We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel splendido in Portofino was our first stop in our Italy adventure, and I think it spoiled us quite a bit. The town itself is a rare gem, and the hotel matched it to a T. We stayed at the hilltop location, which provided us with the incredible sights that cannot be put into words, but rather an experience to witness.
We were first put in a standard room, as the upgrade wasn't available the first night, and it was quite small yet charming. The move to the suite really was worth the wait, giving us much more room and a small terrace to further enjoy the views. The amenities were plentiful and extensive. The staff was polite and helpful.
Overall, the hotel and its surrounding location is a stop that cannot be missed, and it feels as authenticItalian as you can get. You cannot go wrong with this choice in location and accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 987 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had the room 491, and our friends room 492, was like having a private area for us, the rooms were big and remodeled, we love the hotel, the pool overlooking the PORTOFINO breathtaking view, I can't express the beauty of this place, you have to see it!!!!!

Room Tip: 491 big suite, beautiful decoration!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtaratuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Most suites at the Splendido hillside building are really great. The view is breathtaking. The hotel service is excellent. All food and restaurants are great. Their strong attention to details makes everything nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alsherebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

definite difference between the main building and the one at the city - nevertheless - it works fine.. It is grandiose at the main building , view, service, garden...
at Spendido Mare where we stayed - room was beautiful, small and cozy!! Dinner was great, breakfast not so much (no cheese, cappuccino came in a glass...) excellent view of the pier....great atmosphere..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank triconico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Portofino is quite an experience: it's a small charming place with privileged sea views. Splendido Hotel is on top of a hill, overlooking the place. When we first got up there and checked the view we've seen in pictures ourselves, we both felt we were in the right place.
The hotel is all about excellence: form and function definitely together and a staff that made our experience outstanding. The pool restaurant buffet is a great choice for a healthy and delicious meal if you just want an informal near to the sun option. The main restaurant is more formal and just the right choice for a romantic evening. But the Splendido Mare restaurant, down at the city, was an even greater experience, mainly because of their staff attention and the great pianist delighting us with beautiful songs. For the ones who like us love wine, you'll find great options for a fair price. Another thing to add: they have a small, but well maintained fitness room - and here something that shows their attention to details. The restrooms besides the fitness room were impeccably clean and had the same amenities available in the rooms. When checking out, as they knew where we're heading to, they told us how the weather was in our destination and the directions to get there. And for a great finale, when we got to our car, not only our luggage were already (and properly) accommodated, but they were cleaning our car windshield. We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tukis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My parents took me and my two sisters and our husbands here in May 2013 after a visit to Villa d’Este on Lake Como. Wow…what an experience! Paired with the charming town of Portofino, this has got to be the best vacation spot in Italy. We have stayed in other luxury hotels in Italy and this is our favorite. The view is stunning and the setting is like a dream. We loved lying by the pool and watching the different boats sail into Portofino. The food was excellent and the breakfast each morning was a highlight. It’s pricey, but worth every penny. We loved sitting in the bar every night with the piano player, Vladi. He was great and very entertaining. We also loved Antonio. He really went out of his way to make our stay special. We did have one incident where the maid knocked on my parent’s suite and yelled at my mother for leaving a few towels outside the door… this was unacceptable. All in all, we had the perfect stay and are already planning our next visit. Only next time we come we will stay a week instead of 4 nights!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cricket84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Splendido as a couple, as part of a friends' birthday celebration as a group of 30 people. While my preference is for modern hotel. there is something to be said about real old world Italian luxury hotels. And luxury it is. From remembering you name, your personal preference of still or sparkling water, to the overly wonderful amenities in the bathrooms (Penhaligon, Molton Brown, AND Bulgari). The scent of Jasmine as you walk outside the hotel to the magnificent gardens all add to it. The views are unparalleled and service really doesn't get better than this. The bedding is real linen and the fresh flowers in each room add to the opulence. Bathrooms in white marble are sensational.
The food was sensational and each course a treat. This is definitely one of the finest establishments i have stayed at.

Room Tip: I would assume every room is fantastic. All face the Port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc-hirschowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 6 in Portofino
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 6 in Portofino
328 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 6 in Portofino
137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
Hotel Santa Margherita Palace
#6 of 20 in Santa Margherita Ligure
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range: $765 - $3,781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing