We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little place with Marko & Filipo - perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Desiderio
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
156 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Awesome little place with Marko & Filipo - perfect hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in May 2014 as part of a wider 51 day trip through parts of Europe. Paid €70 pn for each double bed room (two large twins pushed together so like a king bed almost). Room #109 (friends had room #108). Rate included lovely breakfast with fresh juices, coffees, cheeses, cold meats, fruits, cereals, yoghurts, bread, jams, croissants, etc. Breakfast room was lovely and the hosts ensure you have every little thing you would like.

We considered it was excellent value for price paid. Marko and Filipo VERY, VERY friendly & spoke good English. These guys are in our 'Top 5' of hosts/hostesses from our 23 accoms of this trip. NOTHING was ever too much trouble.

Room was pristine and room was serviced daily.

Room had: AC, Heating, Fridge, Desk & Chair, In Room Safe, Mirrors, Wardrobe, flat screen TV on wall, kettle, side tables, etc.

LOTS of little personal touches that gave this boutique hotel a very special ambience. Rooms had lovely pictures and were well colour co-ordinated without being over the top. Variety of teas/coffee/sugar/honey in the room. Also 2 bottles of water daily (one still, one frizzante) and a small bowl of lollies (jubes/jellies)..
Bathroom was private and of small size. Toiletries provided were slippers, soaps, liquid soap, shampoo, shower caps, etc, all provided. Hairdryer provided affixed to wall in bathroom. Hot water shower with awesome water pressure and adjustable shower rose on wall. Shower was on own base and had a glass surround. Small water filled radiator in bathrooms which dried our smalls overnight easily.

WiFi: free. Speed: Fast. No Pool.

Had a garden area which we sat at in the evening & played cards.

Close to a Carrefour Express supermarket (literally <50m), < 5 min walk to the port and ferries to Portofino, etc. Also close walk to train stn and chairlift etc.

Point to note which is ONLY relevant if driving a car and need to park overnight is that parking is pretty tight everywhere. They do have one dedicated park that I know of for guests if you book early enough however they will give you a ‘parking permit’ with the hotel’s name on it which allows park in the resident parking. Parking can be from 20m away to 1km depending how lucky you get but with the parking permit at least it is free!

Overall, we would give this 5/5 stars. We would stay again and wouldn’t bother looking for elsewhere in this region.

Amazing hosts who really went out of their way to ensure their hotel oozes charm and character which reflects their personalities really well. All 4 of us commented on these guys being the ‘hosts with the most’. Well done Marko & Filipo and we hope to meet again one day! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    57
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
109
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We spent three wonderful nights at this charming friendly little oasis. It is a little hard to find ( a well kept secret I guess) but once you find this haven down a little street you have found a home away from home. The hosts Marco and Phillipe welcome you like long lost family and do their utmost to make sure you enjoy your stAy. The rooms are cosy, clean and comfortable,and despite a double bed being 2 king singles pushed together, it isn't really a problem. Breakfast is continental and is more than adequate , fresh fruit included, with well made coffee. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the harbour, 5 minute to the train station, and 5-10 to restaurants/ trattorias, which makes it ideally located. Phillipe can recommend various restaurants plus give directions.He is all fluent in at least four languages that we heard ! (Italian, French, English and German). We would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a well priced well serviced hotel in Rapallo. We would definitely return !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank misscandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Good choice for a short break in Rapallo. It was our base for visiting Cinque Terre. Seashore and railway station (train to Cinque Terre) are nearby. Rooms are small, but clean and come with bathroom, refrigerator, airco and small safe. The owners are very friendly (men spreekt Nederlands!) and helpful. Breakfast was very good for Italian standards, but the cappuccino was not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AldeCoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I, we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in September 2013 and had a great time. Filippo and Marco are super hosts. They went out of their ways to help us to explore this beautiful area by train, bus and boat. They also recommended 2 nice restaurants to us. We ate at Marco restaurant and the food and price was good. We went to Elite restaurant and it was closed for a few days.

Room is nicely decorated, clean and big. We have a lot of luggages and still have plenty of room to move around. Bottles water, coffee and tea are provided in our room each day. Bathroom is also big.

Breakfast is good. There are croissant, foccacia, bread, cheese, cold cuts, fruits, fruit juice, coffee, cereal, yogurt, pie, and more.

It is located in the residential area and quiet. It is near the train station, super market, bakery and restaurants.

If we are in the part of Italy again, we definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sooloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Welcomed by the friendly and very helpful Marco. He assisted us with Train & Flight bookings.
Hotel within walking distance to Waterfront, Station and Ferry Port.
Room equiped with all you need. Very clean and the Breakfast in the garden something to remember. Definate value for money. Ideal base to explore areas like Santa Margherita and Portefino.
Will definately promote this hotel to our family & friends and wish to come back one day !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan-Lorine-VanZyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Quite frankly I wonder howcome a stay at Hotel San Desiderio doesn't cost more than it does. We were very happy with the location, room, air conditioning, breakfast, staff... Well, everything. We're sure to go there again, next time with offspring.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Quiet little hotel located 5 minutes to beach and 10 minutes to train station. Room was clean with good size bathroom, wifi and lots of space. Marco & Phillipe went out of their way to make our stay special. They even met us at the train station when we couldn't find their place. Lots of little extras made the stay most enjoyable. Highly recommend. Don't let the lane entrance put you off

Room Tip: A little hard to find so ask for good directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franny2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tigullio Royal
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#5 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#7 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Desiderio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Desiderio

Property: Hotel San Desiderio
Address: Via S. Desiderio 4, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Desiderio 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Desiderio is a warmly welcoming home, with an informal, comfortable and quiet environment that suits to everybody's needs. . There are seasonal promotions, therefore we suggest you to contact us directly in order to receive every detail and the most convenient offer for you. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Desiderio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing