We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place...too Expensive for What it Is”

Chuflay Restaurant at Belmond Splendido Mare
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chuflay Restaurant conjures up the glamour of decades past. Dine inside, or take a seat on the terrace bordering the bustling Piazzetta. The sophisticated charm of the restaurant has attracted famous guests such as James Cameron, Ronald Howard and Rod Stewart.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place...too Expensive for What it Is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent Service and great menu, and we were completely aware that we would be "paying for the location", but prices were inflated to the point that it became a bit silly. Right on the waterfront in Portofino the views are great and relaxing, and the live music is a plus. The ubiquitous pesto (born in Liguria) was good, but had better in "mom and pop" restaurants in Santa Margherita Ligure, a few kilometers north at a fraction of the price. Fish and seafood was terrific and exceptionally fresh. Probably wouldn't go again, but if you want the experience and are aware the bill will be crazy high (650 Euro for four people with wine no more than 100 EU), the food is great, location is wonderful and it is a good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjm223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    58
    34
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special occasion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We ate dinner here for my husband's birthday and were not disappointed! We had a great table right on the harbor. Although it was a little on the chilly side that night (it was early June and unusually chilly) the heat lamps kept us warm. We had a wonderful meal - the eggplant appetizer is delicious! Pesto pasta and steak were presented very nicely and were flavorful and filling. But the star of our meal had to be the dessert - chocolate mousse with mint ice cream - oh my goodness, it was amazing! The piano music added to the atmosphere and it was so nice to relax by the harbor with a glass of wine and take it all in. I would definitely go back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLov314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Close to Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This restaurant wins on all counts. I cannot recommend highly enough their absolutely delicious Melanzane to start (best in Italy), the super-tasty prawn and courgette tagliatelle, followed by the perfectly seasoned, tender rack of lamb. For dessert, they have the best tiramisu. You can't go wrong with this gem of a restaurant situated on the piazzetta with a lovely outdoors area. Sophisticated, yet relaxed. Wonderful service. Expensive, as you would expect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked lunch before we left UK. We were on a Silverseas cruise and have always wanted to see the famous hotel. It did not disappoint. Views were fantastic and food so simple but wonderful!
We had 3 courses ( don't miss dessert), and not as expensive as we had read previously on trip advisor. There was no pressure from waiters to have more courses. We also had a great bottle of red for 35 euros. As it was a bit cloudy the day we were there, we had a drink inside ....the best Bellini I have ever had! Just got to be done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

top, top experience..spetacular location - great drinks at the Varanda over seeing the see and gorgeous boats. great menu..make it a long dinner to savor it all

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank triconico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuflay Restaurant at Belmond Splendido Mare also viewed

Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Chuflay Restaurant at Belmond Splendido Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing