We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
179
73
7
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
73
7
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool narrow road pair of binoculars restaurant terrace follow the signs small hotel overlooking the harbour cinque terre tea and coffee facilities public areas magnificent view our honeymoon nice room valentina regis lille sommelier
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 265 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018

Le Ville Relais is still relaxing and wonderful to us. Chef Andrea excelled as always. The food was very tasty and varied, and all the better for being served by Valentino who is knowledgeable on wines also. Chiara was very helpful towards us personally. Our spacious room (Chiara) is always a breath of fresh air to walk into and experience the view. Breakfast is always wonderful to be greeted by happy and friendly staff each morning. Our room is always cleaned professionally. The staff at the infinity pool are always happy and accommodating.

Room Tip: Always stayed in same room "Chiara"
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marylane55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

We really love this small hotel and are returning next year for our fourth visit.We think it is the ideal place to spend a relaxing holiday enjoying the spectacular views of La Spezia Port, the mountains and the sea. The food at breakfast and in the restaurant is freshly prepared and delicious. The staff are lovely.. they are hard working and very friendly. Our only grumble is the poor WiFi connection, particularly during the world cup! Husband sad, wife quite glad!

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanetB564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

So this place did not disappoint in that the views were amazing and the accommodations were superb. We arrived in the late afternoon after driving some rather narrow winding roads to find this beautiful hotel. we were tired from driving all day from Venice and decided to eat here instead of going down into La Spezia. Not a great decision as we didn't really love our dinner. Overpriced for what we got for our meal. Small portions of bland ziti with a little bit of triggerfish and zucchini. I had some fried prawns and calamari which was ok but a small amount. The views at night were awesome sitting out on the outdoor terrace which made our experience better but the food just wasn't great.

Breakfast was fine and sitting out on the terrace was lovely. We also enjoyed their infinity pool which was really a nice spot to relax and meet new friends(Armin and Sabina from Germany), sharing a bottle of rose and smoking a nice cigar made for a wonderful time here. I'd recommend this hotel but can't recommend the dinner option.

We did enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regent7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

The small hotel had a great view of the porta and the city! The pool overlooks the entire bay of La Spezia. The rooms are small but comfortable as they don't come that cheap.

The service staff is excellent and the afternoon drinks there were really really good.

We had read a lot about the restaurant but the food was underwhelming at best. Not much taste and it was a bit overpriced

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveljunkie1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

We booked the Suite as it was our honeymoon (before our wedding!) but at E210 it came in very pricey! Especially as we didn’t have any WiFi in our room for our whole stay despite reporting it. We needed this to make arrangements for the rest of our group to join us later for our wedding - so ended up using our data. WiFi good around pool.

Other negative - for us - was lack of menu choice... Very dry Pork spare ribs the first night and cold Tagliata the second. No breakfast menu so we’re unaware you could have eggs & fresh orange juice. Public areas - nothing inside, but sofas outside.

Pretty isolated - E20 one way in a cab to get down to the Railway Station Centrale for trains to Cinque Terre. Best way to ‘do’ Cinque Terre by train - no need to stay there.

Positives
Nice sized room. Decorated tastefully. Water replenished daily. Liked having tea and coffee facilities although had to get English Tea from breakfast room.

Great view from balcony; indeed one of the best balconies we’ve ever had. All the rooms facing the harbour seem to have great balconies. Loads to watch as busy harbour. Bring binoculars! Good furniture and lighting on balcony - hurrah.

Great fridge that actually kept things cold!! Light, airy bathroom as we had giant velux.

Infinity pool area attractive with enough sunbeds, tables and sunshades.

Overall a pretty good stay ...

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank TravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesanaA, Proprietario at Le Ville Relais, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Dear TravellerOxford,
thank you for your positive feedback.
We are sorry your overall experience was not as expected.
We would like to answer to a couple of your comments, as we think there might have been some kind of miscommunication.
- Wi-Fi was checked immediately after you let us know there was an issue (the morning before your last night with us). We restarted the system and checked by your room, and everything was working. There should have been some other kind of issue, later, if you couldn't connect once again, but as you did not report anything else, we thought the problem was solved.
We are in a very tricky situation with our connections, being out of town, in a rural area, with no ground line reaching us, and with very thick ancient stone walls in our buildings, so we happen quite often to face issues with internet connection, so we normally take special care in solving them when reported.
- Breakfast menu is available on our buffet, most of our guests notice it quite easily, but we will make sure to move it to a more evident area of the buffet
- We have an inside lounge in our bar and restaurant area, open for our guests to use 7.30-14.00 16.00-24.00. The outside lounge(s) are available 24/7. The suite you booked, features a lounge area with a sofa as well.
- Regarding your dining experience, I don't want to be rude, but our waiting staff was a bit concerned because for both of your dinners with us, you showed up "tipsy" upon your arrival, and they had some issues in understanding your needs, as in example, when you were asked how cooked your steak should have been, you answer was "hot", and that was a bit puzzling for someone that, like us, is not a native speaker. We did anyway make a second tagliata after the first you ate (less than a half of it came back to the kitchen) was reported as too cold, and served it to you thoroughly cooked and hotter, with no extra charge.

We hope we get the occasion to have you as our guests again in the future.
Our best wishes for your wedding

Kind Regards
Andrea M Besana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews