We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel Splendido

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Belmond Hotel Splendido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed for two nights with my wife as part of a week's road trip on the Riviera.
As you will see from my profile, I stay at a lot of hotels for business (and pleasure) and I'm currently trying to decide if this is perhaps the best place I've ever stayed.
It's expensive, very expensive but, it is also super high class for service, food, rooms, position and quality.
I really couldn't fault any aspect of our stay and I'm really trying in order to give a balanced view but I even think the cost of staying here is completely worth it! Two nights were enough with our limited assets but there were families of 5 spending two weeks there which would knock a hole in £20k!!
I think that if you were to pick this place up and put it in the middle of a big city, you may slightly lessen your opinion but it overlooks one of the worlds' prettiest places and because of this, it is impossible not to take this into account when reviewing.
So, I've decided, this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in and I and to return soon. Many people say that winning the lottery wouldn't change their lives....... Well it would mine because I'd book in here for a month immediately!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    94
    32
    25
    22
See reviews for
134
513
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aldington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay.Top end agents booked trip not taking the trouble to secure the room that we hoped for and expected, so, first night was in a beautiful room but it overlooked the car park.
Next morning i spoke to Lucca the Maitre de and he was so kind and helpful, moving us to a room with a balcony large enough for us to sit on , overlooking the sea.That was what i had originally expected. The Manager met us and went overboard to ensure that we had a great stay in this wonderful hotel, very kind and considerate. All of the staff were very professional and attentive, especially Joanna, providing excellent service.. The position of the restaurant is wonderful , overlooking the bay.However, the food was not that special and very , very expensive.
the hotel and portofino is so very expensive but , if you have arrived in this lovely place you just have to bite the bullet.

Room Tip: try to move away from the tennis court/ car park end as you may get traffic noise and not a very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calleywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

If there was one perfect hotel in the world,it must be the Splendido in Portofino.Not only is the view out of this world,but the care taken for the service,the ambiance of the hotel,the quality of the food is exceptional.The staff are practically all oldtimers and treat the hotel like their home.The manager,Ermes de Megni,runs the hotel like a maestro which he is.I stayed two nights and did not want to leave at all!The smell of wisteria over the Terazza,the main restaurant was heavenly.
The Splendido mare,the sister hotel on the Piazetta in Portofino town has an exceptional piano bar.Not be missed!

Room Tip: Any room with a view,though the suites on the 5th floor,though t beautifully done have balconies but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cemre_birand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our 4th visit to the Splendido was again such a fabulous experience. It is heaven - gorgeous rooms with balconies overlooking the harbour. The staff are so attentive and kind. Each evening an amazing pianist plays during dinner and continues after in the bar with one of the waiters accompanying him. Guests get up and dance and even sing! The food is wonderful - fresh fish prepared at the table with perfectly cooked vegetables and homemade pasta.It rained during our latest visit, however this didn't ruin our enjoyment of one of the best hotels in the World!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel are preferable rather than in the annexe. Some rooms have lovely large balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, la
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked our April stay in October; we paid the rate up front to get the best nightly rate. The hotel closes in November and opens in April; the rates for the next opening season are not typically out until September or Octboer, so if the hotel website states the dates are not available...it means they do not have the pricing and are not making the reservations yet. Getting there:
Once we arrived from Venice via train in Santa Margherita we realized that we missed the boat...we literally missed the boat to Portofino. If you arrived on your own and not via taxi or private car you need to know there is a private shuttle in the town of Portofino that will take you to the hotel. You wait outside of the Pharmacie and the hotel Splendido van will pick you up.
We did not know this and since we missed the boat to Portofino, we opted for the bus. We took the bus and one stop is at the foot of the Hotel Splendido hill. We jumped off and walked with our luggage up the hill...big mistake! This is quite a hike up hill; get off at the stop in town and take the shuttle.
Service
Needless to say, we were sweating perfusely when we arrived at the top of the hill. The valets/doormen came runinng down and grabbed our luggage. They swiftly took it away and escorted us to the front desk. The front desk was AMAZING...they upgraded us to a balcony ocean view suite; this was beyond words. The front desk agent took us to the room and showed us around.The rooms are not decorated with the most stylish up to date decor; however, they are comfortable, homey and very nice. Our bags arrived shortly after as did a bottle of cold Proseco! We enjoyed the refrehsing proseco and the view. We then took the shuttle to town and walked around.
Breakfast/Drinks
Breakfast is a MUST; you eat on the patio overlooking the amazing view. Drinks can be outside or inside at the bar...they are expensiv, but the piano singer makes you forget that:).
Pool:
Unbelievable...perfect place to relax from jet lag!

If you make it to Portofino, do whatever you can to stay here...you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blissfulbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Corner suite is a must! Two balconys over looking the ocean. Both offering amazing views. Wisteria hanging over terrace. Smell of flowers and the sound of the ocean and birds, creates a one of a kind experience. This will be hard to top!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had dinner on the terrace there and it cost over €350 for two of us which only included two glasses of wine. It also Nuvo Cuisine dining, so you don'y get much for your money, but the view is worth it. Wayne Rooney had his wedding reception here, so that should give you an idea of it's exclusivity.

Room Tip: Ask for a tablr near the side of the terrace overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravensworth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portofino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
#2 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eight Hotel Portofino
Eight Hotel Portofino
#3 of 5 in Portofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Nazionale
Albergo Nazionale
#4 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anita
Hotel Villa Anita
#1 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#5 of 5 in Portofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Splendido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Splendido

Property: Belmond Hotel Splendido
Address: Salita Baratta 16, 16034 Portofino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Portofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Splendido 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside over Portofino, Belmond Hotel Splendido is surrounded by fragrant pine trees and peaceful olive groves. Belmond Splendido Mare is a little bit closer to the action, being right on the world-famous Piazzetta. A continuous complementary shuttle service is offered between Belmond Hotel Splendido and Belmond Splendido Mare. Belmond Hotel Splendido - Set in four acres of romantic tropical gardens with superb palm trees, Belmond Hotel Splendido overlooks the bay of Portofino. It boasts 67 guest rooms including 1 single room, 23 double rooms, 31 junior suites and 12 suites. Most rooms have balcony or terrace offering views of the Bay of Portofino. Guests can relax by the heated salt-water pool or at the wellness centre, enjoy a game of tennis at the tennis court or explore the gulf with a private boat, while children have fun at the dedicated Kids’ Club. La Terrazza Restaurant serves delicious Ligurian specialties with a view over the Gulf of Portofino, while the Pool Restaurant is perfect for an informal buffet-style lunch, snacks or a pizza. The Cocktail & Piano Bar offers aperitifs, after-dinner cocktails and live piano music every evening. Belmond Splendido Mare - Belmond Splendido Mare has 16 rooms including 10 double rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 suites, all elegantly decorated and furnished. Most have balconies with superb views of the harbour and the village. Dining at the Chuflay Restaurant, bordering the Piazzetta, is a true Dolce Vita experience. Belmond Splendido Mare shares all the facilities with Belmond Hotel Splendido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Belmond and Travelocity so you can book your Belmond Hotel Splendido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendido Hotel Portofino
Splendido Resort Portofino
Hotel Splendido Portofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing