We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing. So kind. One of a kind. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing. So kind. One of a kind. ”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my wife and 1-year old son in April. We stayed 3 nights and were upgraded to a jr suite.

The staff were all so accommodating in particular with regard to our son. They provided bottle warmer, steriliser and electric kettle and of course a crib. Some of these items were brand new and I think purchased because we requested them. They also had a baby seat for us I'm the transfer from genoa airport (165 eur with tax well spent).

At all points all of the staff were so accommodating and kind. It was very impressive the level of training that everyone had. Absolutely no weak link in our experience.

The terrace view and infinity pool are just outrageous. The food was very good. A bit expensive but standard for a view and orient express hotel. We are totally sold on the chain having been to almost all of the properties but we felt particularly obligated to write with regard to our stay this time.

Breakfast buffet and a la carte were fantastic with full spreads and anything on the menu you can think of.

Day trip to cinque terre quite doable and made very easy by the concierge. Shuttle down to portofino v easy though town is small.

All about the terrace, restaurant, pool.
Felt very comfortable with our little man and was also set up such that we did not need to disturb anyone else given space and flexibility with time of meals etc.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank InvictusBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    98
    33
    25
    24
See reviews for
140
532
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

WOW,WOW,WOW. What a fantastic experience.This Hotel has always been on my WISH LISTand my wife organised this special 4 day stay for us as a 60th Birthday treat,and what A TREAT.The Staff were EXCELLENT,they made sure our every need was taken care of and catered for,very attentive,courteous and helpful,nothing was to much trouble.A special mention must go to Michela,The Assistant Manager and to Carlo The F & B Manager who took time out to say hello and made sure our stay was SPECIAL.A fabulous Hotel in a fabulous place with fabulous staff,who could ask for more.A VERY SPECIAL PLACE.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMArm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Hotel Slendido has been a long overdue review i have been meaning to write. We loved everything about this hotel. The view is a dream, and it is one of the most romantic getaways. If you are worn out after your cinque terre hike make your way over to Hotel Splendido. Sit on your patio and order a nice bubbly prosecco and just relax because it doesn't get more beautiful than this. The rooms are lush but not huge but this I think makes it more comfortable. the service was great and staff extremely friendly. Also, a big note is this is a 5 star resort but not stuffy super classy and no snobbery

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Me spent our one year wedding anniversary and 30th birthday celebration at Splendido. We stayed at the location in town (Splendido Mare) and were happy with our decision. We were upgraded to a wonderful suite with a patio overlooking the bay with all of the yachts and activity. The room was delightfully furnished and filled with fresh fruit daily. We found it fun to travel between the two locations and the hotel shuttle was easy and always available. Hotel Splendido above the town has incredible views - we could have spent days simply sitting by the pool drinking rose, soaking in the sun, and admiring the view. The service was impeccable. I can't think of anything that should be changed. It was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAC1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Splendido and my parents-in-law stayed at Splendido Mare. We all loved staying here and yet again Orient Express group have not let us down. The walk from Hotel to Hotel is fun and if you are feeling lazy the Hotel has a shuttle service. We loved Portofino in general.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamtf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I am very late in posting my review so apologies but have just been looking through the photographs of our wonderful stay here and remembered I still needed to do this.
We stayed for ten days in June of last year to celebrate our wedding and honeymoon, following a visit for our first holiday together a few years earlier when we fell in love with Portofino and the Hotel Splendido. Our room was upgraded to a beautiful suite with a terrace and sea view and I can honestly say that everything was perfect for us from the moment we checked in to the moment we (very sadly) departed - so much so I was actually in tears as we drove away down the winding path to the village! This hotel has a slightly faded but still beautiful old world charm and glamour - if you want ultra luxe and modern this hotel is not for you but the rooms are very pretty and well equipped with everything you could need and the huge bed was amongst the most comfortable I have slept in. AND you get to wake up with the sunshine streaming through the shutters to the gorgeous sound of the songbirds resident in the surrounding cypress tress. The location is second to none and the staff are friendly and attentive and really cannot do enough for you. Our parents were guests for a shorter time at the sister hotel in the harbour, the Splendido Mare, and were equally well looked after.
The hotel is very expensive in every regard but we knew this before we visited and so should you - I think you need to make a decision to accept that if you stay here and then sit back and enjoy it!
Dinner at La Terrazza outside on the terrace if weather permits is a must and the sublime Ligurian speciality of linguini with pesto, potatoes and green beans is unforgettable - I simply cannot recreate it despite my best efforts!
I cannot think of anywhere we would rather have celebrated our wedding and honeymoon and special thanks go to Carlo Lazzeri and his team for helping to make our day so perfect - we very much hope to be able to return soon to this magical location and to stay at this wonderful hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nites at this hotel which we booked thru amex . I should have known there would be problems when we wear first told we would have half board in the reservation and then my travel agent said the hotel said that would not be the case ! I thought perhaps that would change when we arrived but it wasn't. We had a lovely room with a balcony in the lower hotel I asked about the splendido boat being available for guests and was told to take a water taxi and was told to take the local train if I wanted a tour of the cinque terre. We had taken the train from menton so had already done that ! Breakfast was included on the terrace which was lovely. Restaurants were recommended which were very good . Have stayed in many fabulous hotels and must say this one was underwhelming especially given the high cost!

Room Tip: I don't know in this instance !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacheresse_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeMegni, General Manager at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Traveller,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review and for having shared your comments with the TA community.

Since you are reffering to a stay during the month of July 2013 it's quite difficult to understand what could have happened.
Anyhow , as a general information, we usually sell a stay at the Splendido main building on half board basis, while at the Splendido Mare , located in the main Piazzetta of Portofino, on a Bed & Breakfast basis.

This for a very simple reason: guest staying in the village prefer to be ''free'' to taste all Restaurants and Trattoria available in town.

Concerning the taxi boat, of course at this stage I can just guess, probably our Chris & Craft boat on the day you decided to visit the Cinque Terre was already taken, and our Concierge offered you an alternative.

I am really sorry that during your stay or at the check out yyou have not mentioned to our Front desk your discomfort, we could have been able to do something , now I can just apologise if your stay did not meet your epectations.

I hope anthow you will trust us again and visit us in a not too distant future.

Best regards

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Property: Belmond Hotel Splendido
Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing