We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in a so, so kind of town”
Review of Locanda Dal Moccia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda Dal Moccia
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in a so, so kind of town”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The hotel is great. Very friendly owners who speak very good English, and have a wealth of knowledge about the Cinque Terre, railway timetables etc. The real bonus is the restaurant. This is where a lot of locals flock to, and you can see why. Lovely Italian classics, something for everyone, and reasonably priced. The hotel is a 15-20 min walk from the railway, or a short bus ride.
The rooms are spacious, have A/C and the bathrooms are modern. It was clean and quiet. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckWarwick_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We booked a place at Dal Moccia because everything in Cinque Terre and the rest of La Spezia was full. In the end, though, I was very happy with the choice!

As the other reviews mention, it is a good 15 minute walk from the train station. The walk is very straightforward though, and it's all flat. We walked to/from the train station every day and it was never an inconvenience. In fact, it was nice to be a few minutes out of the center.

The location is gorgeous, with a little garden area that you pass through to enter the hotel. The place was packed with Italians (and only Italians, other than us, I think), every staff member was kind and helpful, and the room was big, comfortable, and clean. I also noticed that on Saturday night the restaurant was full of locals eating good food. We only paid 85 euro a night for a triple (that's only 28 each!), which is comparable to a hostel but was much, much nicer. It was an incredible value and a great experience.

We used La Spezia as a jumping off point for the Cinque Terre and Porto Venere. Every town was reachable in minutes, and the whole trip was hassle-free. We loved staying at Locanda dal Moccia and would recommend it to anyone that doesn't mine a short walk or a cheap cab ride!! Really, this place is a steal!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValeriaVegana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

Absolutely Fanstastic Hotel!!!
I (in my 20's) travelled to La Spezia with my parents (50's)to go hiking in Cinque terre. If you are looking to get out and about all day, and only really plan on being in the hotel to eat/sleep, this is fantastic. The room was huge, and spotless clean, the bathroom was the same. Cheap rates too. It is about 15-20 mins walk to the La Spezia main train terminal (cost 8 Euro for a taxi) although its a nice enough walk and not that long.
It is a little on the outskirts of town, although in easy walking distance, and there are still several restaurants on it's doorstep.

Cheap, clean, roomy and everything we needed. 11 out of 10 i'd say.!!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Locanda dal Moccia is NOT your typical tourist stop. It is located in the working class town of La Spezia in a residential neighborhood. It takes some effort to find, but the authentic Italian experience makes it worthwhile. The 400 year old building is charming and clean and the accommodations comfortable. There is a beautiful outside patio covered with grapevines where you eat breakfast and dinner (if desired). Food excellent. Staff speaks little English but makes every effort to accommodate. Charming and very authentic. Free parking and easy gateway to Cinque Terre. Enjoyed it so much we extended our stay 1 extra day. Definitely recommend this place but have a good map of La Spezia handy.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpfordds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.8 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Nina
Villa Nina
#13 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Dal Moccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Dal Moccia

Property: Locanda Dal Moccia
Address: Via Damiano Chiesa 30 | Loc. Pegazzano, 19123, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Dal Moccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing