We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Portofino
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Astoria(Rapallo)
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$672
$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Excelsior Palace Hotel(Rapallo)
$393
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Canali(Rapallo)
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Approdo(Rapallo)
$146
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riviera(Rapallo)
$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Stella(Rapallo)
$103
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vesuvio(Rapallo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
63
81
15
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
81
15
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fanclose to train stationtiny showertown centrefirst floorexcellent locationrecommend this hotelterracereceptionportofino
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 167 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The owners are great and really helpful. Breakfast is good and the terrace is lovely. The rooms are fine although a little bit more soundproofing would be good and the bathrooms could do with updating. All in all, a fine and characterful place to stay right near the waterfront, town centre, bus and railway stations, and all for a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel at the first week of May. First of all, i can say that Rapallo is a very good choice to make our base for the visiting the surroundings.
The hotel also is very convinient as well in terms of location. It is on the same street with the train station, just 5 minutes walk.
The staff/owners were very helpfull, i can say that it was the first time i met with such attention. The breakfast was also good that we were able to be full:)
We would recommend you to visit chinque terre, camogli and portovenere.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Caglarfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My feeling about Rapallo is also consists of the time spent in Portofino hotel. Everything was amazing - fiendly and helpfull staff, ready to help you with any question you have, tasty breakfasts with fresh pastry, aroma coffee and meat plate, rooms in ancient building with incredibly high ceilings and cosy beds, cleaned every day. There is also elevator (the hotel is on the 1st floor) so if you have a heavy luggage you can easily use it and reach the hotel in few seconds.
The hotel in almost in a heart of the city. It's easy to find and it's just 7 minutes by foot from railway station and 5 minutes to sea shore. Another time I'll be in Rapallo I will definitely choose this hotel. Thanks to Andrea and Stefania for being perfect hosts!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gshakirova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here having only planned to stay 3. It was such a great location, one block back from the waterfront, right in Rapallo. We wanted a rustic, older style hotel with character and that is exactly what we got. Lookout for neon sign and double door entrance to the building, there is a gold plaque outside with push button to enter. There is a lift and they have one handy car park right outside for loading/unloading. We were delighted when Stefania said we could leave our car there the whole time (being off season I guess). We had room 6, really comfy bed, own large bathroom and spare bed for third adult...plenty of room. Huge double windows.....we slept with windows open..noisy but really quiet if shut. Hosts Stefanie and Andrea extremely friendly, Stefania speaks good English, breakfast was super with excellent coffee, and there is a cosy lounge just off reception for relaxing. Wifi didn't work so well in room but did from lounge. We asked if it was possible to eat in and Andrea cooked for us two nights, fantastic! We based ourselves here for Cinque Terra walks and caught bus to St Margarita (15 mins) then walked to Portofino and back. If you want a true italian experience stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this on the basis of value and location, neither let is down. This is a 2 star hotel and excellent value for money. The room was basic but clean. The couple who run the hotel are very Helpful and friendly. The breakfast is continental and you can have as much as you want. Great location, 10 minutes from the railway station and the same to the ferry. Excellent terrace for and early evening drink. Would definitley stay again if we re-visted Rapallo. Rapallo is a lovely Italian town and very friendly Just a couple of tips, The shops close at 12.30pm and re-open 15.30pm. If you intend travelling by railway, do either allow extra time to book the tickets, or book your tickets the day before we got held up on both occasions as only one man working. Do take the funicular up the mountain, excellent lunch in the Hotel/restaurant overlooking the bay, and do visit Camogli, an overlooked gem of a town. Finally don't visit Vernazza at lunchtime, way to busy, instead for lunch head to Corniglia, a far better town in my view

Room Tip: We had room 10 which is close to reception, so a room further away and you would find a little less noise from reception
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESTREET50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews