We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Locanda del Papa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We so enjoyed our two night stay at this rustic B&B which is set in such a peaceful location with fantastic views from the terrace. David's breakfasts were the best we had in the whole of our 10 day visit to Italy and his home-made strawberry jam was to die for!!! David helped us plan our trips and was a wonderful host!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had planned to use this as an overnight between the Alps and Florence and ended up staying 2 nights on the way to Florence and 2 nights on the way back.The breakfast at the Inn was amazing and there were fun restaurants within walking distance for lunch and dinner. It was so easy to get to the Cinque Terra from here also. The best part is the amazing care, pride, and hospitality provided by the hosts, David and Roberta.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A highlight of our 5-week trip throughout Italy. Located on the outskirts of La Spezia, this B&B is easy to get to and well worth the curvy road and narrow dirt lane leading up to it. The views are fantastic, the rooms are very clean, the breakfast is second to none, and our favorite restaurant in Italy is a 5 minute walk away. Trails to Cinque Terre are nearby, and if you get tired of driving bus access is a short walk away. But all that pales next to the friendliness, helpfulness, and kindness of hosts David and Roberta who not only helped us plan our days, but even arranged for a doctor's appointment with their family physician. Truly a one-of-a-kind experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bentman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were tired of the museum and church tour and we were looking for a few days to escape. David and Roberta provided that for us in spades. It was a wonderful three day, two night stay. The room was rustic, clean and very comfortable. Being quite a way off the main road in the mountains made it very quiet and secluded. David provided us with information, maps and suggestions, many off the "tourist" trail, that were just terrific. He also advised me to try stuffed mussels while touring about and we tried them in Manarola. it was the one of the best meals I have had here in Italy,
David's breakfast of home made breads, jams, eggs, coffee, juice made me fat and happy for the day.
Great job guys, keep it up. We had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0bK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed 4+2 nights at this lovely place and explore the Chinque Terre. Our apartman was a bit separated from the other rooms and was confortable place to relax. The morning view of the forest around, the fine and rich breakfasts at spaceful teracce were just an additional experience to the warm welcome, the plenty local infromation and tips, and the nice chat with the real italian hosts of the house. David and Roberta fill this place with small kindness and friendly attitude. Even we have met Papa and taste his fabulous zuccini with olives and chilli. Good location to wondering in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsolt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed with Roberta and Davide for 5 days in mid-June. Definetely the highlight of our month-long journey. Beautiful property, including live chickens who provided us with fresh eggs every morning. Our room was just what I expected, rustic country charm and very confortable and clean. It is very obvious that Davide and Roberto are very proud of their place and do go out of their way to make your stay all you want it to be. Grazie Roberta and Davide for sharing your little piece of heaven on hearth with us. We will definetly be back...soon I hope.

Room Tip: I f you want the room with the kitchen, make sure to talk to Davide or Roberta before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roccablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 wonderful days and were very pleased, that we've chosen this place. Locanda is situated right in the countryside and is 10-15 min drive to La Spezia, from which you can take a train to explore Magnificent Cinque Terre! Special thanks to David and his wife, who are more than welcoming, they have all the maps, including personal recommendations with hand-written maps, many-many advises to dine, swim, get sun tant, explore historical small cities, etc. Breakfast takes place on a charming terrace, from which you can enjoy green hills, small houses and listen to the birds. Do ask for scrambled or boiled eggs, which David can prepare to you as an addition to home-made foccacia, pizza, croissants, plum&apple jams. Don't forget to try beer, which David made himself! My husband was impressed. We liked our room, which was very-very clean, had everything we need (except hair-drier ;( ). Wi-fi is free and is very fast, which allowed us being connected to our social life, while we had vocations! :) Special thanks to David for our favorite Portovenere, Lerici small towns, for hidden beaches at Tellaro and Fiascherino and for the most beautiful beach at Bonassola. We wish Locanda all the best and many-many good clients. Chiao and would like to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Spezia
2.1 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
323 reviews
2 mi away
Gli Ulivi di Montalbano - Agriturismo
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Cerrolungo
Agriturismo Cerrolungo
#5 of 76 in La Spezia
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Affittacamere Casa Dane
Affittacamere Casa Dane
#2 of 152 in La Spezia
662 reviews
13.9 mi away
Agriturismo Il Filo Di Paglia
10.8 mi away
Ca du Ferra Farm & Relax
Ca du Ferra Farm & Relax
#1 of 5 in Bonassola
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Locanda del Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Locanda del Papa

Address: Via Carpena di Marinasco 1, 19134, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Spezia
Price Range: $81 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm inn Locanda del Papa is located in the ancient Commune of Carpena, on the hills that overlook La Spezia, near Cinque Terre, a few feet from the Foce Pass, from where the view extends to La Spezia and the area contained between Portovenere and Lerici called the Gulf of Poets.There are available six rooms with queen-sized beds. In the three largest rooms extra beds may be added. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Agriturismo Locanda del Papa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing