We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portofino is for Pesto and the dinner by the Water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eight Hotel Portofino
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is secondary to the location. It is important to get the expectations right when selecting a place to stay in Portofino. Sleeping in a decent room with good service and a comfy bed is essential but the rest of the points are much less important. When I thought about what we might get in the Eight Hotel it was all that I expected. The room was nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. It was easy to get around and to the hotel and the interior was a pleasant surprise since it was well decorated and relatively new. We were greeted with a glass of proseco and the manager took our luggage for our room. We stayed one night and slept for a few hours close in town, steps from the water. It is still relatively expensive but it isn't as crazy as the Splendido. We've tried another hotel in Portofino that was also reasonable but a little further from the town. So great stay for a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheKeeneGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We do appreciate your nice comment and are thankful for you taking the time to share your experience.
The Eight Portofino is a charming and comfortable boutique hotel and we like to define it as a nice home far from home.
Hoping to be able to exceed your expectation on your next trip to Italy we are really looking forward to welcome you again in a near future and invite you to contact us directly should you wish to schedule your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 327 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

We loved this charming boutique hotel and charming welcome. We were delighted with the bath, so rare in Italy, after a walk from Rappallo. It is situated right under the hills surrounding expensive Portofino with no views but we had enjoyed plenty en-route to this hotel. A good breakfast and fresh quiet, comfortable room with classy wash products.

Room Tip: Ours was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having the time to share your precious comments.
We are glad you had a good stay at the Eight Portofino. It is true that the wonderful surrounding makes this place unique in its essence and gives you the chance to explore amazing routes through the hills and woods in the nearby area, the ideal place for a short break during your trip in Italy.
We hope to have the chance in a near future to welcome you back for another excellent experience.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this really charming hotel the rooms are comfortable and done to a good standard with large beds and cripsy linen and enough space to move around. It might sounds pricey at first but for Portofino is good value!!! Our room had a garden which was nice for evening coktails, last year we stayed at the sister Hotel Eight Paraggi and we enjoyed that also. I think what makes this very place special is the friendly and helpfull staff. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to share your nice experience with others on tripadvisor.
Your comment are treasure for us and proof that the way we operate is well liked by our faithful guests.
I am glad you had the chance to test both our products and be satisfied with the outcome, we are really thankful to your loyalty shown and looking forward to welcome you back home on your next visit to Portofino.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent 1night with our two kids in this beautiful boutique hotel. Mr. Christian Del Gatto , the front office manager, gave us an excellent service. He made us feel like home with all special attentions. The hotel is well located and the rooms are impeccable. The beakfast was just amazing ! We highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guests,

It is so delightful to read your wonderful comment, we try to care for our guests as Kings and Queens!!.. and sometimes we manage to exceed their expectation in terms of personalized service…it seems we manage to do it on this occasion..!!.., and that makes me very proud of the work all the team has been doing.
We hope you’ll be able to visit us again in a near future in order to discover what more Portofino ..and us have to offer, and looking forward to that we thank you for taking your time to share your nice feedback on tripadvisor..

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were given room 81, junior suite. This is a garret that they call a junior suite which looks nothing like the photos provided on line. There is a roof ridge that runs through the length of the entire room so that an average size adult is only able to stand up in half the room but would have to stoop over in the other side. One side of the bed and all storage was under this low area so one of us was consistently banging our heads on the ceiling. The staff shrugged, did not offer an alternate room, as shown on line and would not refund our prepayment at near $1,000/nt to allow us to find alternate accommodation elsewhere. The hotel offers little in the way of facilities.

Room Tip: Get photos of your room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Murphy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My girlfriend and I are currently (July 2012) travelling Italy by car and were lucky enough to book into the Eight Hotel Portofino. Although the drive into Portofino was a little daunting it was well worth the effort.

As we arrived we were greeted by the bellhop who parked out car for us next to the hotel in their private car park. The concierge was polite and good humoured and the manager (who recently arrived from the Ritz, London) even came to welcome us. We were given a drink of choice and were welcomed to relax in their lounge. It was beautifully air conditioned and relaxing after the somewhat nerve racking drive in.

The hotel only has 18 rooms, at the time of writing, so you get extremely good service. We stayed in a superior room which had a lovely private terrace/patio with an outdoor setting. The bathroom was well presented with heated flooring and Bulgari toiletries.

Breakfast was included in the price which was a continental layout (cold meats, cheese, cereal fruit, yoghurt, juices, sweet cakes etc) with extremely friendly staff who are more than happy to make you a lovely cappuccino or expresso to go with your meal.

The hotel had a beautiful shady and tranquil garden accessed from the 7th floor, with jacuzzi and sun beds. The hotel is situated far enough from Portofino waterfront (about 200m walk at the most) not to hear any of the clatter of the town but close enough to take a leisurely stroll into town without even raising a sweat. As Portofino is at the end of the point, the busy nature of nearby San Margherita etc does not exist. The nearby hills have shady walking trails with breathtaking views over the bay from Castella Browne, the church and the lighthouse.

The hotel has every amenity you may need and we highly recommend it. It was a wonderful stay and we really could not have asked for better service or a better setting. When we go back to Portofino, we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Truly magical.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prob_been_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guests,

We are truly delighted to read your beautiful comments.
It is amazing to hear that every little detail made your stay unforgettable, we are really glad to understand you had a great time in Portofino and managed to enjoy all it's beauty.
At Eight Hotels we always try our best to overcome our guests expectation and to know that we do manage in our intent, makes us go forward to pursue this goal.
The magic of Portofino help us to empathize our service and to deliver a unique experience to our guests stay.
We are glad you had a great time and we are really looking forward to welcome you back upon your next visit at Eight Hotels.

Kind Regards,

Christian Del Gatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Literally a few steps away from the beautiful Portofino Port. Staff are all super smiley and helpful. Rooms are comfortable. Service is efficient. And the magic garden on the roof is a wonderful surprise!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asma-Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Direttore at Eight Hotel Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comment and we do thank you for finding the time to share your experience at Eight Hotels.
Although we are a small hotel we always try to strive for perfection and to deliver a special stay to all our guests.
I am very happy to work with a team that add value to our guest experience and will make sure to share your nice feedback with them.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon at Eight Hotels.

Kindest Regards,

Christian Del Gatto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
930 reviews
2.9 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Hotel Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Hotel Portofino

Address: Via del Fondaco 11, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: $335 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Hotel Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, liguria architecture and elegance are the key features of Eight Hotel Portofino, a wonderful example of the perfect combination of ancient tradition, modern technology and quality of service offered to our guests. Located just a few steps away from the world-wide famous “piazzetta”, the hotel offer its guests 18 uncommonly elegant and refined rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eight Hotel Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Hotel Portofino
San Giorgio Portofino
Hotel San Giorgio
San Giorgio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing