We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Locanda Dal Moccia
Nearby Hotels
$253
$236
Firenze e Continen
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NH La Spezia(La Spezia)
$253
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Ghironi(La Spezia)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Genova(La Spezia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Locanda Tramonti(La Spezia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Villa Nina(La Spezia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Albergo Venezia(La Spezia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
43
56
19
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
56
19
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin walkvisit cinque terretrain stationone nightfabioeuroportwifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 127 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Just loved the Italian feel about this place.Hidden in the town up the hill, we found our Hotel.Large wooden gates opened to a private taste of Italy.....Was like a gorgeous bed and breakfast.The Hosts are great especially "Tony" they run and own it.The bedrooms were spacious, spotless and nice views...We felt like we were staying in the house "Under the Tuscan Sun" The Rustic courtyard with Vines was perfect with a wine which was available to buy there.Breakfast was beautiful with the usual meats and cheeses, bread etc.Hot Chocolate !!!! The meal there at night was gorgeous too. No need to travel to town if they have it that night available.Nice walk to town to Lunch , then Taxi it home as steep. Loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Just what I was looking for in Italy.Just catch the ferry in Town to Cinque Terre.(Great Base to stay)

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Jillgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel is great. Very friendly owners who speak very good English, and have a wealth of knowledge about the Cinque Terre, railway timetables etc. The real bonus is the restaurant. This is where a lot of locals flock to, and you can see why. Lovely Italian classics, something for everyone, and reasonably priced. The hotel is a 15-20 min walk from the railway, or a short bus ride.
The rooms are spacious, have A/C and the bathrooms are modern. It was clean and quiet. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckWarwick_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We booked a place at Dal Moccia because everything in Cinque Terre and the rest of La Spezia was full. In the end, though, I was very happy with the choice!

As the other reviews mention, it is a good 15 minute walk from the train station. The walk is very straightforward though, and it's all flat. We walked to/from the train station every day and it was never an inconvenience. In fact, it was nice to be a few minutes out of the center.

The location is gorgeous, with a little garden area that you pass through to enter the hotel. The place was packed with Italians (and only Italians, other than us, I think), every staff member was kind and helpful, and the room was big, comfortable, and clean. I also noticed that on Saturday night the restaurant was full of locals eating good food. We only paid 85 euro a night for a triple (that's only 28 each!), which is comparable to a hostel but was much, much nicer. It was an incredible value and a great experience.

We used La Spezia as a jumping off point for the Cinque Terre and Porto Venere. Every town was reachable in minutes, and the whole trip was hassle-free. We loved staying at Locanda dal Moccia and would recommend it to anyone that doesn't mine a short walk or a cheap cab ride!! Really, this place is a steal!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValeriaVegana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

Absolutely Fanstastic Hotel!!!
I (in my 20's) travelled to La Spezia with my parents (50's)to go hiking in Cinque terre. If you are looking to get out and about all day, and only really plan on being in the hotel to eat/sleep, this is fantastic. The room was huge, and spotless clean, the bathroom was the same. Cheap rates too. It is about 15-20 mins walk to the La Spezia main train terminal (cost 8 Euro for a taxi) although its a nice enough walk and not that long.
It is a little on the outskirts of town, although in easy walking distance, and there are still several restaurants on it's doorstep.

Cheap, clean, roomy and everything we needed. 11 out of 10 i'd say.!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Locanda dal Moccia is NOT your typical tourist stop. It is located in the working class town of La Spezia in a residential neighborhood. It takes some effort to find, but the authentic Italian experience makes it worthwhile. The 400 year old building is charming and clean and the accommodations comfortable. There is a beautiful outside patio covered with grapevines where you eat breakfast and dinner (if desired). Food excellent. Staff speaks little English but makes every effort to accommodate. Charming and very authentic. Free parking and easy gateway to Cinque Terre. Enjoyed it so much we extended our stay 1 extra day. Definitely recommend this place but have a good map of La Spezia handy.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpfordds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews