We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hearths and hospitality in a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Locanda del Papa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have stayed 4+2 nights at this lovely place and explore the Chinque Terre. Our apartman was a bit separated from the other rooms and was confortable place to relax. The morning view of the forest around, the fine and rich breakfasts at spaceful teracce were just an additional experience to the warm welcome, the plenty local infromation and tips, and the nice chat with the real italian hosts of the house. David and Roberta fill this place with small kindness and friendly attitude. Even we have met Papa and taste his fabulous zuccini with olives and chilli. Good location to wondering in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsolt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 165 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed with Roberta and Davide for 5 days in mid-June. Definetely the highlight of our month-long journey. Beautiful property, including live chickens who provided us with fresh eggs every morning. Our room was just what I expected, rustic country charm and very confortable and clean. It is very obvious that Davide and Roberto are very proud of their place and do go out of their way to make your stay all you want it to be. Grazie Roberta and Davide for sharing your little piece of heaven on hearth with us. We will definetly be back...soon I hope.

Room Tip: I f you want the room with the kitchen, make sure to talk to Davide or Roberta before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roccablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 wonderful days and were very pleased, that we've chosen this place. Locanda is situated right in the countryside and is 10-15 min drive to La Spezia, from which you can take a train to explore Magnificent Cinque Terre! Special thanks to David and his wife, who are more than welcoming, they have all the maps, including personal recommendations with hand-written maps, many-many advises to dine, swim, get sun tant, explore historical small cities, etc. Breakfast takes place on a charming terrace, from which you can enjoy green hills, small houses and listen to the birds. Do ask for scrambled or boiled eggs, which David can prepare to you as an addition to home-made foccacia, pizza, croissants, plum&apple jams. Don't forget to try beer, which David made himself! My husband was impressed. We liked our room, which was very-very clean, had everything we need (except hair-drier ;( ). Wi-fi is free and is very fast, which allowed us being connected to our social life, while we had vocations! :) Special thanks to David for our favorite Portovenere, Lerici small towns, for hidden beaches at Tellaro and Fiascherino and for the most beautiful beach at Bonassola. We wish Locanda all the best and many-many good clients. Chiao and would like to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nastish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My fiance and I travelled in Europe for 6 weeks and the highlight of our trip were the three nights we stayed at Locanda del Papa. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were a part of the family. David and Roberta made every part of our stay enjoyable and easy by giving us great advice on where to go and what to do. Our room was spacious and clean with the most amazing view from the patio! Looking out over the hills and the nearby villages made us feel like we were in a fairy tale.
Breakfast was delicious. We especially liked the jams made by David and his father. The kiwi & strawberry jam was the best!
Thankyou David and Roberta. You made our holiday so memorable. Locanda del Papa is a gem!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was very big as it included a kitchen and a dinning table. We loved the oven which was very useful as temperatures were low outside and it provided a very cosy atmosphere. Davide, the owner is a very nice person who really cares for the well being of his guests. We had dinner one night together with all the other guests of Agriturismo Locanda del Papa and it was a very nice experience. Food was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fluo2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Reaching La Spezia with a 98 minute delayed Intercity train journey on a sunny autumn day, Davide was waiting for us outside the station with his city car, as previously arranged. Not being in a hurry, he drove via the panoramic road instead of the quicker newly opened tunnel on the Aurelia. La Foce locality is less than 5 kms from the station, the view from there overlooks the town with its gulf, and the Locanda is tucked away amongst trees via a narrow lane. Davide's father (the "papa") less than 10 years ago was a busy highly paid executive until one day he couldn't stand his mobile phone ringing so he threw it away, quit his job and decided to follow his heart as he always wanted to run a farm stay, in this case producing EVOO and wine.
On arrival Davide showed us two bedrooms, one larger with a patio on the ground floor and the second one called Dreams on the first floor. We opted for the lovely Dreams which has wooden beams, small wood burning heater, antique furniture, walk in robe and a compact bathroom (the shower was wide enough though for medium sized bodies). Davide helped us with our luggage up the stairs and when we came back downstairs to the reception/breakfast room he kindly took the time to show us various points of interest on his maps spread out over the table. Breakfast is continental including fresh fruit and yoghurt, however, the second and third morning Davide offered to cook eggs from his chickens. The following day he gave us a lift to the Europcar office in Via San Bartolomeo, and the next day he showed us the way again with us following in the hire car. By the way, we don't recommend Europcar in La Spezia as the lady there will lighten your wallet and upset your holiday.
Davide is an excellent host and we are happy to confirm all the previous comments about his commitment to making guests feel at home and helping with anything that is worrying you. He kept topping up the wood basket in our room and arriving back after dinner to that warm cosy room was fantastic. Grazie Davide! We loved Penelope the cat too.

Room Tip: We loved the Dreams room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My family and I (2 adults and three children: 6,4,4) visited the Cinque Terre arriving late in the evening and were welcomed by Davide on the terrace enjoying some wine with another happy couple staying at this Agriturismo. Within the time it took to shake his hand we felt like part of the family. I asked him many questions and the advice he gave turned out to be valuable and absolutely accurate - he told us of all of the great places to visit, where to park and informed us about the best local food. Our ground floor room was large, comfortable and opened onto an open terrace perfect for eating dinner and playing with kids. The breakfast was exceptional and he even made hot chocolate for our little girls while he found them toys to play with, a cat to pat and chickens to feed. We could not wish for anything else. We even caught a glimpse of the Pope while we were here. I can give no greater recommendation than saying we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simon_conn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
2.1 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#2 of 21 in La Spezia
323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
755 reviews
2 mi away
Gli Ulivi di Montalbano - Agriturismo
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Cerrolungo
Agriturismo Cerrolungo
#5 of 76 in La Spezia
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Locanda del Papa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Locanda del Papa

Address: Via Carpena di Marinasco 1, 19134, La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Spezia
Price Range: $83 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm inn Locanda del Papa is located in the ancient Commune of Carpena, on the hills that overlook La Spezia, near Cinque Terre, a few feet from the Foce Pass, from where the view extends to La Spezia and the area contained between Portovenere and Lerici called the Gulf of Poets.There are available six rooms with queen-sized beds. In the three largest rooms extra beds may be added. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Agriturismo Locanda del Papa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing