We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of CDH Hotel La Spezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CDH Hotel La Spezia
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Berlin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I booked this on the strength of the good reviews here - but can only think that I slipped through into a parallel universe on arrival, as my experience was anything but good. OK, you can overlook the design - somewhere between a prison and a hospital - and the welcoming committee (drills and builders on one side of the hotel) - but everything about the place screams cheap and shoddy! The walls seem to have been constructed from reinforced cadboard. We were slightly prejudiced as for the two days (of three booked) we were there the air conditioning wasn't working - even though we were told regularly that the technician was working on it! (He must have been very frustrated - all those hours' work and no result). But then the little things started piling up - such as the toilet seat not being fixed properly, no plug in the sink of my friend's room ( he nearly lost a ring down the hole) - bathroom fittings that - well, didn't quite fit and had clearly been installed by an amateur, poor Wifi, mobile phone and TV reception, a mysterious dirty and sticky patch on my toilet seat, a dirty shower head and shower doors that didn't quite fit and pinched your fingers as you tried to get them into place and, and, and... We weren't booked for breakfast so I can't comment on that. On the very small plus side - the hotel was reasonably quiet and well located and the staff were mostly polite. What was annoying about the whole thing is that it wasn't that cheap - and we didn't get what we had paid for!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GermanicusBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    278
    150
    50
    27
See reviews for
110
294
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at the My One Hotel in La Spezia during our European holiday. Great location not far from the main railway station which was an excellent base for our daily trips to the Cinque Terre walking trails. The room was clean, spacious and comforatable with a balcony. Staff were friendly and readily available to assist with any request. Would definately return to the hotel when in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baldijd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Okay if you are just staying at the hotel to sleep, nothing there to see or do.
Best part was it was only a 10 minute walk to and from the Train Station to see the Cinque Terre.
HORRIBLE directions, it took us forever to find.
Very contemporary feel, so if you want your hotel to feel like an Italian hotel, do not stay here.
But it was clean and the WiFi worked, so that's a plus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Like everyone says, the location is great: walking distance to train and harbor for Cinque Terre visits, and right smack in the middle of the old city. There's free wifi and free breakfast as well. I didn't have a car, but I understand there's parking too. I got a great deal through Hotels.com ($853 for 5 nights, incl. all taxes and fees) -- which for Italy in July is a great deal!
The room was a bit small, and the shower was REALLY small, but nobody is saying this is a luxury hotel. My one suggestion to the hotel is to put a lamp on the desk.
I also personally appreciated that this is a modern hotel, with modern amenities. My room did not have the problem of a light going on with the air conditioning, as one reviewer mentioned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

we were looking for a hotel in the cinque terra area. my one seemed ok, i did not like the looks of it online. but you cannot go wrong by staying here. the reception was excellent, parking was available in front of the hotel. the room was of good size and very clean. it was modern and bright. drawbacks were twofold, the water heater sits right above the sink, and anyone over 5-5 will hit their head. secondly, the air conditioning has a light that illuminates the room was it goes on, so if you need it dark to sleep, that would be an inconvenience. the location is great as you are 10 minutes away from the train station which takes you directly to cinque terra. this is a must see place. enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justustravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We booked this hotel through Hotelclick.com, and although it cost a little more than we originally planned to spend, it was well worth it.
My One is a new hotel and is just minutes walk from the port and has a lift that takes you right down to the shopping area.
The staff were really helpful and pleasant.
Staying here made our 2 night visit to La Spezia really comfortable and pleasant. We would recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank turkeyjim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
134 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights - easy access to the railway station and so to the towns of the Cinque Terre. Our room was spacious with the only negative being a very small shower. The staff were friendly and we found the breakfast excellent. La Spezia has many interesting restaurants and plenty of shopping options. However, there didn't seem to be a lot of late evening nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.3 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ghironi
Hotel Ghironi
#10 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#9 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CDH Hotel La Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CDH Hotel La Spezia

Property: CDH Hotel La Spezia
Address: Via Venti Settembre 81, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CDH Hotel La Spezia 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CDH Hotel La Spezia is located 3 km from the highway exit "La Spezia", 2,5 km from the La Spezia Port and from 80 km from the G. Galilei International Airport of Pisa. Hotel has a free outdoor parking for a quick stop for luggages and a covered garage, reserved for hotel Guests. The railway station is just 3 minutes walk, to visit Cinque Terre. CDH Hotel La Spezia, located on one of the most beautiful cost of Italy, in the city center of La Spezia and Guests can visit the city, can go shopping walking. Free wi-fi internet connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your CDH Hotel La Spezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My 1 Hotel La Spezia
My One La Spezia
La Spezia My One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing