We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot with access to sea and minutes walk from centre of Portofino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great spot with access to sea and minutes walk from centre of Portofino”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This was really our only option to avoid some of the ridiculous prices in Portofino and it was a lovely hotel to boot. We were on the third floor with reasonable views from the balcony. The room had obviously been planned to make the most of the place but while small didn't feel cramped. You can exit the back of the hotel to walk the lanes to the centre or at the front cross down to the sea. We had a quick dip to cool off but otherwise the balcony were more conducive to relaxing. Perfect chooce for visiting Portofino.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullocd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    188
    62
    26
    11
See reviews for
107
381
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am sitting in my room, the night before checking out of the Domina Piccolo. We arrived a few nights ago and have had a really wonderful and relaxing trip. I am somewhat confused by the last two comments about the hotel from other travelers, because our experience with the hotel staff has been quite different. We have found the gentlemen (and they are all men) to be very helpful, friendly, and welcoming. They have provided directions, advice, assistance with properly using the language, restaurant recommendations, and have even made tea for us (when it clearly was not a part of the job). I highly recommend this hotel and room 103....wonderful view of the sea and very spacious.

Room Tip: Sea views with balconies are dreamy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A gorgeous part of the world, and a very beautiful hotel. But the staff were dreadful. Rude, obviously annoyed that they had to deal with guests. They did their best to ruin our wonderful holiday, and our enjoyment of this fabulous place, but they failed. We had a great time anyway. To be honest, the hotel room was tiny, and was about 10m from a hillside road, but it was luxurious, and pristine, so no complaints there. We had the best holiday in Italy, but this stopover was the most disappointing time in the 3 week trip.

Room Tip: Definitely request a sea view, even if it costs more(which it will). Don't travel 18,000k, as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved our stay in Portofino and our terraced suite at the Home Piccolo Hotel. This hotel was our fourth hotel during our visit to Italy but this has been the only hotel where we have been disappointed with the staff. The only time the Hotel Manager was pleasant to us was when we were finalising the account on our departure. None of the men seemed to enjoy their roles which made us wonder why they chose hospitality as their career. We often felt as if we were a burden for the slightest request. The breakfast room did not provide a toaster in which case we had to request the staff to go out into the kitchen to toast. This seemed all too much.
It is unfortunate as the hotel location with its private terraced beach across the road was something that we thoroughly enjoyed.
Our only other criticism is that cleanliness could be improved upon. Housekeeping was a little lacking but we would have overlooked this had the staff been more respectful of their paying guests.

Room Tip: Room 106 - with terrace - recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a fabulous duplex room, with private terrace and a balcony off the bedroom. The hotel staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. The walk into town is five mins and on a lovely private pathway above te main road so again great views.
Do note that if you do not have a hotel reservation, the police limit the number of cars driving to Portofino. Most cars ahead of us were turned away as the park area was full!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chiara0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel offers the best value for money in all of Portofino. Great location just a 5 minute walk along an incredibly beautiful scenic walkway to the centre of Portofino. Stylishly designed hotel with great service, its own private beach with multi level sundecks and beach bar. Choose a room with a sea view as this is the best part of Portofino. Be prepared for the prices in Portofino as they are nothing but a total rip off (double the prices of Florence and no reason why they should be!) See my separate reviews of restaurants and bars in the town. If you decide to splash out and stay in Portofino stay at this hotel as its the only one with the style and service of the Splendido without the rip off price tag!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, the rooms at the back overlook a road. The sea view is what Portofino is all abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breakaway2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel had a very modern look, black and white with clean straight lines. Was a nice change from the traditional hotels we usually stay in. Parking is a bit confusing as the front door is actually right on the street. So be careful when entering. But is easily accessible to the port area and has a beautiful little beach right across the street. We loved being able to go for a swim in the Iberian Sea, clear water. This was our stopping off point for Cinque Terre, one hour away by train.

Room Tip: You have to decide if the sea view upgrade is worth it for you. Our room was on the end and had a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#4 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Portofino

Property: Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Address: Via Duca Degli Abruzzi 31, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Piccolo Portofino 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piccolo Portofino is located in a privileged position, set on the slopes that characterize this exclusive stretch of the Ligurian coast overlooking the Gulf of Tigullio. During the sixties this location became very famous thanks to the protagonists of the star system, the nobles and aristocrats began to populate this fascinating locality to enjoy its exclusive parties and its fantastic scenery. The town of Portofino has remained unchanged all over the times, beautiful to live and to see as well. Hotel Piccolo Portofino, surrounded by the typical luxuriant vegetation of the Liguria Riviera, among the crystal clear water of Portofino and the blue sky, is a piece of art of the reception, unique of its kind. A hidden jewel, that has to be searched end discovered. Obtained from a refined period villa, today it is a boutique hotel, and from its generous terraces a breathtaking view onto this exclusive stretch of coast can be enjoyed. Inside, the contemporary design plays on strong contrasts, with combinations of marbles in white and black, and red velvets, crystals and soft fabrics. The set offers sensations of a refined, exclusive equilibrium and a romantic intimacy. Feelings that find their highest expression in the only 23 rooms of the hotel. Here, among all the comforts suited to the modern traveler, the contrasts are reduced, giving way to the softness of pastel tones, the whiteness of beds and enveloping pillows, to the transparency of the curtains behind which the gaze is lost onto the renowned beauty of this location to emphasize the stunning surrounding landscape A superb touch of exclusivity is added since this year to the range of services which Hotel Portofino is proud to dedicate to its guests. Just five minutes from the Hotel there is the legendary Piazzetta of Portofino, for a walk, a coffee or for a moment of pure relax . Or for shopping in the renowned brand stores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Home Piccolo Hotel Portofino
Domina Hotel Piccolo
Domina Hotel Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing