We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with a splendido location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Hotel Splendido for our honeymoon as my husband and I like the leading hotels of the world recommendations and have not been disappointed by any of our choices so far. The location speaks for itself the hotel has amazing views and immaculate grounds. We were greeted on arrival by the very friendly reception staff and were escorted to our suite. The room was very clean and well equipped but disappointed not to have a balcony, lovely Penhaligons & Bvlgari toiletries were refreshed every day and we were given fresh fruit and Prosecco compliments of the manager which we thought was a nice touch. The pool is small and was very busy although there are additional bathing areas with fantastic views however the pool service was quite slow at times in these areas as they concentrated more on those around the pool. For lunch and dinner booking a
table is a MUST unless you want to eat very early. On the first night we didn't and it did lead it to be quite a chaotic dining experience.
The food was fantastic and the waiters could not have been more friendly and gave us excellent local menu recommendations. The service at lunch and dinner was very good. If you enjoy fine wine the menu is extensive however a very basic bottle of wine starts around 70 Euros with the price building rapidly toward what we would have considered the more modest! If you are staying on half board you have the option to take either lunch or dinner as your meal choice. If you plan to have both meals at the hotel go for dinner as your half board option as a basic lunch for 2 in the pool restaurant with a bottle of local wine is in excess of 100 Euros. We had Pizza and salad most days and it was delicious!
The bar area is pleasant but the service was often quite slow on an evening even when it didn't appear to be so busy. Cocktails and most drinks were very expensive compared to hotels of a similar standard that we have stayed at previously. The hotel provides a pianist every evening as entertainment in the bar with a pleasant range of background music played. The music gets a little more upbeat after dinner and although not to our taste it seemed to be enjoyed by some of the groups who were there on private charter cruise stops. Breakfast was very good with the choice of having silver service delivery to your room at no extra charge. The mini bar in the room is very expensive but has a good selection of drinks and snacks
available. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Splendido it has the feel of Harry's bar in Venice and Hollywood glamour in atmosphere and decor. I would recommend this hotel for its location, food and service but be prepared to pay premium prices to enjoy your drinks while you take in the Splendido view!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherryb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 987 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was the first time I had been to the Splendido in twenty years. Hardly anything has changed....the hotel oozes charm and tranquility. We booked a suite this time, since we had our eleven year old with us. The prices in Italy are very high, and the Splendido does not go against the grain. This is a hotel that is extremely expensive. But you do get what you pay for; the food is delicious, the setting is stunning, service is excellent and the rooms are beautiful (if a little tired).
Hermes de Megni runs a very good operation. He is frustrated from doing modernisation due to the fact that the hotel is set in a national park, and everything needs consent.
The main negative points are that the fitness centre is woeful (Hermes knows this and is addressing the problem), and the paving around the pool gets extremely hot, and one has to wear shoes to preven your feet getting burnt!
All in all...this hotel deserves a top rating...but you do pay for it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Splendido for three nights when we had intended to stay for only one, on our way from Lake Como to Tuscany. The setting and the hotel are magnificent. Evening dinners served on the terrace restaurant are an experience. The rooms are small but the warmth and hospitality of the staff more than makes up for that. As I said we extended our stay and would have stayed longer if we could.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiantiesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Returning for a fourth visit, is probably sufficient testament to an extraordinary experience.

Sitting majestically above the bay of Portofino, enveloped by lush vegetation and discretely exclusive, the Splendido retains its extraordinary style. It does this of course, at an extraordinary price to its guests, but with almost unrivalled service, ambience and sheer luxury.

The traditions are everywhere, photographs of distinguished past guests, an understated elegance, and a level of service, too infrequently found in Europe. Italy may be decaying, but the Splendido remains an example of one the country's many treasures. This is magnificence without ostentation.

In particular the high level of service is achieved in a subtle and delightfully old fashioned manner. If you want to play tennis with one of the finest pros I have ever found at any hotel in the world, you find it with Flavio Marzano - good manners and charm and tennis expertise are rarely found all wrapped up in one individual.

Antonio - the maître d’hôtel/bar has seen it all before, but even if he has never seen you, will make you feel important and unusually welcome. And if you want a pianist/entertainer with art and fair, you have it with Vladi, he ensures your evening is a little richer when you retire to your room.

To be very critical – I noted that a guest who had stayed there over 5 times before was asked on departing if he had stayed before. Equally on arrival, I was not greeted with “welcome back….”..these are small details, but details that matter when the price is so high, and technology enables, especially at the reception desk! This was not found elsewhere in the hotel, where staff were sharper.

Simon

Overall- Majestic, magnificent and memorable. The management must just remember that just as Italy has slipped economically over time , so the hotel must strive to be the very best and take nothing for granted.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Another grand stay at the lovely Splendido Mare. After having visited every year since they opened this property, it feels like a second home to my wife and myself. Best staff , location, food and accommodations in the world. Every evening a special event at Chuflay Bar restaurant. Like staying with good friends at their villa. Can' wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea, with balcony, are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff in both hotels was excellent and very accomodating.
The rooms at the Mare was small but very nice.
The food at the Mare was Spectacular.
Staff was over the top and made the stay extra special.

Room Tip: rooms facing the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having stayed at many of the great hotels I have high expectations. Splendido did not let me down. The hotel is gorgeous and the General Manager and staff have a wonderful "can-do" attitude. We were upgraded to a lovely suite with a super view and tiny balcony. The bed was very comfortable and they provided the blanket which I had requested. I loved sitting by the excellent saltwater pool, swimming some laps and watching the boats come and go in the harbour. The food was very good the first night at the restaurant and we had a magical table overlooking the view. Other times the food was good, not great. A little more creativity in the menu would add a lot, especially the restaurant Mare in the village.
What really topped it off was the wonderful personality and performance of piano bar man Vladimir! His interaction with guests was outstanding and he loved getting everyone involved. I am a professional soprano and loved performing with him during my stay. It was a real highlight!
This is one special occasion hotel. I left feeling relaxed, happy and pampered. A hard experience to beat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
930 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: $592 - $3,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing