We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“if you really have to stay in la spezia...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Budapest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“if you really have to stay in la spezia...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

First of all, if I was to go to the region again, I would definitely skip La Spezia. If not driving, I would recommend staying in one of the Chinque Terre villages (my pick would be Manarola). Or perhaps even better - and approachable by car - is Portovenere.
We recently stayed two nights in a 4-bed room in Hotel Astoria for a very cheap price (approx. 29 EUR/nigh/person). The mattresses were uncomfortable, and the bathroom was very old, but since we only spent the nights there, we did not mind. Breakfast was very plain, coffee was horrible, and one of the receptionists was amazingly rude. So if you definitely need to stop in La Spezia, traveling on a budget, and do not have high expectations regarding accommodation, I can recommend it. Otherwise, look for different place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dodibau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    40
    25
    24
See reviews for
17
52
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Within a ten minute walk of La Spezia train station, I used this hotel for the night as I was too late to travel onto Monterosso. It was clean, the room was airy and comfortable.

My room was on the new floor with no lift, I was offered no help with my suitcase. Breakfast is rather paltry (as can be the case in Italian hotels).

While I wouldn't necessarily want to stay longer, it was fine for the night before moving on.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ph1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our family of four stayed in this hotel as we could not find affordable options in the Cinque Terre communities. Our room was small (for 4 of us), really bland but clean. They did not have WiFi in rooms but in lobby. The breakfast was certainly an improvement on the rest of the accommodation as was the secure and close car park. The staff was not friendly at all.
I am not sure if the rating of the hotel relates to the town or the accommodation. Although the town was true to the guidebooks it as a bit bleak, next time I would pay more and stay in the smaller towns closer to Cinque Terre. The hotel's location in relation to the train station was excellent, but don't rely too much on the Cinque Terre park office for information, we continuously got conflicting information, and one was really unpleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJHL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel was situated close to the train station and the main square. The room is basic and is perfect if you are looking for a place to stay for a night or two. They have wifi available in the room for a small charge of 1 euro a day. The only small issue was that our shower door was broken and wouldn't close properly but aside from that it was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

As a family of four, we had two rooms, and used the hotel as a base for excursions to the Cinque Terre. It is in an excellent location: five minutes from the train station, ten from the ferry boat. Several museums also within walking distance, and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

The service was very good, and the lobby and dining room look fresh (although it was a little disconcerting upon arrival to find three recent immigrants sprawled asleep on the sofas and chairs in the lobby). Also unnerving was the obvious scars of some previous attempted forced-entry in our bedroom door -- which otherwise seemed solid enough. And while our rooms were perfectly functional and in reasonable shape, the furniture was tired and dated. Both rooms also were afflicted with a distinct odour of sewer at various times during our stay: since the rooms were on separate wings, the problem must presumably be building-wide. The cleaning staff seemed to be aware of it, as they left windows open after their visits.

Electric fans in the rooms made up for lack of AC, and were a godsend in the July heat. One of the small fridges didn't seem to actually do any cooling, though.

Breakfast choices were pretty good (more than just pastries), but the strange choice of metallic chairs made for a rather noisy atmosphere.

There is no wifi, which was a surprise.

At a pinch, I might stay there again due to the great location, but only if they fix their drains!

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't have a smell of drains, that does have a fan, and where the fridge work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laflechere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

service good, located in the center and close to the station (for trips to cinqueterre), provides parking. however rather expensive (83€) for a not comfortable room without a/c.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dom8tom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Spezia hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We used Astoria as a base to hike Cinque Terre - and that's pretty much all it should be used for. The rooms are dated, bathroom tiny and not the cleanest, and the breakfast a showcase of packaged food. No internet too which is really disappointing in this day and age - and I say this as I write this review from a small hotel in an even smaller town in central Vietnam!

Good location within walking distance of the train station is its main saving grace. Look elsewhere if you're looking to spend any amount of time in your room.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#3 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Nina
Villa Nina
#13 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Via Roma 139, 19122 La Spezia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in La Spezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel La Spezia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing