We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Albergo Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Nazionale
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. our room was not waterfront and facing the main street in Portofino. this can be loud until 11pm when the restaurants are closing. the room was very clean and coffee and water is for free and the minibar is not overly expensive. a Campari cost 3 Eur. the staff was very friendly and our room had a living room and a sleeping room. we paid 250 eur which is too expensive if the hotel was not in Portofino. the towels are more like towels dry dishes. if we go back to Portofino, we will stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AndiFeiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    68
    25
    1
    6
See reviews for
18
103
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Portofino is one of the most beautiful fishing villages on the Italian Riviera. It’s a shame, although perhaps predictable, that it’s blighted by some of the most over priced hotels and restaurants on the Italian Riviera. This is a prime example. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location, right on the seafront by the main square of the village. The staff were polite enough but that’s where it ended. This is never a 4 star hotel. Anywhere else it would struggle to make 2 stars. Badly plastered whitewashed walls, bare tiled floors, fluorescent lighting, hospital style metal framed beds and a bathroom suite straight out of a public convenience. In fact it was more like a hospital ward or a school dorm than a 4 star hotel. I stayed in October and paid 100 EUR for one night so I wasn’t too bothered. Apparently this was a veritable bargain. Anywhere other than Portofino this would be a 40 EUR per night hotel. I believe in the peak season prices are more than double what I paid. I would not be happy if I paid that kind of money for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t1grm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had a one night stay in Portofino and it is indeed a very nice town. Albergo Nazionale is right in the middle of it and has rooms with harbour view and a private terrace. If you decide to spend you money here, you might as well go all the way and spend (up to) 400 EUR for such a room.

Service was OK as was the room, but neither are a match of a modern 4* chain or lovingly run family business. Albergo Nazionale is all about location and delivers it very well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This is the only WATERFRONT hotel in Portofino... the others are set back from the harbour and simply don't have the views this hotel offers.
Our room was a waterfront view with the bedroom on a mezzanine level. Overall, very clean and cute.
Yes, it is lovely - however like most tourist services in this region, overpriced and a tad unfriendly to foreign tourists.
If you're simply after to-die-for water views and don't mind the service you receive, this hotel will suit you perfectly.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a waterfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikolaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Best quality/price ratio in Portofino, from far.
The hotel is cute, with old-fashion charm but nothing spectacular.
Service is a bit poor for the area but what makes this hotel a must is the location which is perfect and the price (way cheaper than the next door hotel Splendido Mare).
Right on the harbour with an amazing view, close to the restaurants, busy during the day but really quiet after 11pm (when restaurants close).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astartee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This little hotel is very nice we have been there once for 3 days last summer the Junior suite with sea view is worth all the price open the window when you wake up and see this magical "piazzetta" is very nice experience having brekfast in the room overlooking the harbour is the best way to start the day for being in italy the hotel is very nice!!! only problem the parking the hotel dosen't have is own parking you have to leave the car in the pubblic parking that's 150 meter far from the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel prior to knowing too much about it or Portofino. I did however email the hotel prior to going. Basically I have a bad back which precludes me from walking too far or lifting things. This hotel is located approx 250 metres from the car park down a cobbled stone alley ,once there it is a small unassuming hotel with no bar, lift, or restaurant. The room (18) was on the first floor up about 14 steps. It was an extremely sparse room ,more 2 star than 4 and the bathroom was extremely basic. I am a well seasoned traveller but I can quite honestly say I was shocked by the poor quality of the hotel ,it's management and facilities.portofino is a ri off place ,yes it is pleasing to look at ,but the prices of food and drink are astronomical . 8 euro for a battle of beer 17 euro for a gin and tonic.!! It was no wonder the place ,hotel,resort was deserted, in our same trip we went to Sainte Maxime and St Tropez ,both places bustling and tourist friendly.IF YOU WANT MY ADVICE GIVE PORTOFINO AND THIS HOTEL A WIDE BERTH IT'S A RIP OFF

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank David2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eight Hotel Paraggi
Eight Hotel Paraggi
#1 of 1 in Paraggi
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Nazionale

Property: Albergo Nazionale
Address: Vico Dritto 3, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Nazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino: the little piazza with its quaint features, the sheer cliffs above an emerald sea, but devoid of sandy beaches. In the heart of these surroundings stands the ALBERGO NAZIONALE. Here you will enjoy occupying one of the 12 double rooms ncorporating bath, mini-bar, telephone, TV, central heating and/or air conditioning; in short, everything to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. You may also be fortunate enough to occupy a room offering a splendid view of the harbour.Breakfast is provided; the hotel is served by the Restaurant "da Nicola", in which is possible to order a la carte the best specialties of the Ligurian cooking based on fish and superior quality ingredients. Lunch and dinner can also be taken in any one of the many well-known restaurants encircling the piazza.Family management by the proprietors dates back to the early 1900's and their experience ensures an atmosphere of friendly and unpretentious hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Nazionale Portofino
Albergo Nazionale Hotel Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing