We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendido is Splendido”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Splendido is Splendido”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Its all true. This place is wonderful. Stay in a Balcony room on the high levels at the pool end of the hotel. The rest will take care of it self. This is how you do it. This is the place you will remember and dream about coming back to.

Multo bene grazie.

Room Tip: HIgher levels, pool end. I prefer the Main hotel not the mare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drswoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    95
    32
    25
    22
See reviews for
136
520
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Here you'll encounter perfection at its best from the beautiful settings in which this superb hotel is located to the impeccable service.
Everything ooze understated luxury. With complete knowledge on how to satisfy customers and make them feel special Orient Express
and it’s wonderfully trained staff has taken the art of Hostellerie on to a new level.
Want more can one say it say PERFECT from the start to the end, the only downside being having to leave this heavenly paradise… ;-)

However, do not confuse Splendido with it’s smaller sister Splendido Mare. You want the “Grande Dame” !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xofi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful few days in Portofino, staying at the Hotel Splendido Mare. From the welcome when we arrived, to the time we left, we have nothing but praise for the hotel and staff. The rooms were elegant, comfortable and spotless, The standard of housekeeping is 100% The freshly cooked breakfasts were superb, and the staff so helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect, with a number of restaurants on your doorstep. The hotel restaurant offered great food, with views of the bustling harbour. just magnificent!

Just a perfect hotel, where the staff make you feel so welcome.We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stay at the small hotel in the Portofino harbor. Customer service was Excellent, rooms very cute and romantic and all experience PERFECT. I highly recommend the morning buffet with the view to harbor and square. They have about 200 home made preserves and jams and jelly. I need to go back, because I don't try them all ;) Amazing spot for couples.

Room Tip: Hotel is very small and some rooms don't have the best view. You need to make your reservation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Splendido for four nights to celebrate his birthday. Everything was perfect and that's all down mainly to the staff who are clearly highly trained. Their motto is: "If you're happy, we're happy".The best of the staff is Antonio who is always around to cater for your every whim. Each evening the in house painist Vladi entertained us with some good music and also encouarged the guests to join in his quiz about composers and films associated with the music he played - he's great fun and very knowledgable. The food serving good regional dishes was excellent with good service. The staff took the trouble to deliver my husband's birthday gft with a flourish. Our only concern when we checked in was that our room was small with the tiniest of balconies on the 4th floor. I mentioned this to the front of house staff and we were moved the next day to a lovely spacious room on the first floor with a large terrace complete with sun loungers,table and chairs where we could dine overlooking Portofino bay. Perfecto, perfecto, perfecto !!

Room Tip: This hotel is exensive but you get what you pay for. The Restaurant is full most evenings - a testa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ph00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel Splendido is the right place for your escapade to Portofino and also for a trip to Conqueterre. the Hotel is perfectly located, everybody does their best to make you confortable.
Spa is there for you to relax after a day of wandering around. Maybe not the best professional therapists but they will they care of you. Dinner is a must although a bit lengthy and the service lacks a bit of speed. But who cares you are there to relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjfm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our favorite stop in Italy. Hotel Spendido was beautiful and the grounds were spectacular. The food was fantastic. We had breakfast on our balcony one morning that overlooked the bay. What a view! Words can't describe it. We also had a couples garden massage. You could hear the birds, the ocean, the occasional moped honk. The sounds were very satisfying and relaxing. When we return we will include the Hotel Splendido!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Property: Belmond Hotel Splendido
Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing