We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enticing, captivating”
Review of Outdoor Portofino

Outdoor Portofino
Book In Advance
More Info
$111.31*
and up
Kayak Tour in Portofino
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Outdoor Portofino is a company that promotes sport, active tourism and environmental education activities related to the Marine Protected Area and Park of Portofino and other natural and cultural heritage areas of Liguria. Our goal is to make sports accessible to everyone and spread a culture of environmental respect and knowledge of nature and of the surrounding area. The project is driven by a sustainability perspective, with special attention to the enhancement of the traditional activities, of the local cultures, of eco-tourism and the fruition of socially sensitive categories.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
521 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Enticing, captivating”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

One of the most photogenic places I have been to. If using digital photography make sure you have spare flash card and battery; if you are a purist make sure you bring lots of film.
Very peaceful place and not to be missed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    37
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“what a lovely village”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to Portofino as part of a day trip through our holiday organiser. Well worth a visit but even moreso with a guide. We had the lovely Leonora who was a delight to listen to and really told us lots about the various aspects of Portofino. Sadly it was a bit rough to go by boat so we travelled by local bus as the roads are too narrow for the coaches. Compared to some other places in the area we did not find Portofino overpriced and there is plenty of choice in terms of places to eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATripadvisee404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raanana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Portofino and Hotel Splendido”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in Santa Margherita in order to tour the Cinque Terra area. We took the short boat ride to Portofino. It is a small town with lovely (if overpriced) shops and several great restaurants. The restaurant we ate in suggested we go up to the Hotel Splendido to see the view. We took a cab for the 5 minute drive (35 Euros!!!) and had drinks on the hotel's patio overlooking Portofino. The hotel is something from old Europe that has been beautifully maintained. After very expensive drinks, we walked down beyond the hotel's swimming pool for a further view of the town below. If you buy drinks at the hotel, they have a shuttle service that returns you to the town without charge. If it is not too hot and you are up for the hike, I suggest walking up to the hotel and taking the shuttle back. This was truly one of the highlights of our trip. FYI, we checked out the hotel - $800/night for a couple!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank delowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We got dropped off at a port (in Santa Margherita I think) after taking a scenic ocean road, the road we had driven many years ago, which goes through many tunnels on its way to the French Riviera. We boarded the boat, grabbed outside seats, and took in the lovely coastline thanks to the weather gods who were happy again! We ended in Portofino, a lovely town with a reputation of attracting movie stars and other famous people. The villas on the hillside were fantastic, and very pricey!

After a brief tour, we got free time to walk through the town and explore. I explored one church but mostly stores. Because this was low season, many of the shops (mega designer) were closed. I managed to find a few places to spend my Euros, a wonderful Venetian glass shop and a market where I bought local Liqueur. Found bathrooms that were clean too.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very lovely and cozy port. Excellent for a romantic walk or a walk with the family and some gelato. I went there first with a car and then on a bike at 7:00AM...the best time to see the sunrise and the port in it true beauty

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTraveler738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outdoor Portofino also viewed

Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Outdoor Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing