We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
25
70
42
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
70
42
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel tour group room was spacious cinque terre spent one night would stay here again liguria
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 149 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

The location is central in the walking zone of town, the owner/manager is nice and helpful.
We spent a good and quiet night in the quite big room.
We had a double bed and a single bed for the two of us, which were quite good.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank swiss_cassowary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Our main location in Italy was Castelnuovo del Garda. My wife and my daughter would be happy if we could visiit the Cinque Terre while in Italy. So we drove southwest to La Spezia. The city which is the departing location visiting by train the fiive small picturesque seside spots of Cinque Terre.
As soon as we arrived at La Spezia we search for a central situated hotel. We found that hotel Genova was located ideally in the centre. We stayed at a triple room.
The room was spacious, clean, airconditioned, with spacious bathroom. Free wifi was available in the rooms and the breakfast area was a very quiet and cool area in the ground floor that was in a garden. The breakfast was good and enough to start a full day tour.
My wife liked this hotel and perhaps she could rated 5 stars but II would recommend the owners to proceed to a kind of renovation to the furniture and to the rest of the room and the common areas of the hotel. All in the hotels were bringing memories of the late 70s not because the concept was that but because the hotel was left as it was 30 years ago.
We spent one night so I do not have much more to say.

Room tip: Choose an upper floor. Our room was on the 1st floor and the windows had iron protectiive bars.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

The concierge at the Hotel Genova refused to give us a copy of their map, even after I explained to her the tourist info point was unavailable. Won't stay there if this is what passes for Hospitality. The hotel smelt.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio C, Direttore at Hotel Genova, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

If you spent your holiday in b&b nearby our hotel, it is not kind to use us as a tourists information center. So "the hotel smelt" just because you did not have what you asked for ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

Worst Hotel I've ever stayed in.. And I've stayed in some fu@king hotels.

This is the Italian version of Faulty Towers. I'm not sure if they use the show as a training video or what but for a start there is no parking, no wifi or hot water. It is also conveniently situated next door to the loudest church bell in Italy that chimes EVERY 30min. They have also decided that if bell isn't enough to stop people sleeping, they keep a nocturnal bird in the courtyard for your enjoyment. If you are thinking of blocking out all this noise with a pillow over your head you would be wrong! You only get one pillow room. Maybe a nice breakfast will make up for your lost sleep... Think again.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank LozOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio C, Direttore at Hotel Genova, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2015

we are sorry you had all these problems in our hotel, you did not say a word about as you were here, it is impossible to imagine First of all the hotel has a garage and 3 private places on the street, wifi is available in rooms and lobby by a private single code per person and about hot water,maybe there was a problem for a moment, because no one had the same you said . Regarding the church, ok-the bell could be a bit bad, but all rooms have double glasses windows and the bells stop at night. We are sorry for your breakfast, we accept any suggestion to improve it - we had several groups all summer and they were happy to eat and drink cappuccino or others in the morning, without talking about "Fawlty Towers" with no reason to do that - there are people in hotel day and night who work to make you confortable and happy, you only have to express yourself and your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2015 via mobile

As a group of 27 dining area big enough to have breakfast together as well as a lovely courtyard outside food selection enjoyed by all. My single room small but comfortable shared rooms large 4 single beds + sofa bed comfortably sleep 6 large bathroom including a bath. Choice of lift or stairs. All given a separate password for wi fi close to shops,bars found all staff friendly but 1 also has a library

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews