We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a real Trattoria should be.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna del Marinaio

Taverna del Marinaio
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Famiglia Portofinese, ristoratori da 6 generazioni
Wilson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a real Trattoria should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

the owner who speaks perfectly French greets you at the entrance and help you select the greatest fish dishes we had in Italy.
The food and of course the best location on the port make for an incredible experience. We went twice in two days

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank winefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    127
    29
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“deliciously italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a lovely dinner here. Amazing staff and amazing mussels with cheese, garlic and tomato. Great prices!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank livi_6567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably one of the worst restaurants I have ever been to ...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have just come back from a lovely week on the Italian Riviera. The holiday lived up to all I've come to love about Bella Italia; "great weather, beautiful towns & cities, animated & excited locals" that was until I booked a table for my birthday dinner at "taverna Del Marinaio" in Portofino!
I don't normally feel the urge to write a review - BUT on this occasion, I quite simply have to! With the exception of perhaps a few school dinners & my grandmother's cooking this was the worst & most overpriced meal I have ever had.
As a starter I had "Tomato & Anchovies", and that is exactly what I got: 3 slices of tomato, cut in halves, ringing an oval shaped dish, with in the middle 4 "tinned" (not fresh!) anchovies... nothing more, nothing less ... could this have been the work of an apprentice chef on his first day??? Really?! ad this at the snip of Euro 14!
The mains: I had the local fish which was, if I'm being nice, "slightly over cooked". My girlfriend opted for the veal - "an excellent choice", I hear you think - alas, not when dining at "Taverna del marinaio". To put it bluntly, the veal resembled worn out leather soles. I have had better veal in kebab shops along the Uxbridge Road in Shepherds Bush & Acton. This was a crime against cooking.
And now for the piece de resistance; the deserts. We opted for that most famous of Italian Dolci, "Tiramisu" .... well it came straight out of the freeer. Pizza Express (for those of you who are not familiar "Pizza Express, it's an English chain of Italian restaurants) does Michellin starred deserts/puddings compared to this sad excuse for a restaurant.
Ladies & gents, I'm sure that there are great restaurants in Portofino (I'm happy to recommend "O Magazin") but avoid this place.
Yours sincerely,
Pvdb

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank petervdbussche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have never eaten such an amazing seafood pasta. OMG Unbelievable!
Better to reserve a table outside. The owner and his stuff are very friendly and professional.
They keep taking care of your table during the entire dinner (changing bread, ashtray, pouring the wine and water)
We ordered fried calamari, crispy and very well cooked, dry with no oil in excess. A seafood salad, you could tell the fish was very fresh. and the seafood pasta. OMG!!! Absolutely amazing! I have never eaten such a good pasta. Drunk a nice bottle of roseé wine and a shot of limoncello. and paid just 108 euros for both of us!
We were surprised how lucky we were to hae a such good experience in Portofino at a such good price!
We will definetely be back and are suggesting this restaurant to any friends we know in Portofino.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank BarbieChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

was average to good compared to the remainder of the places in portfolio. it was fairly priced and service was good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYGinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna del Marinaio also viewed

Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Taverna del Marinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing