We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo Nazionale
Nearby Hotels
$867
Booking.com
View Deal
$2,055
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$679
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$844
$820
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Regina Elena(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
$233
$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Hotel Miramare(Santa Margherita Ligure)
$403
$372
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Anita(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
$223
$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Minerva(Santa Margherita Ligure)(Great Value!)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Hotel Eden(Portofino)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
78
72
27
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
72
27
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbest location in towngreat locationhear the water lappingfrench doorsharbour viewdelightful staffexpensive place to stayfloor to ceiling windowsdining tablevisited portofinodecent sizethe hotel's restaurantincluded breakfastroom was largejunior suiteportofino baythe hotel staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 187 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I booked this hotel prior to knowing too much about it or Portofino. I did however email the hotel prior to going. Basically I have a bad back which precludes me from walking too far or lifting things. This hotel is located approx 250 metres from the car park down a cobbled stone alley ,once there it is a small unassuming hotel with no bar, lift, or restaurant. The room (18) was on the first floor up about 14 steps. It was an extremely sparse room ,more 2 star than 4 and the bathroom was extremely basic. I am a well seasoned traveller but I can quite honestly say I was shocked by the poor quality of the hotel ,it's management and facilities.portofino is a ri off place ,yes it is pleasing to look at ,but the prices of food and drink are astronomical . 8 euro for a battle of beer 17 euro for a gin and tonic.!! It was no wonder the place ,hotel,resort was deserted, in our same trip we went to Sainte Maxime and St Tropez ,both places bustling and tourist friendly.IF YOU WANT MY ADVICE GIVE PORTOFINO AND THIS HOTEL A WIDE BERTH IT'S A RIP OFF

Stayed: March 2012
6  Thank David2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Portofino is a tiny village, very upscale. The hotel
is situated at the port and the front opens on to it.
The views are extraordinary. More important,
you are at the water and there is no sea wall.
The family that owns and operates the hotel
is efficient, friendly, and nice to become acquainted with.
In November, most of Portofino is closed for the
winter and thus the hotel rate of Euro 100 for a night
is a bargain. If you enjoy crowds, come in the summer,
and people watch, yacht watch, and pay dearly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Right in the heart of Portofino, this hotel has a great location. Our room was small, but the bed was comfortable and we had a balcony that was above the local Pizzeria. Funny part was, you had to step out a window to get to it and a little step ladder was provided! The wife and I laughed, but had a pleasant time sipping our drinks on the "veranda" and people watching. Not really a 4 star hotel, but the staff was pleasant & helpful, the view was pretty decent and the atmosphere was worth the stay! I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Travel light!
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank godsmack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in October for our honeymoon. Stayed in room 18 and our only complaint was that our terrace did not face the bay. Regardless we had a terrace the size of a room which was amazing to sit have a drink and or breakfast. The staff was friendly, the location was perfect. Definitely a 4 star based on service and location for Italy. If you go, you have to do the hike to San Fruttosso, but be aware the ferry back stops running at 4:30pm and you can get stuck hiking back two hrs.

Room Tip: Just ask for one.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kais34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I went to Portifino with my husband and absolutely loved it !! a beautiful place. the Hotel was perfectly situated right in the middle of the harbor which was wonderful . the Rooms where a decent size and clean but it is NOT a 4 star Hotel and pretty expensive for what it is . Staff where OK pretty neutral the only annoyance was that they didn't let us stay an extra half hour ( understandable since there are more people coming).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nouhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews