We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Most pleasant hotel during 2mth Euro trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eight Hotel Portofino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eight Hotel Portofino
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Most pleasant hotel during 2mth Euro trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wow! The staff at this hotel make it the best hotel I stayed at during my 2mth Euro trip, where I stayed in over 30 different cities. The advice, arrangements and pleasant behaviour were truly outstanding.

The hotel is probably the furtherest hotel away from the water in Portofino, but that just means it is 3mins away from the water, as Portofino only has 3-5 hotels. Portofino is very small and exclusive, so you pay extra to stay here, but it is definitely worth it as the best restaurants are here and the location is supreme.

This is the perfect place to relax and unwind, just like the wealthy do who can afford homes around the area. The harbour in summer is filled with new big yachts each night, so the town really comes alive in the evenings. During the day it can be busy too with the visitors staying at the big towns along the coast.

There is a pleasant (but challenging) 2 hr walk from the hotel to a nearby beach that can only be reached by walking or boat. Walk there - relax and then take the last boat back. Let the hotel arrange all your restaurant bookings and kit you out with any towels/bags/water you need during your stay.

The rooms themselves are very luxurious, with fabulous toiletries. The hotel as parking, so make sure you drive straight to the hotel, as Portofino is heavily patrolled to limit non-resident cars visiting and parking.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTony_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

truly...you leave us speechless !!!
Your comments are treasure for our eyes and ears, the comparison you made emphasized our mission and motivate our team in delivering unique experience to all our guests and visitors.
We are truly thankful to your kindness in finding the time to share your experience at Eight Hotels and
hopeful to welcome you back in a near future at Eight Portofino.

Kindest regards,

Christian Del Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    58
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
164
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My parents came over. As a special treat, we booked into the Eight on the recommendation of a friend in the know. We all agreed it was the highlight of the trip -- the food, the room, the location, and the attentiveness of the staff, all of them, and especially the manager Christian del Gatto. We even took our two dogs, Jack Russells, Gracie Mouse and Gladys Mae, and there were dog beds in the rooms when we arrived. What more can I say?! Chris OHare

Room Tip: call them and tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are truly delighted to read your beautiful comments. The outcome of your trip highlights our mission and our goal to be remembered in a special way by our Guests.

Has been an absolute pleasure to guest you, your parents and your 2 little dogs, Gracy and Gladys, I really hope they are still fine and willing to be back in their new home at Portofino!!

The magic of Portofino help us to empathize our service and to deliver a unique experience to our guests stay, the Guests like you are our daily motivation to improve and provide an excellent service.

Looking forward to welcome you back upon your next visit in Portofino.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent service and very helpful staff. Our room and bathroom were excellent, clean and new. Extremely comfortable bed and great air condicioning. Awesome breakfast served in a quiet elegant room. The location is not that much but the hotel is so good that we forgot it. Parking is free just in front of the hotel.
We really loved this charming well decorated hotel.
We would stay at Eigth Hotel again. It' s our place in Portofino!

Room Tip: I don't remember my room number but I believe that all rooms at Eight Hotel are ok because the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHSiepmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

it is an absolute pleasure to read your kind comment. We are really glad to know we matched your expectation, and that makes me very proud of the work all the team has been doing.

We are looking forward to welcome you back upon your next visit in Portofino.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel Eight is located virtually where the road into town stops. We got a lovely upgraded room and were greeted with a glass of Prosecco and a tasty cheese ball. Service is excellent and location is ideal. A bit pricey, but Portofino is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UESfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Allow us to thank you for finding the time to share your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is always a real pleasure to know we were able to offer you a great service and satisfy your expectation.

We hope to be able to welcome you back during your next visit to Portofino.


Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is secondary to the location. It is important to get the expectations right when selecting a place to stay in Portofino. Sleeping in a decent room with good service and a comfy bed is essential but the rest of the points are much less important. When I thought about what we might get in the Eight Hotel it was all that I expected. The room was nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. It was easy to get around and to the hotel and the interior was a pleasant surprise since it was well decorated and relatively new. We were greeted with a glass of proseco and the manager took our luggage for our room. We stayed one night and slept for a few hours close in town, steps from the water. It is still relatively expensive but it isn't as crazy as the Splendido. We've tried another hotel in Portofino that was also reasonable but a little further from the town. So great stay for a great place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheKeeneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do appreciate your nice comment and are thankful for you taking the time to share your experience.
The Eight Portofino is a charming and comfortable boutique hotel and we like to define it as a nice home far from home.
Hoping to be able to exceed your expectation on your next trip to Italy we are really looking forward to welcome you again in a near future and invite you to contact us directly should you wish to schedule your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cotswolds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We loved this charming boutique hotel and charming welcome. We were delighted with the bath, so rare in Italy, after a walk from Rappallo. It is situated right under the hills surrounding expensive Portofino with no views but we had enjoyed plenty en-route to this hotel. A good breakfast and fresh quiet, comfortable room with classy wash products.

Room Tip: Ours was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having the time to share your precious comments.
We are glad you had a good stay at the Eight Portofino. It is true that the wonderful surrounding makes this place unique in its essence and gives you the chance to explore amazing routes through the hills and woods in the nearby area, the ideal place for a short break during your trip in Italy.
We hope to have the chance in a near future to welcome you back for another excellent experience.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this really charming hotel the rooms are comfortable and done to a good standard with large beds and cripsy linen and enough space to move around. It might sounds pricey at first but for Portofino is good value!!! Our room had a garden which was nice for evening coktails, last year we stayed at the sister Hotel Eight Paraggi and we enjoyed that also. I think what makes this very place special is the friendly and helpfull staff. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to share your nice experience with others on tripadvisor.
Your comment are treasure for us and proof that the way we operate is well liked by our faithful guests.
I am glad you had the chance to test both our products and be satisfied with the outcome, we are really thankful to your loyalty shown and looking forward to welcome you back home on your next visit to Portofino.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Hotel Portofino

Property: Eight Hotel Portofino
Address: Via del Fondaco 11, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Hotel Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, liguria architecture and elegance are the key features of Eight Hotel Portofino, a wonderful example of the perfect combination of ancient tradition, modern technology and quality of service offered to our guests. Located just a few steps away from the world-wide famous “piazzetta”, the hotel offer its guests 18 uncommonly elegant and refined rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Eight Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Hotel Portofino
San Giorgio Portofino
Hotel San Giorgio
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing