, the roads clogged, the weather too hot for comfort. So the expectations of spending a week away, only 2,5 hours drive from home, are mainly to take advantage of the sea, early September weather and be pampered. We have been twice in this area and have seen Portofino and Cinque Terre which are the main tourist attractions and rightly so. The hotel is therefore of utmost importance as we intend to spend most of our time in and around it.
The hotel is classified as 5* L and it delivers most of it. The view from our deluxe seaview room is unique and overlooks the Beach Club on the other side of the coast road. The access is via the -1 floor of the elevator and a closed walk way bridge over the busy road. No, no noise in the room which has modern 2 or 3 leaf glass windows. There are no « nice » beaches in this
area where the mountain drops into the sea. There are some pebble beaches, beaches with jetties built on the water AND the Excelsior Beach. The hotel apparently owns the land dropping from the road into the sea where they built a number of terraces. There is a small infinity pool and sun chairs, numerous sun chairs, mostly one row deep and the Beach restaurant. A number of stairs will lead you past the Eden Roc restaurant down to the concrete jetties. There is a metal ladder to let yourself into the sea of perfect temperature unless of course you just want to dive in and swim out to one of the 2 floating platforms. Ok, definitely 5 star. The deluxe room, 35 sq meters (350 sqf) with a comfortable size marble bathroom, large closets in the entrance and the view described above also qualify for a 5 star rating. Service, not to be forgotten, is of same standard and that encompasses reception, bagage and car parking (by the same), Lord Byron dinners where each guest is delivered his main course by a separate waiter. That is the Luxury in the classification.
The food, not of a starred restaurant, is excellent and contrary to what I have read is priced correctly for the food quality, presentation and service. Wine list is not too short and a decent Italian Rosato wine can be ordered starting at 25 Euros.
There are a few negatives which could be explained by tradition (or slow modernism): no free Wifi but a daily 22 € charge from the Swisscom access provider, not a single free satellite English movie channel but a Pay-per-view at 10 – 12 € and most significant no guest satisfaction survey.
Don't let this put you off. No one is perfect and even a 5 * L can improve.
We will definitively come back – not to check-up on progress – but to enjoy again the Excelsior Palace !

Room Tip: the deluxe sea view rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of alla let us thank you for your precious comments written on the occasion of your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you fully appreciated our property and its position as well as your deluxe room with balcony and view on the Portofino Coast.

Furthermore, we thank you for your positive remarks about our Beach Club and we appreciated your sentence which detailed the access to the Beach from the hotel.
We are also pleased to read that your found up to your expectations the service as well as your dinners at the Lord Byron Restaurant in terms of quality of food, service and prices.

Finally, regarding your remarks about the wifi payable, we inform you that we are seriously working on cooperating with a new provider in order to give sooner to our Clients a service free of charge.

Otherwise, concerning the English channels, as you noted, we have by now 3 english TV channel like CNN, BBC and CNBC.

We would like to remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you again for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The stay was great. If your a hotel room person, then you will not be impressed as the rooms are not large nor are they extravagant or stunning. Sort of typical Italian as my wife and I agreed. Has a 13 month old with us and the hotel was especially helpful and friendly in that regard as well. If your sun worshiper, then this is your hotel, as the sun deck goes on for ages and is multi levels. However the access (via the sun deck) to the Med was the highpoint of the coast.

Room Tip: I would shoot for a high floor and make sure it has a balcony. Views of the sea are best, view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments written on the occasion of your stay with your family last month at the Excelsior.
We are glad to read that you appreciated your room and especially our Beach Club enjoying your tan on our multi level terraces or near our infinity pool.
We thank you also for your compliments to our Staff who was particularly helpful with your little baby.

Thanking you again for your attention and looking forward to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The staff are extremely friendly, the location is superb, the room very well kept, nice spa, lovely beach club (although crowded). 2 major flaws from my perspective - 1) SLEEP if you are light sleeper this is not the hotel for you. If you need sleep to function - you can hear everything. Restaurant plates, neighbours talking, AC Unit stops and starts every few minutes and furniture moving...2) FOOD Restaurant serves average food in a country where food is way above average - disappointing. We are a couple that enjoys using hotel services so this is a drawback. Breakfast Buffet was always empty by 9.30. Filling it up was rather slow.

Room Tip: Higher floors I would guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahlia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments read on the occasion of your recent stay with us.
We are delighted you appreciated the location, the room as well as the Health & Fitness Centre and the Beach Club.

We are sorry to read that on the other side you did not sleep well during your stay, probably we assigned you a room located near the Lord Byron Restaurant, during the first ten days of September we had an high occupancy and for this reason the Restaurant had to work hard.
We also regret that you found average the quality of our food, normally the comments on our cuisine are always good as we have only dishes made at the moment with only fresh products. Regarding your mention about the Buffet Breakfast empty by 9.30, we inform you that normally at 9.30 a.m. is the peak moment of the morning and, waiting a few moments, we let our waiters add products on the Buffet in order to give to all our Clients the best choice.
We remind you that your comments are very precious to us in order to improve our standards of service and to better understand our Clients’ needs.

Thanking you again for your attention, we send your our best regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Before booking we wondered whether or not to do so given the mix of comments. Overall though we had a great week. Stayed in a classic room with sea view and balcony. Rooms are small but spotlessly clean and maid service fantastic - we were asked if we wanted clean towels in the evening having already had them replaced every morning. Really pleased we had a balcony as views were fantastic. Beach club is great although the sea was pretty rough on a few days and dangerous for swimming. Infinity pool was lovely - as we went outside of school holidays it was usually not busy but can see why some have said its too small - full of children it would be! Staff were exceptionally helpful and recommended restaurants to eat in. Bit disappointed with lack of really good restaurants in Rapallo - lots of tourists ones. we kept returning to the same recommended place as it just was so much better than the others. Ate in Lord Bryon once - service is superb, meal was fine but nothing to rave about. As for hotel prices, yes it is pretty pricey. Drinks exceed London prices - a beer and a southern comfort - 25 euros! That said we also ate in the Yachting bar one night off what they call their 'snack menu' and had a fantastic meal (much more than a snack), superb service and lots of unexpected extras like pre dinner nibbles, bread basket etc, and very reasonably priced. At the end of the day if you want and expect 5 star location and service, expect to pay for it. Would recommend the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susisav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your precious comments written on the occasion of your recent week of stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room with sea view and balcony as well as the Beach Club with the infinity pool with view on the Portofino Coast.
Furthermore, regarding your comments that it’s dangerous swimming in front of Beach Club, we inform you that, even if there’s not a sandy beach, there are three different stairs from which our Clients can access directly to the sea, normally the sea in front of the hotel is quite and very clean.
Finally, we thank you for your positive remarks about the Lord Byron Restaurant as well as regarding your “snack menu” at our Yachting Bar.

Thanking you for your attention and hoping to welcoming you again at the Excelsior, we send you our best regards from the sunny Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapallo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metropole
Metropole
#5 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Michele di Pagana 8, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rapallo
#2 Spa Hotel in Rapallo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rapallo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rapallo
#5 Family Hotel in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Excelsior Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing