We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Portofino”
Review of Albergo Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Nazionale
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A little quirky - our room seemed to be somewhere in the 1980s. But we did ask for a seaview room - and thats worth it on its own. Clean and comfortable. Simple Breakfast served in the room which was nice and unusual nowadays. Portofino is not worth more than 24 hours really - the place is overrun by tourists from 10am to 6pm, and the restaurants on the front are so overpriced its unbelievable... But 24 hrs is definitely worth it before moving on !

Room Tip: ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChubbysHiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one Friday night in May. There are two hotels that front onto the square - this one and the one next door called the Splendido. Depends what you are looking for. Americans with lots of money should stay next door as the Nazionale is for travellers who want a real experience of Portofino. You will not get staff fawning all over you every moment. You will get enthusiastic reception staff, good size rooms, nice basic breakfast on your balcony if you want, and the ability to see Portofino after all the tourists have gone. Sure you pay for the location but I am so happy I have booked for next year already.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Sharkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent hotel, very good stay. The staff meets with great efficiency and friendliness. Do not hesitate to book. The town is charming and worth the boat trips to San Frutuoso and Santa Marguerita. Forget Rapallo. The only criticism is the poor breakfast, very simple and small variety of items.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo_SP_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were in Room 10 of the Nazionale. It is a large suite with a sitting area, mini-fridge, table for 4 and queen sized bed. The bathroom was pretty spacious with all the needs you could need in it's all tiled design. This Queen of Hotels is an old fashioned friend. All your needs are met well albeit in an old fashioned way, A curtain separates the sleeping area from the living area. The bed is old but the mattress is not. The front desk is helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Here's the catch- you have your own space on The piazza of the Portofino harbor. Sip your cocktails and watch the parade as the sun sets over the harbor and the castle becomes a handy prop for the rising moon.Use room service for your wake up treat. They set the table from the outside. In the morning have your breakfast here, watching the town prepare for the hundreds of tourists. You get the best of Portofino here- before and after the hubbub of the visiting day tourists.

Room Tip: Room 10 and 11 are on the ground floor on the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RebeccaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Albergo Nazionale is a great location. We had room 20, no views there except of the alley and somebodys laundry/rooftop. The room itself was large enough to spend a week or more (we were there 3 nights). Very expensive even off season, but most places in that area are pricey. Breakfast is nothing special - only yogurt, bread and coffee/juice. The shower had incredible water pressure but the towels were sandpaper - never had towels so stiff, haha. Very clean and quiet, no complaints there. Some of the staff was very helpful, Nicholas in particular told us about San Fruttuoso (accessible by water taxi not car) and since we really had no plans after Castle Brown we spent 1/2 of the next day on the beach in front of the monastery. I was happy as a clam picking up sea glass and then we ate clams at Ristorante Giorgio!

Room Tip: I read in other reviews that you don't want the first floor. We had rm 20, no views but good ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oppsadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nazionale is a small, cosy and charming hotel perfectly located at the center of Portofino. The rooms are large enough for two persons and very clean. Our room was made twice a day, wich was quite impressive. Few rooms have view to the plaza and to the port but we were not so lucky to be in a such room. The staff is very gentle and helpful. Breakfast is more than satisfactory and the croissants are fresh and delicious. The hotel is a bit noisy as the building is old (normal, given the location) and we could hear the noises from the neighboring rooms, but there wasn't a reason to complain. Last but not least, it is a rather expensive hotel, as everything in Portofino, by the way. Anyhow, we had a great stay in this charming place and would be happy to return here one day.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Stanislav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We where in Genoa and same friends recomand us to go in Portofino for the week end. We arrived by train in Santoa Maegherita Portofino by train, opposite the station we catch the bus to Portofino. We look around for an hotel and we try Hotel Nazionale. Surprise very small hotel but very sweet. A fantastic room looking the lifly square of Portofino. Gently staff and surprise in the surpise a super resturant with frsh fish Fished by Stefano son of the howner Nicola.

Room Tip: ask of the room front sea at the first floor directly to the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cibi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
930 reviews
2.9 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Address: Vico Dritto 3, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: $157 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino: the little piazza with its quaint features, the sheer cliffs above an emerald sea, but devoid of sandy beaches. In the heart of these surroundings stands the ALBERGO NAZIONALE. Here you will enjoy occupying one of the 12 double rooms ncorporating bath, mini-bar, telephone, TV, central heating and/or air conditioning; in short, everything to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. You may also be fortunate enough to occupy a room offering a splendid view of the harbour.Breakfast is provided; the hotel is served by the Restaurant "da Nicola", in which is possible to order a la carte the best specialties of the Ligurian cooking based on fish and superior quality ingredients. Lunch and dinner can also be taken in any one of the many well-known restaurants encircling the piazza.Family management by the proprietors dates back to the early 1900's and their experience ensures an atmosphere of friendly and unpretentious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Portofino
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing