We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a 3 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Genova
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“More than a 3 star hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights while visiting the Cinque Terre region and very glad we did. Hotel Genova is centrally located for shops, restaurants and the train station. It was the low season and not very busy, perhaps that's why we were given a triple room which meant more space. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room and public areas spotlessly clean and breakfast, while simple, was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    58
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
53
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was in a good location. Not far from the train station. We came back from Cinque Terre at night everyday and were not fearful walking through La Spezia at night. The pedestrian area is right next to the hotel with stores and restaurants. The thing I liked best was that they had a parking garage down the street that was closed and locked, only for Hotel Genova guests. It was 10 euro a night, but worth it for peace of mind. They gave you a garage key so you could come and go as you please. Keep in mind this hotel was no frills. Room was fine, nothing fancy. Bathroom was good, again, nothing fancy. Breakfast was nothing to write home about. The place was clean and staff friendly. For the price, a great stay. BTW, October is a great time to see Cinque Terre. Not hot and less people.

Room Tip: Reserve a parking spot before you come. They are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsJEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed one night. The service when we arrived - on spec - was excellent. The hotel is a short walk from the train station for the Cinque Terre. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. We had secure hotel parking a short walk away for both our cars. The rooms are modern, immaculate and quiet. Breakfast is served in very pleasant surroundings and was of a high standard. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have spent 4 nights in this hotel. It has a very good location (not far from train station) and La Spezia is a good base for visiting Southern Liguria. The room was spacious (there are also smaller rooms) and had air conditioning. Everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They have a nearby parking garage for which you pay 10€/night. The breakfast is served inside or on the terrace, but the choice is rather limited. The hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelheid448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent one night in the NH (previously Jolly Hotel) but found the Genova to be a better value (for a family of 4) and better located. A short walk from the station, and in la Spezia you are surrounded by real Italians, instead of the thousands of tourists in CT. They had free nearby parking garage for our car which was great too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heemskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Hotel Genova was a good place to stay while walking on the Cinque Terra. We could have spent a few more days exploring this area, and this would have been a good base for this. The rooms were reasonable (although we had no air conditioning at the time we were there) and we ended up with a room backing onto a square which was a little noisy at night. However the breakfast was lovely, and the staff were extremely helpful. The little eating area was gorgeous, and the staff were very good about letting us eat (and drink) during the evening in the outdoor area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agluyas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The hotel is in a very central location close to shops and restaurants and about a 10 minute walk from the train station. The room was quite small and furnishings a bit dated, it was located on the side of the building so it was quiet. The breakfast is served in a nice bright room with an adjoining courtyard - good coffee, fairly small food selection. There were no towels in our room when we arrived but this was promptly rectified when we informed reception. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the property open onto the street and are brighter but noisier - the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbournePoppy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.1 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 22 in La Spezia
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Nina
Villa Nina
#13 of 22 in La Spezia
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Property: Hotel Genova
Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 84, 19121, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genova 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the city center a 10-minute walk from the train station or from the embarcation boats to reach the fabulos 5 lands . Historical presence in the city of La Spezia , updated to the current needs ofboth the tourist and businessman, preserves the ancient pleasure of living in a structure that has always 24 hours 24 hours guest service staff ... Welcome to the Hotel Genova ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing