We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

wow! what a truly beautiful hotel in an amazing location. We spent our 20th wedding anniversary here and we were well looked after. The terrace restaurant was tremendous and the bar staff seemed to have been there for years and they knew their stuff. Room was beautiful overlooking the bay and the short walk into the town was well worth it. Quite expensive so only a place to go on special occasions (unless you are loaded!) We will go back at some point when we've saved up again...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndySING73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 988 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We hadn't stayed here for several years since our children were born but it remains the benchmark in service and quality. My fears prior to arriving that standards would have slipped somehow over the years wee completely unfounded and blown away within a few minutes of arriving with the numerous 'welcome home' we received as many of the staff remain the same.

The rooms are not overly modern but are very comfortable - the beds are the best I have ever slept in.

The food remains divine and whilst the terrace bar is a great place to start the evening the main bar a fantastic place to end it!

The hotel now also has a great kids club staffed by the wonderful Terri, our kids were so sad to leave after our short few days there!

I would still take 3 days here over a week in nearly any other 5 star hotel in Europe!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

It's the service that makes the difference, from your luggage being whisked away effortlessly, to the waiter remembering your name and preferences after meeting you once. This hotel is not for the budget conscious. However, having said that, we were delightfully surprised when we checked in that we had half board (breakfast and lunch or breakfast and dinner) included. The rooms are sparse, but well appointed. The balcony was small, but in October it was rainy and cool. The food at Hotel Splendido was fantastic, and the selection was varied and excellent. They also were very willing to accommodate if you wanted an item not on the menu. However, our one meal at Splendido Mare was not as good, either the food or the service, so we ate quickly and quickly headed back to the main hotel.
While campy, the piano player was extremely entertaining and did flatter the ladies. It was fun, entertaining and delightfully carefree, as I even danced with one of the waiters.
A good hotel for women travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeMegni, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Traveller,

First of all let me thank you for taking trouble to comment your recent stay at Hotel Splendido.
It is through the comments and suggestions of our Guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve service and facilities.

You highlighted that your meal at our Restaurant ''Chuflay Bar'' did not meet your expectations. Most unfortunately I have no opportunity to understand now what could have happened with the info you provided, in case you wish, you can of course contact us giving more details, we are at your entire disposal for any additional question you may have.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is like stepping into a caricature of a hotel that Americans ( and Michael winner) love ... Fawning staff ( but only if you don't show any sign of being cost conscious, and are dripping in jewellery), a completely outdated view of evening entertainment ( sequinned jacket wearing piano player during dinner, who then moves into the bar and invites guests to sing whilst winking at the women). The rooms are characterless with dreadful pictures, there aren't enough loungers for everyone ( and there is no privacy as everyone is squashed together), and the gym is tiny. And we were charged for playing half an hour of tennis on the tennis court, which is hard to book as a local coach seems to monopolise it! Go for a drink, see the view, and people watch, but don't bother staying!

Room Tip: The whole point of the hotel is its view, but if you spend your time on the terrace, you probably do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0gli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeMegni, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Traveller,

First of all let me thank you for your comments shared with the TA community.

Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations of which we have built, throughout the years, the succes of the Splendido and, more generally speaking, of all our Hotels world-wide.

I have therefore taken very seriously every point and it is certainly thanks to suggestions of our Guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve our service and facilities.

In going into the matter for the forthcoming season we will have brand new fitness facilities, while I would like to point out that the Hotel Tennis court is reserved only for Hotel Guests and only through our Concierge. The Tennis Pro is not taking care of reservations. If there was a misuderstanding, for this, I can only ask you to accept my sincere apologies.

As you probably know the Splendido is a historical building and all rooms are different in size, décor and typology: this is the main pecularity of the house.

Since we totally respect our Clients' preferences and requests we immediately move Guests, if at all possible, to a different accommodation if they do not like their room. Most unfortuantely I have no record that the room allocation provoked a sort of frustration to you, otherwise we would have handeled this immediately.

Finally I am sorry that you did not not like the musical entertainment in the evening, that is usually well appreciated.

I hope this few lines will help you to better understand the situation and trust us again in the future.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, I remain,

With my very best regards,

Ermes De Megni
General Manager
Hotel Splendido & Splendido Mare
Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A really nice traditional property, stunning views over Portofino. The only way to do Portofino. The best thing was the wonderful terrace and outdoor dining. Food was delicious, both at breakfast and dinner, service was good too. Option to dine at Splendido Mare in town was also great. Nice pool, very relaxing to float in the salt water. Generally staff were very friendly. I found the hotel and clientele slightly too old-fashioned and staid however, e.g. the room decor befits a 5 star hotel of the 1990s and the fitness and gym area is small and spartan.

Room Tip: Take a half board package to take advantage of the beautiful food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeMegni, Direttore generale at Belmond Hotel Splendido, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Traveller,

First of all let me thank you for taking time and trouble to comment your recent stay at Hotel Splendido. It is through the comments and suggestions of our Guests, no matter whether positive or negative, that we can improve service and facilities.

Attention to detail and personalised service are the foundations on which we have built, throughout the years, the success of the Splendido and, more generally speaking, of all our hotels world-wide. I have therefore taken very seriously every point of your comments. I really appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it's my hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Ermes De Megni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Portofino has a lot of hotels and many with beautiful views of the Mediterranean. But the Hotel Splendido is unique in its service and atmosphere. It feels like a hotel from the olden days where guests are part of the community. The service is discreet and efficient. The lunches and dinners are wonderful. Have a drink at the bar after dinner and you'll enjoy some live piano music and singing. Guests join in on the singing. The rooms are spacious and quiet. There is a tennis court on the property. The shuttle runs every 20 minutes or so to the village of Porfofino when we were there (October). Some of the best views are from the pool side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the sea vs the tennis court. You'll have a better view from that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Went on our honeymoon and the staff was fantastic! We got an upgrade to the junior suite... The views everywhere you look are unbelievable. The rooms restaurants and hotel as a whole are perfection. The hiking trail to Santa Margharita is pretty cool too!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariaghaddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 6 in Portofino
328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 6 in Portofino
137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: $797 - $3,869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing