We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pasta Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Puny

Ristorante Puny
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Portofino
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pasta Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent the day in Portofino an stopped here for lunch. We were not disappointed! The homemade pasta with a pesto/tomato sauce was out of this world! I would go back just for that. And, of course, the house wine was fabulous! The service was good and the entertainment was thoroughly enjoyable! And the location is perfect! I highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    104
    36
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Way overpriced + overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Made a special trip here because of all the amazing reviews. OMG! Sooo disappointing. Food was extortionate and teeny tiny portions. It was standard simple fare that you would find in a tiny Italian village for a tenth of the price. Left feeling quite angry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rezzan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent service, local delicacies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the fried mixed seafood plate and the specialty of the house pasta. They were both very tasty although there could have been a bigger serving of the pasta. The mixed salad was very good. We had our toddler with us and they looked after her really well. Quick and attentive service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzySanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a long weekend in Portofino. We managed to have lunch on our last day at Puny, and it definitely was the best meal we had in three days, although we dined at hotel Splendido and at O Magazin during our stay. Mr. Puny himself welcomed us and suggested some dishes. We had octopus with artichoke, tasty and tender, incredibly fresh local prawns (gamberi di santa margherita) baked with a rosemary and olive oil dressing, followed by homemade pasta with a pesto/tomato sauce, excellent! There is a good dessert selection and a extensive wine list. Service was attentive and friendly, you just have this wonderful "totally at home" feeling that makes you forget you are actually having lunch in one the most reviewed and appreciated restaurant in the world. Not cheap, but reasonable on Portofino standards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The handmade pasta with pesto combined with a tomato sauce is fabulous. They use a different type of pesto, it is called Pesto di Pra, and for some reason it combines well with a little bit of tomato sauce, it was truly excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Puny also viewed

Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 
Portofino, Italian Riviera
Portofino, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Ristorante Puny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing