We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Central and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Genova
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Central and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed one night. The service when we arrived - on spec - was excellent. The hotel is a short walk from the train station for the Cinque Terre. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. We had secure hotel parking a short walk away for both our cars. The rooms are modern, immaculate and quiet. Breakfast is served in very pleasant surroundings and was of a high standard. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    34
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
52
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have spent 4 nights in this hotel. It has a very good location (not far from train station) and La Spezia is a good base for visiting Southern Liguria. The room was spacious (there are also smaller rooms) and had air conditioning. Everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They have a nearby parking garage for which you pay 10€/night. The breakfast is served inside or on the terrace, but the choice is rather limited. The hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelheid448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent one night in the NH (previously Jolly Hotel) but found the Genova to be a better value (for a family of 4) and better located. A short walk from the station, and in la Spezia you are surrounded by real Italians, instead of the thousands of tourists in CT. They had free nearby parking garage for our car which was great too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heemskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Hotel Genova was a good place to stay while walking on the Cinque Terra. We could have spent a few more days exploring this area, and this would have been a good base for this. The rooms were reasonable (although we had no air conditioning at the time we were there) and we ended up with a room backing onto a square which was a little noisy at night. However the breakfast was lovely, and the staff were extremely helpful. The little eating area was gorgeous, and the staff were very good about letting us eat (and drink) during the evening in the outdoor area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agluyas1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

The hotel is in a very central location close to shops and restaurants and about a 10 minute walk from the train station. The room was quite small and furnishings a bit dated, it was located on the side of the building so it was quiet. The breakfast is served in a nice bright room with an adjoining courtyard - good coffee, fairly small food selection. There were no towels in our room when we arrived but this was promptly rectified when we informed reception. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the property open onto the street and are brighter but noisier - the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbournePoppy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The breakfast is very bad, and almost an insult to any normal tourist. Sometimes there is no cheese at all. The first day they had English breakfast tea, but the second they they ran out of English breakfast tea. They only had "Orange & Cinnamon", "Camomile", "Green tea" and "Indian chai". You could see at the quantity left of these tea bags that no one likes these tastes. They just don't have normal flavour anymore like English breakfast tea of Earl grey. Sometimes they have fruit like peach or plums. But after two days only the bad rotten fruit stays and they don't buy new ones. Not even on the third day. The coffee tastes very bad. You get your own coffee from a small coffee and tea machine. They do have a professional coffee machine, but they don't use it. It stays turned off 24/7. They only have plain yoghurt. They only have white bread. It's whiter than white and tasteless.
The safety in the hotel is terrible. When the maid cleans the room, they open about 8 rooms at the same time and leave them open till they're ready. There was a guest which had a room above us. He thought he was at his floor and by accident opend our room with his key! The only positive thing about the hotel is the room (very nice and clean) and location. The location is quit, but very close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miespeltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

I selected this hotel because I couldn't get a room in Cinque Terre. But I am glad it turned out that way. I actually liked being in La Spezia since it was full of Italians and few other tourists, so it had a certain authenticity.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station, a 5 minute walk to a large supermarket and under 10 minute walk to a laundromat. It is also situated just off of the main traffic free walk zone/street.

They provided me with a room that did not face the street, and was non smoking, both as requested. I was able to use the internet for free (if under 15 minutes, which was fine). The breakfast was in a nice room and had breads, cold cuts, cheese, fruit, yogurt to choose from. There is also an outdoor patio to eat on if the weather permits. The washroom was a good size and functioned well. The bed was firm (as i like it).

The only issues were that the room is slightly outdated and could be better lit. Also the sound from other rooms travels, as there were a couple of younger individuals across the hall who were talking loudly and that I could hear, however, once I got to sleep I was fine. Although not an issue for me, some may find the elevator to be small (only room for 1 and tight squeeze with a suitcase)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europetrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Property: Hotel Genova
Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 84, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genova 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in the city center a 10-minute walk from the train station or from the embarcation boats to reach the fabulos 5 lands . Historical presence in the city of La Spezia , updated to the current needs ofboth the tourist and businessman, preserves the ancient pleasure of living in a structure that has always 24 hours 24 hours guest service staff ... Welcome to the Hotel Genova ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing