We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm... a little nasty”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The external and lobby of the hotel seem okay, bright, airy and had a jovial atmosphere about it. The front desk ladies were very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel serves as an excellent base to explore Cinque Terre. Wait till you squeeze yourself into the four-person lift and squeak and rattle your way to the second floor, the stale air, the worn carpet, the wobbly doors, the rusted shower doors and vinegar-y smell towels had all the hallmarks of year 1952 but none the charm. Paid 80 euros a night here and one night was enough.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navitimer1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

If you're looking to walk the Cinque Terre we'd happily recommend that you stay in La Spezia at the Hotel Astoria. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable- which is just as well if you intend on nailing all 5 villages in one go. The hotel is only an 8 min walk from the train station, which can take you out of town or to the start of the Cinque Terre. Better still the hotel is about 2 mins walk from a variety of Piazza's where good food and wine can be found. Throw in the fact that the breakfasts are great and i can't speak highly enough of this place given its value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Positive:

-location (near center and central rail station)
-very clean and quite rooms
-good breakfast (good coffee)

Negotive:

-no WiFi connection at all

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaBenuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

I was unexpectedly in La Spezia and needed a hotel for the night. Found this in my Rick Steves guidebook and it was reasonable priced and about 2 blocks from the train station.
We checked in after midnight and the staff was still very friendly. Got a room for two people with a private bathroom. Room had cool tile floors and a balcony with a great view. Although the room was rather plain it was clean with comfy beds. Breakfast was included but we slept though it and they even let us have a late check out.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

My girlfriends and I found this hotel off a website we had been using on our Europe Holiday. From the pictures on this website is looked fantastic - white, clean and beautfully presented. Unfortunately the room we got was a tad old and needed a refurbishment. It was clean and the beds were rather comfortable but the bathroom is definitely in a need of fixing. Water pressure was just a dribble and the toilet made a very strange and loud sound when you flushed it. BUT would have to say that the breakfast was impressive - loads of choice and freshly made coffee. Staff seemed friendly at first but got the 'cold-shoulder' not long after. This hotel was definitely an experience and we can have a laugh about it now!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

The rooms have not been decorated since the 1950s, or so it appears, they are in a very poor state and I assume that a few of the rooms have already been refurbished and hence the difference between the photos and reality! The rooms are large and cool, but the bathrooms are tiny and although clean, the water pressure for the shower is non-existent.
However, what the hotel lacked in decor the staff more than made up for. Recommending restaurants, booking restaurants, providing information, they could not have been more helpful or friendly and willing.
Once the rest of the rooms are renovated we would go again as the location could not have been better!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsbfjW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank LN3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.7 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#10 of 21 in La Spezia
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 21 in La Spezia
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 21 in La Spezia
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Via Roma 139, 19122, La Spezia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in La Spezia
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing