We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and value for money”
Review of Hotel Portofino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Portofino
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and value for money”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights here having only planned to stay 3. It was such a great location, one block back from the waterfront, right in Rapallo. We wanted a rustic, older style hotel with character and that is exactly what we got. Lookout for neon sign and double door entrance to the building, there is a gold plaque outside with push button to enter. There is a lift and they have one handy car park right outside for loading/unloading. We were delighted when Stefania said we could leave our car there the whole time (being off season I guess). We had room 6, really comfy bed, own large bathroom and spare bed for third adult...plenty of room. Huge double windows.....we slept with windows open..noisy but really quiet if shut. Hosts Stefanie and Andrea extremely friendly, Stefania speaks good English, breakfast was super with excellent coffee, and there is a cosy lounge just off reception for relaxing. Wifi didn't work so well in room but did from lounge. We asked if it was possible to eat in and Andrea cooked for us two nights, fantastic! We based ourselves here for Cinque Terra walks and caught bus to St Margarita (15 mins) then walked to Portofino and back. If you want a true italian experience stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    67
    12
    1
    6
See reviews for
32
55
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this on the basis of value and location, neither let is down. This is a 2 star hotel and excellent value for money. The room was basic but clean. The couple who run the hotel are very Helpful and friendly. The breakfast is continental and you can have as much as you want. Great location, 10 minutes from the railway station and the same to the ferry. Excellent terrace for and early evening drink. Would definitley stay again if we re-visted Rapallo. Rapallo is a lovely Italian town and very friendly Just a couple of tips, The shops close at 12.30pm and re-open 15.30pm. If you intend travelling by railway, do either allow extra time to book the tickets, or book your tickets the day before we got held up on both occasions as only one man working. Do take the funicular up the mountain, excellent lunch in the Hotel/restaurant overlooking the bay, and do visit Camogli, an overlooked gem of a town. Finally don't visit Vernazza at lunchtime, way to busy, instead for lunch head to Corniglia, a far better town in my view

Room Tip: We had room 10 which is close to reception, so a room further away and you would find a little less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESTREET50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix En Provence
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel of goog comfort, close to the station ,without noise,staff very devoted, plentiful breakfast in a nice room, bedroom Nb 32 very pleasant, garage useful , located in the hotel, but a bit expanseve (18€ a day)
The staff is ready to help you to find your way with a map of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was the cheapest hotel I could find at the time of booking. It is lovely. The staff are friendly and whilst the accomodation is simple, it is scupulously clean. Rooms are cleaned daily, breakfast is served with excellent coffee and the location is perfect. The only thing that would have really improved my stay is air conditioning, or a fan in the room. Opening windows meant letting mosquitoes in at night so the room got very very hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked two rooms at the Hotel Portofino and were more than pleasantly surprised at the standard. One room lead out onto a roof top terrace with table and chairs which we utilised for afternoon drinks. The beds were very comfortable and a lovely touch throughout the hotel was candles and magazines which gave it a homely feel. Admittedly the bathroom was very small and noisy but it didn't detract from our stay. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We were able to use the very attractive TV room to store our bags on the day of departure. The same staff were serving breakfast which was excellent considering the price we had paid for the rooms. It's about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joghols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our room was adequate for 3 adults. The en suite bathroom left a lot to be desired. It was poorly lit & had a macerated toilet which was incredibly noisy. Having said this, the staff did their utmost to be helpful and friendly and it was in quite a good location. We were lucky to get disabled parking right outside the hotel as my Dad has a disabled pass.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mancunianpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed one night passing through on our way from Portofino to Cinque Terre. The hotel is a great old building, near the waterfront, with a terrace, and is run by some extremely nice people. The rooms were clean (maybe a bit dimly lit), and we felt very welcome and well taken care of. Only advice would be that if you have mosquito issues, don't accidentally live your window/drapes open at night (that's not the hotel's problem, though maybe some window screens would be a nice addition).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenThompson2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapallo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Desiderio
Hotel San Desiderio
#4 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Tigullio Royal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 29 in Rapallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#14 of 29 in Rapallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portofino

Property: Hotel Portofino
Address: Corso Giacomo Matteotti 53, 16035, Rapallo, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Rapallo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Rapallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Portofino 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the first floor of an Historical Palace of the Nineteenth Century, The Hotel Portofino welcomes travelers in the magnificent setting of the "Tigullio Gulf" Pearl of the Ligurian Riviera. Rapallo is a beautiful sea town, few miles from Portofino and the 5 Terre, the Hotel is convenient located in the city centre in the main street within easy walk to the sea promenade, the marina with the touristic dock and the railways station. The former Grand Hotel has now been transformed in a Small Boutique Hotel, managed by owners, who have completed a full refurbishment. The atmosphere, due to the intense colour, is warm and welcoming, a typical example of Italian Home Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing