We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay in Portofino”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo Nazionale
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay in Portofino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is worth 4 stars and I will be staying here again. I will start with the cons and they are outweighed by the pros.
Cons - overall hotel is a bit dated but not offensive. Sort of suits the area. Bathroom was cramped.
Pros - the staff were brilliant. Excellent customer service which made the stay. Room 20 was large, it had it's own sitting room (this was considered a standard room - could fit 3-4 people) although this did not have the best view. Breakfast (included) was a continental and was of generous proportions. You cannot beat the location of this hotel as it is situated in the middle of the Portofino port. Staff showed us one of the sea view suites and you will definitely not be disappointed if you chose this room!
Would highly recommend as long as you are not expecting the brass, glass & marble.

Room Tip: If you are choosing the standard option, Room 20 was very large. Had 1 king bed and a fold out couch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MPP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    25
    1
    5
See reviews for
18
97
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

You cannot get a better location than here. you are steps from the harbor with views toward the water, boats & castle. The room was large and efficient - very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was traditional in a very comfortable patio. Great restaurants near by and plenty of easy walks to take near by.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor (one story up) facing the harbor - a perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussZink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

In the best location , in the heart of portofino..Actually the view of the rooms from the balcony gets you another world when you open the windows..It is a small bouitique hotel with very helpfull staff..The rooms are very big, and two floored rooms are very boutique.. You can feel the comfortable sides of this boutique hotel..

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ckorayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked origonally for one night passing through Porto Fino.
The service was so good and the viallge so welcoming we stayed 2 in the end.

The staff and owner were so very very helpful.
We were allowed to take the dog with us to the room and as there was no parking other than the low roofed village car park the hotel even accomodated my husbands very expensive bike that could nbot be left on the car roof due to its height.

We ate in the hotel restaurant which was also very ncie and good choice/value.
Breakfast included in the price and more than sufficient.
We were out of season but it was still so very hot and lovely and peacefull due to the low volume of tourists.

Room Tip: 22 nice and big .quiet on the side road above Pucci!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haigh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend one night in this hotel for a discounted rate because it was the end of the season. The room was large with a loft that had a single bed and there was a queen bed as well. It also had a large bathroom with nice amenities. There was also a dining table in the room. Breakfast was included albeit quite sparse, the best part was looking out on the sea with the waves creating a lullaby for a restful sleep! Also, the restaurant Puny on the lower level had the .BEST curry risotto I've ever tasted. Don't miss that restaurant!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waimeawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie on the road
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a back room on the Alley, it was small, clean and served our needs well. We could have had a front room for twice the money, but I feel this may have been quieter although smaller. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast fine, the rooms clean and the position right on the harbour is lovely. We parked in the public park - and the room was functional. Although the shower rose nearly drowned me - it was fixed to the wall quite high and sprayed everywhere, save your hair washing for this hotel as you will get wet hair.

Room Tip: I suspect in peak season the front rooms could be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Portofino is a gorgeous and picturesque This hotel is one of the oldest in portofino which gives it a lot of character. The location is perfect. It's the only hotel with a direct port view. Rooms are clean and big. The guys at the breakfast area are very friendly. My husband and I really liked this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanz-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#2 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
BEST WESTERN Hotel Regina Elena
#7 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Property: Albergo Nazionale
Address: Vico Dritto 3, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino: the little piazza with its quaint features, the sheer cliffs above an emerald sea, but devoid of sandy beaches. In the heart of these surroundings stands the ALBERGO NAZIONALE. Here you will enjoy occupying one of the 12 double rooms ncorporating bath, mini-bar, telephone, TV, central heating and/or air conditioning; in short, everything to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. You may also be fortunate enough to occupy a room offering a splendid view of the harbour.Breakfast is provided; the hotel is served by the Restaurant "da Nicola", in which is possible to order a la carte the best specialties of the Ligurian cooking based on fish and superior quality ingredients. Lunch and dinner can also be taken in any one of the many well-known restaurants encircling the piazza.Family management by the proprietors dates back to the early 1900's and their experience ensures an atmosphere of friendly and unpretentious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Portofino
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing