We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night fever ? better reserve !”
Review of Luca

Luca
Ranked #57 of 201 Restaurants in Rapallo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
French Riviera
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Saturday night fever ? better reserve !”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent a short week at the Excelsior Palace (which I reviewed last year) and decided to walk into town for dinner. Across the road from the hotel a small sign caught our eye "Ristorante Luca". We hadn't intended to dine in the Marina but decided to check it out. This was early September and we expected a quiet dinner. Fortunately we got there early around 8:15 and were able to get a table for two inside. Only one large table was occupied. Starting at 8:30 guests just kept on coming until the indoor section was full and they managed to add 3 small tables on the sidewalk rather than turn away guests !
The beautiful interior decoration as well as the guests demonstrated this was the Yacht Club restaurant and the tasteful food was meant to turn this place into a local hangout. Real italian atmosphere. We didn't intend to have a large dinner and went for 2 starters (about 10€ each). The dishes were plentiful and the melon and ham I ordered came with about 8 slices of freshly cut italian ham ! To keep the review short let me wrap up by saying this is a top spot in Rapallo (and our second trip there later that week confirmed it).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    57
    28
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too Chic”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I didn't like the location, but the food was decent, just very expensive for lunch. Would have preferred to be in a restaurant on the sea. The owner was extremely friendly. Just not my favorite of the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to dine”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Perfect location near Excelsior Palace Hotel! Nice menu for all family members! Extended and exciting wine list! Try gamberi crudi ;) thx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ildarushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good seafood, poor service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location is vrry tempting - in Marina of Rapallo.
The cuisine is also good and there are many fish and seafood dishes. The wine list is also big enought and mostly all italian wine regions are suggested.
I have wsrm sea salad (15€), fish ravioli(18€) and Sole fish muriner (24€) as a main course.
But they should improve the service because the wsitresses seem to be uninterested and exhausted. Do they have immigrant permition for work, by the wsy???

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sit down and read this as its the best restaurant in Liguria”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

That is a bold statement, really I understand that in the area there are many that would dispute this.
I live and work in Milan, I eat a lot of fantastic food at a lot of fabulous restaurants at all budget levels. However let me explain and then show the pictures.
We asked the Hotel for a recommendation (but then referred to trip advisor anyway) and we wanted to go here. We asked the hotel to call a taxi and book a table. After three minutes the restaurant owner arrived at the hotel in our car and drove us back to his restaurant, how about that for service.

Table outside although there were nice tables within, but its August and perfect weather and views.

So we want to order and the staff and their Italian is not perfect until a very helpful waitress arrived who spoke English to a very high standard. The restaurant owner knows everyone who walks by and is very friendly and just what you need in this business. So I decide to be awkward and go off menu, no problem and happy to help, at a very reasonable price to.

Oh and the wine list is fantastic, well it starts at around 20 euros but there is a bottle for 2950 euros.... careful if you drink to much and start to order your second bottle :).

So we ordered a variety of dishes and the presentation of them was to a very high standard but the taste, my antipasti was Octopus and mashed potato, I have to say this was out of this world. Even my delightful wife, who tends to avoid more exotic foods tasted it and had to admit it was very nice.

The price in the end was a little high but we did eat very very well. I have attached the bill. The owner even gave us an unprompted discount of 10%, and he drove us back to the hotel.

Have a look at the pictures, if you visit Rapallo please enjoy the Octopus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca also viewed

Rapallo, Italian Riviera
 
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing