We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but lacking in some”
Review of Le Ville Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Ville Relais
Ranked #4 of 151 La Spezia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Remotely located on the slopes of La Spezia, Le Ville Relais offers spacious rooms, all with spectacular views on the bay. The rooms come with all comfort but looked a bit dated in our case. Staff is very helpfull. Especially Andreas from reception spares no effort. Wifi coverage is good and fast. The swimming pool is great (even for swimming some tracks) with enough lounge space.
Make sure you have a rental car available. Le Ville Relais practically lies in no man's land. We tried to get there by bus once from La Spezia and the final climb up the hill after the bus drops you off is a tough one. Not something you'd want to do every day. It is a good starting point for (long) walks into Cinque Terre though. Note that a single cab drive to La Spezia amounts to 20 EUR.
Le Ville Relais features a restaurant which we never tried. We lost our hearts in Portovenere and went there every night for dinner. Breakfast was sober though. We don't have high standards but we personally found this one lacking. There was absolutely no variation and the provided options didn't apply to our taste.
Overall Le Ville Relais provides a lot of good but from my experience there's options with higher value in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xof_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
and559, Proprietario at Le Ville Relais, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear xof_be,
We warmly thank you for your good feedback to our hotel.

As we are always wanting to improve our service level we bother you to ask some more details about what you found lacking in our breakfast buffet. Our standards are the highest available in the area, as for a relais of 12 rooms, we offer a wide continental breakfast, with freshly baked bread and jam selections, cold cuts, several choices of cheeses, pastry baked every morning, a homemade cake, yoghurt with cereals and topping selection, coffee, 12 kinds of teas, all available at the buffet, espresso, cappuccino and all cafeteria drinks on request as for several hot breakfast courses (eggs & co.) cooked at the moment, all with no extra charge.

As you had experienced during your stay with us, our relais is a family run business, and our effort is always spent to improve and give the best service possible, so if you would have said something about breakfast while you were here, I ensure you that we would have found a solution fitting your tastes.

Hoping for meeting you again here with us
Best Regards
Andrea + Le Ville Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 220 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Getting to Le Ville Relais is a little tricky at the best of time, but when driving in heavy rain with low cloud through roadworks, the task was even more of a challenge. There is sufficient parking available however the roads are narrow and a small vehicle would be recommended for the drive. It is well signposted and easy enough to find. On arrival the effort was made very worthwhile. The views over the township of La Spezia are magnificent day or night. The suite we stayed in was large and well appointed with luxury furnishings and bathroom in a split level design. However, the standard rooms are a little on the small side. The restaurant was exceptional, with a good selection of high quality Italian specialities. Due to poor weather on two nights there were few in attendance and the resultant personalised service we received was a great delight. If you have a car this is a perfect place to base your visits to the Cinque Terre area. We found it best to take the train from La Spezia as parking in the 5 towns was very limited. The swimming pool is very well positioned and the panoramic views are available from it as well as the rooms and the restaurant. Overall Le Ville Relais met all our high expectations and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for one of the three suites if you value plenty of room to move
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a very nice hotel located in a beautiful place! Not only all the rooms have an incredible view of the Ligurian sea, but the rooms are also very spacious, comfortable and very well maintained. The staff is extremely friendly and the restaurant has amazing food. Stay here if you are visiting the Cinque Terre. But you do need to have a car since the hotel is located up the hill...

Room Tip: Any room will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCCamargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We only stayed here one night because we were travelling from Rome to Nice.But wished we could have stayed longer.the hotel has a very nice panoramic view.The rooms are very big and very comfartable.You feel like you are at home!The staff is very friendly and willing to help you.The breakfast and the dinner was also very good.They have a free parking space but we had a late check in at night and the roads are very dark and narrow to drive.so try to check in daylight :)Hope to come back again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Dilek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Le Ville Relais when visiting Cinque Terre. With a GPS it was no problem to find. It was a twisty, turny uphill trek to get there but that was part of the adventure. The view from the hotel was spectacular and the room was very clean. I wish that we were there in the warmer months so that we could have actually enjoyed the pool which was beautiful. It was an easy trek to the train station to visit Cinque Terre. The morning breakfast was one of the best that we had in Italy. They had a nice selection and pretty much a bit of everything. The hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. It was a great place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovinmy30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Based on other reviews, we ended up taking a room at Le Ville Relais and were able to find it by following signs from the main road. It's a few minutes drive up the hill and therefore offers a great view of La Spezia. The entire staff was extremely friendly.
The room was clean and looked as advertised on the picture with a little terrace.
The breakfast and dinner area also overlook the city and very charming.
Recommended if you must go to La Spezia; the only downside was the the TV was not working but then again, why would you watch it?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancoisDepayras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Rooms were excellent with a wonderful view over the bay. Has the atmosphere of CinqueTerra without the fuss. Swimming Pool very much fitting in with a real luxury location.

Restaurant looked to be great but we seem to have been there when they were overwhelmed with too many guests. Would have liked to have tried again, but had to move on. A long way out of town so the Restaurant is important.

Owners and staff very welcoming and would be a great place to relax and do some walking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Spezia
1.8 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.7 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#6 of 21 in La Spezia
575 reviews
1.6 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 21 in La Spezia
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Ville Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ville Relais

Address: Salita Al Piano 19, 19131, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in La Spezia
Price Range: $108 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Ville Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Le Ville Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ville Relais Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing